We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with really helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand King Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand King Hotel
Ranked #208 of 452 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with really helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My son and I stayed here for a couple of days en route to Cordoba. The room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfast fine and the wifi free. I received a swift response to my advance email request for an early check-in after our overnight flight and the receptionist was very welcoming on our arrival, being especially patient with my rusty Spanish. Another member of staff helped us book tango lessons and when we arrived the arrangements made were spot-on. The following day the staff were keen to see what we'd learnt. Finally, when it was time to leave, and we were struggling to get a cab that would take our suitcases, another staff member walked along the surrounding streets with me to find one. Muchas gracias Hotel Grand King. Excellent service, ideal location, good food and comfortable room. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathrynMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maceciliaperez, Gerente at Grand King Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
It´s great to know that you had a good time staying at our hotel.
We hope that you stay again with us when you return to our city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    249
    167
    60
    52
See reviews for
178
218
47
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The room photos on the site must be for more expensive rooms, because the one I booked looked like it was last decorated in the late 1980s. However, the bathroom was clean, the sheets were in good condition, the safe works just fine.
Breakfast is almost usually included in room price, and in this case it was a good plus! The food wasn't like, AMAZING, but it is good and it's a buffet. Don't miss the dulce de leche and the medialunas :)
Oh, and the staff could, in theory, be a tad kinder to guests (we're new to the place, after all), but they're efficient and usually polite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delilahhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maceciliaperez, Gerente at Grand King Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review!
All the reviews from our guests let us know which things we have to improve!
We hope to see you again in Our Hotel when you visit Buenos Aires!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polkowice, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed there for nearly a week. Great location - just in a hart of Buenos Aires. Standard double rooms quite small and a bit stenchy. Pretty poor choice for breakfest and hard to get some proper food in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maceciliaperez, Gerente at Grand King Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments!
We´ll keep on working to improve those things that were not good during your stay.
Have you asked in our front desk for a propper place to have dinner? There is plenty of great restaurants near our hotel where you can have excelent food!
We hope to see you again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is located in convenient location. Its just walking distance from shopping pedestrians. The hotel was clean. The room was big enough for the price. we could not ask for more. Front Staffs were not that friendly. anyway not bad nor excellent, just good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was the worst surprise of a month vacation in Buenos Aires for me. The photos and reviews I saw on expedia made me expect good things. The ONLY good thing about this hotel is its location. As for the endless list of negatives... shabby condition overall, lumpy bed, stinky pillows, musty smell, deceitful staff (especially the ugly one in her 40´s with the long hair that looks like a dirty mop). Being on the corner of Lavalle and Florida was great, but I deeply regret the 3 days I wasted at this dump. Stay away.

Room Tip: If you don´t trust my word as to what a crap place this is, at least look at the room before you pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall_Beggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel was a indication of tour agency, actually they do have really good location in the Microcentro of Buenos Aires, near to good restaurants, stores, theater and Obelisco. But the room was poor and the service was terrible. They are self classified as 4 stars but they are really 2 stars at top.

Room Tip: The Lavalle street is noisier, take higher floor, but the elevators are not good, try to balance tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mthscr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maceciliaperez, Manager at Grand King Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments!
Every day our guests comments help us to improve constantly.
We apologize for not living up to your expectations. Our hotel is classed as 4 stars, according to the standards of hotel categorization of Argentina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just a short walk from the Obelisk and only 1/2 block from Florida street. The Grand King's location is very good for shopping, restaurants, opera, movies etc. The rooms are a mix. Our first room had a bed that was old and had quite a swayback in it. We got moved to renovated room that had a newer king bed that was very comfortable. Stay away from the old rooms for sure. The breakfast was pretty standard and they even served us scrambled eggs privately after the bulk eggs ran out. The fruit salad was not quite as good as some other hotels, but that was minor. The front staff was very knowledgable and very friendly. There was always one that spoke very good english. I wish I would have gotten the older gentlemen's name, as he went out of his way to be helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srodine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maceciliaperez, Manager at Grand King Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments!
It´s really important for us to know what our guest think about Grand King Hotel.
We hope yo see you again in our Hotel!
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#169 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel de la Paix
Gran Hotel de la Paix
#363 of 452 in Buenos Aires
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#130 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
#155 of 452 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#139 of 452 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
San Nicolas
Reconquista Plaza
Reconquista Plaza
#265 of 452 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand King Hotel

Property: Grand King Hotel
Address: Lavalle 560, Buenos Aires 1047AAL, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand King Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand King Hotel offers to its guests, the best location in Buenos Aires. Located in Lavalle street only 20 meters from Florida pedestrian street and one block from Corrientes Avenue, where great shows, the most famous art galleries, cinemas and theaters are concentrated, 5 blocks from Puerto Madero where there are the best restaurants an one block from Galerias Pacifico shopping mall where elegant shops are. The ideal place for your bussiness travel because of its location in the heart of the city, situated in the bank and exchange area. Everything at within arm's reach from the hotel establishment that also provides you with the greatest comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand King Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand King
Grand King Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing