We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but quality food.”

Decata Palermo Hollywood
Ranked #54 of 130 Dessert in Buenos Aires
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Palermo
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pricey, but quality food.”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I had a breakfast and lunch at Decata and enjoyed both meals. Yes, prices are a little bit higher than some of the other cafes in the area, but this reflects the quality of the food and generous portions. I enjoyed a breakfast with yogurt and fruit along with the tea, orange juice and water (very good yogurt from a glass jar, seemed organic and unsweetened…perfect!), and for lunch I recommend sharing the picada platter with someone. My husband and I enjoyed the rustic potatoes, olives, serrano jamon and other tasty treats that were all presented very nicely on the platter and we couldn't even finish all the food between the two of us (but maybe those with larger appetites can!). Overall, this comfortable cafe is a keeper in my eyes, especially because the service was very competent and friendly, and never complained about my husband and I lingering for so long with our computers using their free wifi after only ordering a simple breakfast.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    87
    30
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“just too expensive”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent pastry, no doubt about that. Everything else is just like any other coffee shop / restaurant in the neighbourhood. But pricing is just too high.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tnyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely with great food and wonderful service”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Hotel Bobo in Palermo recommended this restaurant to all guests.

My daughter and I wanted a casual, very early (by BA standards) dinner. We're also vegetarians.

The wait staff could not have been more accommodating, and the chef made us an off the menu dish with lots of beautifully grilled vegetables on pasta with an amazing sauce. Lovely dulce de leche dessert, salad, etc.

The full menu had something for everyone, and the ambiance is very nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Space for a Coffee”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Staying in an apartment nearby, we made Decata our morning go-to spot. While the coffee was delicious, I mostly enjoyed the atmosphere. A beautiful space, full of communal wooden tables, brass access, chipped paint, antique typewriters - you know the style. The style wasn't limited to the atmosphere either - the clientele held their own.

The downside of Decata: it's unnecessarily expensive. What we paid for a coke, tostada, and a coffee bought us two dinner entrees and drinks elsewhere in Argentina.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special x tea time”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Don't miss the incredible cakes, cookies & muffings, ideal x tea time or coffe time as well. Breakfasts & brunch are also really good, but skip saturdays' crowds if you want to enjoy these desserts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Decata Palermo Hollywood also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Decata Palermo Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing