We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for a romantic getaway.”
Review of Claridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Claridge Hotel
Ranked #151 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The best thing about the Claridge was that it was only $67 per night for a king bed room. They advertise as a 5 star hotel. It definitely appears that it used to be, but has several things that drop the value down to 3 stars for me.

Half of our cash disappeared from my life partner's pants pockets while we were away from our room for about half an hour (the safe wasn't working, so he didn't feel comfortable using it). We were there only 3 nights, so those aren't great odds. We reported it, and they let us have a free meal.

Our room had dirt on the fabric covered walls. Considering how empty the hotel was (February is off season for them), that may indicate that there wasn't a cleaner room available for them to put us in.

The fabric glued to the box spring mattress was peeling off extensively and made the mood of the hotel room unpleasant for what we had planned as a romantic getaway.

They have signs on the wall that say sauna and massages in the pool area, but they no longer offer them. The pool closes at 7pm, which was a major bummer since the sun did not go down until 9pm, and we really didn't want to go back to our run-down room.

I recommend the Lancaster a few blocks away if you want to invest more in a 5 star hotel. I've stayed there twice and had only 1 negative memory: the A/c in the hallways made it feel like I was walking in a meat freezer. However, they do not have a pool, so that's why we went with the Claridge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 1L2e3t4_4321_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
There are newer reviews for Claridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was a very nice hotel in the center of Buenos Airies. Our room was not reserved but after a little confusion we were upgraded to a suite. Breakfast was fine and the pool facilities were great on a hot day. The bar was very nice and I am sure Louise would have had a few G and T's even though they were a little pricey.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott8446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Great location, in walking distance from lots of different attractions. Stayed there for 4/5 nights. The pool was amazing, used it every day, would be nice if it stayed open until later though.
A bit outdated and probably expected more from a hotel like this one. However staff were very helpful. Breakfast was really good, incredible wide range of things to chose from

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuanaJ444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Lovely hotel which we last stayed at about 8 years ago and it's still as good as ever. Ideal position for walking around the city with plenty of shops and excellent restaurants. A very good 4 star hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I first stayed in this hotel over 20 years ago - it was fantastic. Have stayed in it 6 times since, the last time was 4 years and everything was great. Now it is terrible. No bellman, spa closed, rooms and bedding tired. It is now cheap but I came here for old memories not value.

Last time I will ever stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanhuatulco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

When I read the reviews of this hotel, I wasn't expecting much. We had just come from a brand new hotel in Montevideo, so I thought I would be disappointed with the Claridge. However, the staff was great, they put in an extra bed for my daughter .. the room was old, but completely comfortable and all we needed. The pool is the best part of the hotel - we spent the whole afternoon there. Beautiful in the 38 degree Buenos Aires heat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyinChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had booked three nights at the Calridge hotel not reading the reviews which I wish I had done. The facade is beautiful don't be fooled. And the location is excellent! Given the service was great there was only one person at concierge in the lobby he was very kind.
When going into the elevators that looked like they hadn't been renovated since the 50's, little did I know the rooms were even worse. The carpets had staining, the rooms smelled, bed a were horrible and hard, the bathroom was leaking all over, and the curtains were broken. The only thing that was modern was the television.
My family and I (4 of us) stayed one night had horrible sleep and decided to switch hotels to the hilton for about 50 dollars more a night! WOW the hilton is EXCELLENT highly recommend the hilton!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrissyZeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
#45 of 443 in Buenos Aires
903 reviews
San Nicolas
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
#154 of 443 in Buenos Aires
931 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#47 of 443 in Buenos Aires
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#52 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,026 reviews
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#57 of 443 in Buenos Aires
915 reviews
Retiro
Aspen Towers Hotel
Aspen Towers Hotel
#75 of 443 in Buenos Aires
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Address: Tucuman 535, Buenos Aires C1049AAK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $58 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Claridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridge Hotel in Buenos Aires is defined by its prestige and elegance, with neo-classical and British touches. The guests can enjoy Tudor-style lounges, rooms with antique furniture of enormous value, a thousand-and-one details that recall the Victorian era in England and, even, five-o'clock tea at the Claridge Bar. This luxurious hotel, located in the capital of Argentina, combines perfectly tradition with the most modern services like an open-air swimming pool (spring/summer) and a Business Centre, that will cover all the needs of the business men and women. At the Claridge Hotel we have also a great involvement with the world of art and culture, holding painting exhibitions, opera recitals or cultural events, among other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Buenos Aires
Claridge Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing