We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Front”
Review of Claridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Claridge Hotel
Ranked #152 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful Front”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I didn't stay there this time but went for tea, bar is very traditional with an English theme.
Tea was excellent served in proper china.
If there is a drawback is the location in downtown BA,Tucuman street is a bit round down nowadays. This hotel used to be a real 5* but the more fashionable ones are located in the more upmarket area known as Barrio Norte.
But for an early evening drink or tea is a delightful place to spend an hour or so.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Platense41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    518
    319
    113
    67
See reviews for
229
576
75
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend in Buenos Aires recently and stayed at this hotel which we felt offered excellent value for the price. We walked from the Buquebus terminal to the hotel in less than 15 min. The hotel is ideally located just off our favorite shopping and people watching street, Calle Florida and less than a 10 minute walk to either Plaza San Martin or Plaza de Mayo. Our room, number 511, was a comfortable, large corner room overlooking the inviting pool. The front desk personnel were very gracious and helpful, loaning us an adapter and computer cable when we came up short. The breakfast was good; a step up from most hotel buffets. The only issue was a broken elevator, leaving only one working elevator for the entire hotel on our last day. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I will definitely recommend this hotel to a friend and/or family member. My room, #804 (my friends were on the 6th floor and the room, double with twin beds was not as spacious as mine, same with their bathroom, very tiny for two people) was quiet and spacious as well as the bathroom. Very good shower, towels and a complete set of toiletries. Everything was very clean with the exception of the rug that was stained by the night table. Very useful to have free WiFi. The breakfast was excellent! Huge variety of cereals, yogurt, juices, sweet rolls, cakes, hot foods as well as cheeses and cold cuts. They kept the trays full even at times when the guests flooded the cafeteria.The staff was very attentive at all times.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I traveled alone in Nov 2012. This was a great area around the corner from the shopping street, Calle Florida. There was also a metro stop within a 5 minutes walk. The room was nice, yes, it was a bit worn, but sufficient. Nice color tv and the wireless internet worked fine. Breakfast was "ok", but the convenience of having it included in the hotel was worth the mediocrity. There is also a Subway across the street (FYI). The staff was very nice and helpful, and they were able to store my luggage after I checked out my last morning since my flight was at 10pm. Lastly, as a single female I felt very safe there to do personnel on staff 24 hrs and the security.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a really good stay at the Claridge Hotel in Buenos Aires the week of 12 November 2012.
The free transfer wasn't at the airport but when we phoned they told us the tour company to use and paid for our trip back to the airport instead. The concierge (especially Martin) was fabulous and helped organise a Tango tour, checked the English tours at the Teatro Colon and organised a Gaucho Ranch tour.
The room was not as glamorous as the pictures suggest, but the pub and the breakfast room were lovely. The breakfast was also big enough to find lovely things to eat every day.
The Sex Shop across the street was daunting on arrival but the location of the hotel turned out to be most convenient (we walked easily to Puerto Madero, the Obelisk, Theatre Colon etc.) and most taxi trips to La Boca/Recoleta/Palermo cost around 35-40 pesos.
We were very happy to have stayed at the Claridge Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Andre - SP
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Positive: Very well located, with a kind staff and with a good breakfast.
Negative: The rooms are small and a little bit old but we had a good time there. During the time of our stay the pool were closed. As we were with a child, it was a requirement of the family to stay in a hotel with a pool but we could not use it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claupassos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Gentil
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

It is a nice hotel in the centre. We stored our bags there while we travelled around for a few days. I have no complaints about the hotel, loved breakfast. But if I came to BA again I wouldn't stay in the centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecrocodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
#44 of 446 in Buenos Aires
881 reviews
San Nicolas
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#82 of 446 in Buenos Aires
963 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#56 of 446 in Buenos Aires
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
Scala Hotel Buenos Aires
#57 of 446 in Buenos Aires
893 reviews
San Nicolas
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
#155 of 446 in Buenos Aires
906 reviews
San Nicolas
Galerias Hotel
Galerias Hotel
#268 of 446 in Buenos Aires
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claridge Hotel

Property: Claridge Hotel
Address: Calle Tucuman 535, Buenos Aires C1049AAK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Claridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Claridge Hotel in Buenos Aires is defined by its prestige and elegance, with neo-classical and British touches. The guests can enjoy Tudor-style lounges, rooms with antique furniture of enormous value, a thousand-and-one details that recall the Victorian era in England and, even, five-o'clock tea at the Claridge Bar. This luxurious hotel, located in the capital of Argentina, combines perfectly tradition with the most modern services like an open-air swimming pool (spring/summer) and a Business Centre, that will cover all the needs of the business men and women. At the Claridge Hotel we have also a great involvement with the world of art and culture, holding painting exhibitions, opera recitals or cultural events, among other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claridge Buenos Aires
Claridge Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing