We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel which is very central”
Review of Claridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Claridge Hotel
Ranked #148 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Lovely hotel which we last stayed at about 8 years ago and it's still as good as ever. Ideal position for walking around the city with plenty of shops and excellent restaurants. A very good 4 star hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

I first stayed in this hotel over 20 years ago - it was fantastic. Have stayed in it 6 times since, the last time was 4 years and everything was great. Now it is terrible. No bellman, spa closed, rooms and bedding tired. It is now cheap but I came here for old memories not value.

Last time I will ever stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanhuatulco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

When I read the reviews of this hotel, I wasn't expecting much. We had just come from a brand new hotel in Montevideo, so I thought I would be disappointed with the Claridge. However, the staff was great, they put in an extra bed for my daughter .. the room was old, but completely comfortable and all we needed. The pool is the best part of the hotel - we spent the whole afternoon there. Beautiful in the 38 degree Buenos Aires heat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyinChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had booked three nights at the Calridge hotel not reading the reviews which I wish I had done. The facade is beautiful don't be fooled. And the location is excellent! Given the service was great there was only one person at concierge in the lobby he was very kind.
When going into the elevators that looked like they hadn't been renovated since the 50's, little did I know the rooms were even worse. The carpets had staining, the rooms smelled, bed a were horrible and hard, the bathroom was leaking all over, and the curtains were broken. The only thing that was modern was the television.
My family and I (4 of us) stayed one night had horrible sleep and decided to switch hotels to the hilton for about 50 dollars more a night! WOW the hilton is EXCELLENT highly recommend the hilton!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrissyZeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We like this hotel right in the centre of Buenos Aires. You cannot beat for value: Us$105 to sleep in the commercial heart of Buenos aires, and within walking distance from la Casa Rosada shops and department stores.
The room we had was a little on the small size, but adequate for just two night of our visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay at The Claridge (previous visit was 5 years ago) and even though we were upgraded to a suite for our one night stay it was clear that little had been done by way of modernising the hotel in the intervening years.

The room was ok, clean and the bed comfortable and being a suite had plenty of room although we did have a water leak problem when showering which flooded the bathroom floor. The tea/coffee facilities seemed rather poor for a hotel with just a couple of tea bags available and the wifi could have been stronger.

We had friends that stopped at The Claridge a few days after us and they again commented on the dated / tired nature of their room.

Shame that the hotel pool did not open until 21st December for the summer season even though the temperature outside in BA was in the mid 30s but again this area looked like it needed some work.

That said the staff were friendly enough and breakfast provided enough options to set you up for the day ahead.

The hotel location is good as you are within walking distance of most central areas and the metro is close by if you need it however Tucuman is a hectic/busy road (albeit one lane of traffic) that may seem a little daunting to some.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank RealHoltyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel has a great character. Very helpful staff. Tired but clean and practical rooms. Excellent location near city centre. Good bar and restaurant with a good menu. Would stay there again. Can highly recommend. ( The pool was closed when we stayed but due to open in December).

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Racingjohn789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
474 BUENOS AIRES HOTEL
474 BUENOS AIRES HOTEL
#50 of 443 in Buenos Aires
916 reviews
Retiro
Aspen Towers Hotel
Aspen Towers Hotel
#82 of 443 in Buenos Aires
983 reviews
San Nicolas
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
#152 of 443 in Buenos Aires
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Buenos Aires Florida
NH Buenos Aires Florida
#71 of 443 in Buenos Aires
410 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#63 of 443 in Buenos Aires
2,067 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#43 of 443 in Buenos Aires
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Address: Tucuman 535, Buenos Aires C1049AAK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $67 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Claridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridge Hotel in Buenos Aires is defined by its prestige and elegance, with neo-classical and British touches. The guests can enjoy Tudor-style lounges, rooms with antique furniture of enormous value, a thousand-and-one details that recall the Victorian era in England and, even, five-o'clock tea at the Claridge Bar. This luxurious hotel, located in the capital of Argentina, combines perfectly tradition with the most modern services like an open-air swimming pool (spring/summer) and a Business Centre, that will cover all the needs of the business men and women. At the Claridge Hotel we have also a great involvement with the world of art and culture, holding painting exhibitions, opera recitals or cultural events, among other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Buenos Aires
Claridge Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing