We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown and ripe for renovation”
Review of Carsson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carsson Hotel
Ranked #257 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here as part of a group-tour while in Buenos Aires. The hotel is central located, near the shopping neighborhood, which is a plus. I was placed in a room without airconditioning, and with 30 celcius outside, this was not really great. The room was rundown, maybe it was clean, but it didn't look like it. The bathroom was old. The hotel staff was friendly. The reason why I rate it as poor is that there are quite a lot of hotels in the neighborhood which have a much better price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 474 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was cheap, but it was as well disgusting. Sheets dirty, receptionist unfriendly, dark, a window for nothing and cold. Bathroom was okay. Stay away from the elevator. The neighborhood is fine, good bars, good restaurant - even for vegetarians. That's absolutely exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

After reading these reviews I was worried. We didn't choose the hotel but stayed here as part of a G Adventures tour. Perhaps there are some renovated rooms and some old rooms but the room we got was nicely appointed, fresh bedding, etc. The location is great, right near the Teatro Colon, and good for exploring the downtown area and to walk to San Telmo. Breakfast was not included for us.

Room Tip: If you're not happy with your room, ask to see others as reviews here are very mixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kateoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was very happy with this hotel, we stayed there for 3 nights and found it an excellent base for sightseeing and very comfortable. The room was very clean, and nicely decorated, the television had about 60 channels! The only complaint I would have is that the shower flooded easily because of the curtain, but other than that everything was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Felix at the front desk. We had a lovely stay here.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is located very conveniently in walking distance of ´downtown´ Buenos Aires. Thats about all good about this hotel. The rooms are very old and worn down, the elevator often does not work. The gymnasium was closed, i asked when will it open. ´maybe in 2 weeks´.
Only stay at this hotel if you dont want any luxury and want to stay central.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great location! A few steps from Florida street! It's not modern and in need up updating but overall a good place! Hotel was clean and room was spacious! We had a double bed. The only faults were no light comes into the room at all. The hotel was a bit dark and dingy! I would stay here again for the location, however they should offer free wifi and include breakfast.

Room Tip: I think we lucked out with a larger room than some
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crenee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Location is convenient for walking around. Lots of shops around. Room and bathroom are small. Noisy near elevator.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
El Centro
Algeciras Hotel
Algeciras Hotel
#231 of 442 in Buenos Aires
99 reviews
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel Avenida
Gran Hotel Avenida
#311 of 442 in Buenos Aires
10 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#109 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#173 of 442 in Buenos Aires
353 reviews
Montserrat
Imperial Park Hotel
Imperial Park Hotel
#216 of 442 in Buenos Aires
390 reviews
San Nicolas
Unique Executive Central
Unique Executive Central
#220 of 442 in Buenos Aires
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carsson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carsson Hotel

Address: Viamonte 650, Buenos Aires 1053ABN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $43 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carsson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic French-style Hotel located in downtown financial district, convenient to shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carsson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carsson Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing