We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to spend half a day”
Review of Zoo Buenos Aires

Zoo Buenos Aires
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Private City Tour of Buenos Aires
Ranked #93 of 728 things to do in Buenos Aires
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: El Zoologico de Buenos Aires tiene por objetivo ser un gran centro de educacion ambiental que forme mejores ciudadanos, mas comprometidos con el bienestar animal y el cuidado de la naturaleza. Paralelamente, que se convierta en un centro de conservacion de especies, con enfasis en la fauna argentina
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
243 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great place to spend half a day”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

especially if you have children. The organization is well done, the buildings old and add to the athmosphere, The size is large enough.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnotherKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    809
    532
    237
    145
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must for the kids, you won't regret it”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The best zoo. My son loved it and he was 11, there are loads of animals roaming around free, that you can feed. All animals you have probably never seen before. Pick up proper food at the gate. We liked it so much we went twice in our 5 week trip. If you have kids this is a must. I was not so happy about the elephants and bears that looked like they had gone mad, but the rest of the zoo was just great, loads of old buildings in the grounds. Take some empanades as there isn't much except junk food to eat and drink.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AstraHBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small. Improving and yes some bad but other great things.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a small zoo in the middle of the city, so some of the negative reviews covered are partially true, but please give credit to this zoo, as they are trying to make the animal enclosures better and they are reforming several of the animal enclosures.

I was lucky to visit on a Saturday morning when not a lot of people were there, and talked to the keepers, all of them where extremely knowledge about their animals, and you can tell that they were taking care of them really well.

This is a good small zoo, you can spent a good 2-3 hours, enjoying the animals and if you speak Spanish please talk to the keepers they will tell you stories about their animals and how they are improving their lives. Also it is worthy to see what they are doing to save the Andean Condor.

Net, recommended, but please be aware that this is not the San Diego zoo, nor Animal Kingdom.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wetfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I'm an animal lover and zoos always bug me but ....”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I really liked this place. Highlights - they sell animal feed as soon as you walk in. It's well worth it. I loved feeding the maras (sort of tall rabbits that run loose on the grounds. They seem to be very near sighted and afraid of everything - constantly getting outsmarted by the ducks. I finally realized the best way to feed the little guys was to just poke your hand out to them, leaning over the fence, until they get close enough to smell the treat, then let them nibble it out of your hand. Otherwise the ducks get them) the llamas (again stretching my hand in to their enclosure which would get you in deep trouble in the US but it seems completely OK and even encouraged here) and the goats (same story).
Also also saw a few animals that looked suspiciously like they had escaped from their cage but all the animals seemed in ok shape. It's a zoo and I could go on at length of why zoos trouble me, but this was good fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisambuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
149 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Crumbling zoo but worth a visit”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The zoo has some gorgeous old buildings in varying states of dis-repair. The zoo animals appear to be well cared for, but the place is a bit of a shambles. We went on a weekday and it was quite busy. I understand weekends are very crowded.

Helpful?
1 Thank cperrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Buenos Aires also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Zoo Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing