We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green island in heart of Buenos Aires”
Review of Jardin Botanico

Jardin Botanico
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Parks and Plazas Bike Tour
Ranked #62 of 746 things to do in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This garden is a fairy-tale haven scattered with romantic twisting pathways, statues hiding around corners, babbling brooks, dragonflies and floral treasures from all over the world.
Asia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Green island in heart of Buenos Aires”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

It´s a very nice place to be in hot day in BA! Lots of trees from all over the world, Africa, Asia, Sudamerica, etc. Lots of green grass, benches and free space to organise a small picnic. If you just walk and look around it could take around 1 hour, but I strongly recommend to bring a blanket and book - you will have such a great time in peace and shade, surround by amazing trees.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerina_rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    421
    175
    30
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Spent an afternoon enjoying the greenery under the shelter of a tree. It is great for relaxing and has many benches around. Just grab a book and a sandwich and spend a lovely afternoon here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great green space”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Buenos Aires is so very big with what seems an infinite number of people and cars that finding great green spaces is very important. This garden area is very convenient and well worth some time to relax away from the crowds and noise of this bustling city.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank statusquobuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
522 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Very relaxing, nice local plants...”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Although this is not a big garden, it has some nice plantings, some that we've actually never seen anywhere else for that matter. The area/neighbourhood of Palermo is great, so the gardens can be a nice part of your day in Palermo. The fountains are ok, but they could be cleaner... The many benches and shaded areas make it ideal on a hot summer day...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Travellers beware”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went to the Garden today with my girlfriend. We were seated on a bench with lots of other people around. We were "pooped" on by a bird, or so we thought. A lot later we realised that it was a mud like mixture. Just as it happened, a fairly small, innocent looking man of about 55 years was walking past. He spoke to us in Spanish but we have very limited Spanish. Still thinking it was bird poop, we were trying to wipe it away with tissues and the man came back to us about 30 seconds later and offered to show us a tap. We headed deeper into the park and came across a dirty pond. At this stage I realised the poop was on the back of my pants and wondered how but was still annoyed about having poop on me and wasn't thinking too clearly. The man then told us in limited Spanish there was a tap near the outside fence, away from anyone else. As we went down towards the fence, a young man walking past called out to me. At this stage my girlfriend was further away. The man outside the fence started shaking his head and pointing to his eyes as in "lookout." I then called my girlfriend back and we walked away. I am 195cm, 100kg and an ex-cop. The man we were speaking to was very small so I doubt he would have been able to do anything. He couldn't have been the one who splashed us as he was in front of us so he must have had an accomplice(s). We later spoke to locals who state that these robbers work in a team and therefore there must have been one or more bigger people possibly with a knife to rob us. This was in the middle of the day. Hate to think what may have happened if that man was not walking past outside as he was the only other person around. Luck was on our side. Tried to report matter but none of the staff spoke English. Now to the garden. When we travel we always like to visit Botanical Gardens and this one was certainly not worth the visit. In average condition and not a great selection of plant life. Some interesting sculptures and the cats are friendly.
If nearby go for a visit but wouldn't recommend a special effort for visit. Have to agree with Joao-Britt, more like a park.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OldManEmu68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin Botanico also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Jardin Botanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing