We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Old, and an Okay Location”
Review of Carsson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carsson Hotel
Ranked #244 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
riw777
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, Old, and an Okay Location”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The Hotel Carsson is right on Florida Street, which is the "old tourist section," of Buenos Aires. As such, it is not even a block to a street with a lot of shopping, and a pretty wide variety of restaurants. Just off Florida Street, on either side, is a good deal of very poorly kept streets and shops, so you won't want to wander too far afield off the main avenue. At the end of Florida is a nice park you can wander around in, with a 200 year old rubber tree.

The street vendors are fairly persistent, particularly those selling leather goods, and the prices didn't look all that good to me. There is very little English in this part of town, so bring your Spanish with you. Most of the restaurants do have English menus, but you'll mostly find the fare to be centered on steak and fries.

The nicer area is down by the river; if you head right out of the hotel, past the sex shops, and to Peron, then make another right, in about a mile's walk you'll find yourself in a restored area with nicer shops and cleaner streets.

The hotel itself is very clean. The rooms are small, and the fixtures quit old. It doesn't look like much from the outside; you'll miss it if you don't look hard. I did take a picture of the room and posted it here, for anyone who's interested. There is a small "garden" in the back of the hotel, if you know where to look, and the elevators are intriguing, having the separate outer and inner door. Take care about noise, though --my room was extremely loud. The "high speed internet" is really quite slow.

Generally good, but small rooms, close to decent food and shopping, but not on the best street itself.

Room Tip: Avoid room 504. There is some sort of machinery that is extremely loud, actually shaking the room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riw777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    150
    169
    51
    41
See reviews for
64
175
52
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South East England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Best thing about the hotel is its location. Turn left and after 4 minutes you reach Avenue 9 de Julio, the main (huge) avenue off of which many places of interest can be found. Turn right and after 1 minute you are in the main shopping area, Florida Street. Actual hotel has the worlds most boring breakfast, and adequate bedrooms. Found the area very safe even late at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElFantasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is an older hotel in the microcentro, with good size rooms and helpful staff. We had to change our room in the front (facing Viamonte) because of all-night loud music from a bar across the street. No problems making the change. Breakfast OK, with cereal, fruit, ham and cheese slices, pastry, decent coffee. The price was good, about $84 per night when the room was booked via the hotel website - BUT - the price at checkout was closer to $94.
This was not clear until we converted the pesos charged to the dollar amount. It's not a big amount, but it's an error. We have contested the charge via the credit card company.
WiFi costs $10 for 24 hours - that was not why the room rate was higher than expected. We used this service only 1 day, and the charge shown was for 1 day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

I was with my Spanish language immersion group (15 adults, no minors) and the hotel was booked by the school. It has an excellent location, one block off of Florida Street, a shopping and browsing hotspot. Good restaurants nearby. The included breakfast each morning was good, a continental style that included fresh, whole fruits, meats, cheeses, breads, etc. (Cheater hint: take a baggie to breakfast, make a sandwich for later.) The coffee was good and thick.

Since I was with a large group, I experienced (or heard about) more than just my room. The rooms are average tourist class size, the bathrooms are of a decent size, except for the approx 2 foot square shower with clingy curtain. I had a room mate, we had twin beds, the sheets were clean, the mattresses were clean enough. The rooms are showing age, especially the bathrooms. Rust and mildew around the bathroom window, which is in the shower stall. We had a leaky shower valve the first night, and a leaky bidet floor seal. The shower was promptly fixed, the bidet...we just kept a towel around it. There were some "missed spots" on the carpet that could've used a vacuum. We just didn't care enough to have it done. Others in our group said similar things. The rooms were not perfect, but they were adequate and secure. Location and breakfast get high marks.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cktraveloptions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed here 2 different nights as part of a group tour, would otherwise not have chosen it. One thing I really disliked was that we had to pay USD 10 per computer for wifi. So if you are traveling with 2 devices (say an Iphone and laptop) or 2 persons with their own laptops stay in one room you have to pay twice! There is also no separate computer available for internet access so you are forced to pay up or find it elsewhere.
I dislike the area, it is way too touristy. One of the two rooms I stayed in had a very modern bathroom, but otherwise rooms are old style. They are quiet though, which is good. Service is not with a smile. Can't judge value as I don't know what the price would normally be.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebbie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

The Carsson: the good news is the location! right next to Florida ave.'s ped. mall in the Microcenter.
The bad news: We used 2 different rooms- both needed new mattresses! The toilet handle came off in our hands. The air conditioner sounded like a 747! (we had to shut it off. No eggs at breakfast; minimum fruit. No computer for internet. No conversion plugs for 110 current!
The staff was helpful with directions and very polite generally!

Room Tip: See the room first! Test the air conditioner and !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onedum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

i stayed there with some friends, the location is great...near florida street.but its an old hotel.
interent is not free!and thats for sure :its not a 4 star hotel,i would go with 3 star maximum..

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#168 of 445 in Buenos Aires
342 reviews
San Nicolas
Grand King Hotel
Grand King Hotel
#245 of 445 in Buenos Aires
676 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#116 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Centuria Hotel Buenos Aires
Centuria Hotel Buenos Aires
#176 of 445 in Buenos Aires
483 reviews
San Nicolas
Reconquista Plaza
Reconquista Plaza
#274 of 445 in Buenos Aires
350 reviews
San Nicolas
Galerias Hotel
Galerias Hotel
#278 of 445 in Buenos Aires
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carsson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carsson Hotel

Property: Carsson Hotel
Address: Viamonte 650, Buenos Aires 1053ABN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carsson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic French-style Hotel located in downtown financial district, convenient to shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carsson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carsson Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing