We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, needs renovation.”
Review of Etoile Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Etoile Hotel
Ranked #146 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, needs renovation.”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Frontdesk OK, breakfast OK. Furniture in reception-area worn and dirty, full of holes. USD 10/24hrs for WiFi in your room. Our room was big overlooking the park/cementary, but carpets were worn and stained. And some of the furniture had been removed!! making the room look empty. Cracked tiles in the bathroom and mirror was broken. According to hotel staff Etoile will be renovated in 2012. Avoid until then.

Room Tip: Facing park/cementary. Latter is top tourist attraction and beautyful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livsnyterne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    455
    205
    64
    38
See reviews for
238
398
41
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyneham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

But that's all I can say about this hotel that is positive. Needs overhauling immediately. Bed linen, towels and pillows need replacing. Lifts are a bit sporadic. Internet works but slowly, and only 2 ancient computers which some people hog the whole time (and kids, too, more annoyingly).
No tissue boxes, nice toiletries in the bathroom. Horrible vacuum-hose-type hairdryer which burns your hand after a while. Reception staff not that great. No dedicated Concierge desk.
Glad we only stayed 3 nights, that was enough. Great location for a short time, and some nice restaurants within a few minutes' walk.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana_sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

When my friend recommended me this hotel, I was somewhat skeptic because it is in front of a Cemetery. However the hotel is located in a beautiful area surrounded of several restaurants and bars with patios, touristic stores and close to another attractions, even close to the downtown if you like to walk. The hotel have a modest restaurant (you don't need it anyway) and an ample Lobby. The staff is courteous and while the rooms are nice and comfortable they don't have a desk to use your computer. In the corner is a Taxi stop, ask for Don Miguel, he is a retired senior that knows Buenos Aires very well. The hotel rate is affordable... very recommendable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanFranToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We requested a triple room (since that option was available) we got 2 very small full beds. The staff at the front desk was only there to check you in and out. They would not change money (Which the vast majority of the hotels in Argentina do) or do much for that matter. If you would come into the hotel, they wouldn't even greet you. The bathroom has very little space to put your personal toiletries. The ceiling right on top of the shower head had major water damage. To the point that if the person in the room upstairs showered, you will shower with your water and the one coming down the ceiling, it would pour down. We were afraid that the ceiling would fall down. The bathroom had a sewage smell to it. The carpeting in the room had stains. This hotel needs a major work. Nice area, crappy rooms. There was free internet downstairs, if you wanted Wi-Fi in the room there was a fee. Breakfast was ok; the sweet croissants were not very fresh either. There are better places to stay, avoid this one if possible.

Room Tip: Don't chose room 701 this room had major water damage on the bathroom ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marita13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

São Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The only advantage is the very good location at Recoleta. The rest, is not worth. Too old hotel. Old decoration that makes hotel smelling like old! I felt like I was on the 70's but not in a good way. Old heater, old bath tub, old shower, old everything. Linens and pillow smelling very bad. Internet is not free and very slow. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana_Wakabara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The rooms are not wonderful and we had a rather awful view at the back, but from the upper floors you look out over Recoleta Cemetery and there is a bar and even a small swimming pool on the roof. The staff were very helpful when our return flight was delayed and upgraded us to a superior room at no extra charge. Breakfast was good; but the meals available at other times appeared to be limited to snacks. The area appears safe and is handy for the National Art Gallery; some other attractions are walkable from here. Altogether a good location despite the tired appearance of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My wife and I travelled to Buenos Aires for the first time. We decided to stay in two different hotels to experience two different parts of the city. This hotel was our choice for Recoleta. The location was good right across from the cemetery and near lots of restaurants. We found the hotel to be old and not very nice. The rooms were average at best and the service was mediocre. We did however enjoy the location as it was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schlatterscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
Ayres de Recoleta Plaza
#58 of 447 in Buenos Aires
386 reviews
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Recoleta
Cyan Recoleta Hotel
Cyan Recoleta Hotel
#87 of 447 in Buenos Aires
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#122 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,206 reviews
Recoleta
Ulises Recoleta Suites
Ulises Recoleta Suites
#152 of 447 in Buenos Aires
318 reviews
Recoleta
Sileo Hotel
Sileo Hotel
#49 of 447 in Buenos Aires
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etoile Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etoile Hotel

Property: Etoile Hotel
Address: Calle Pte Roberto Ortiz 1835 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1113ABA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Etoile Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel located in the residential district of Recoleta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Etoile Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etoile Hotel Buenos Aires
Etoile Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing