We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous”

El Ateneo Grand Splendid
Ranked #1 of 190 Shopping in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Situated in an old theater, El Ateneo is one of the most popular bookstores in Buenos Aires.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My favorite place in Buenos Aires. This book shop is surreal.. could spend hours there. Definitely worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fefa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,053
    3,114
    453
    68
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stop by if you are in Recoleto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

What a nice surprise to walk into a bookstore and find a full opera house/theater beautifully maintained. You can more or less see it all in about 10 minutes or take a break in the cafe on the stage of the old theater.

Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
183 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice bookstore - a special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Plenty of reviews about the El Ateneo - went there today to see myself. Of course it's very nice - essentially it looks like a mid-sized theater/opera house converted into a book store, and it does look nice (including the paintings on the ceiling). However, I don't think it's a "must" to visit when in BA; the choice of books doesn't appear overly large compared to book stores I know from Europe, I've never seen a book shop without price tags on the books (and prices aren't low; I paid 100 pesos for a small BA travel guide), and I didn't really like the coffee shop as it seemed rather dark and I prefer places with daylight. Anyway, nothing wrong with El Ateneo, I just don't think people should exaggerate the experience. It's nice to pass by and have a look, if you're in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank thearndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyable/beautiful book store!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful book store, love the atmosphere with the old theatre, the music and the vast array of books, as well as the little coffee shop in the back. It's like an array of all kinds of things I love wrapped up into one. Most of the books are in Spanish, however (predictable as it is Argentina), but many of the books are also pricey and don't have their prices listed on them (at least that I could see). None the less, it is a fun little jaunt *especially* if you are staying in Recoleta.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank driftingsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great atraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Its a nice place to buy evry books u can imagine i really like the place the dimension and the catalog of the inventory, i like it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Damila232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ateneo Grand Splendid also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to El Ateneo Grand Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing