We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Reviews Understandable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amerian Buenos Aires Park Hotel
Ranked #115 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Mixed Reviews Understandable”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Arrived with a tour group of 30 people at 3am. Only one on reception who asked us all to fill in the documentation. He was grumpy but the tour manager managed to get him to agree to let us get to our rooms and do the official stuff in the morning. First room allocated had been used by a smoker it wreaked. Quickly changed by reception but allocated to another of our party who also changed. Stayed three nights only taking breakfasts which were just about ok but the staff once again were grumpy when we asked for things which had run out. Plates,cups,cutlery,bread for toast,milk etc. Not happy bunnies at all. On the positive side this hotel is well located centrally and the hotel porters were good,reasonably sized rooms with all the facilities expected in a hotel of this star rating. Some staff let the hotel down whilst staff like the room maids & porters were great.

Room Tip: Check the room out first before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    318
    148
    33
    13
See reviews for
103
211
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massillon,Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Close to shopping on Florida and Cordoba. Gym is below average. Breakfast average for Argentina. Service and rooms good. Restaurants and convenience stores close. Allowed us to stay in room for a late flight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clsned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed five nights as a couple in a standard double.

Pro's - Ok location. Ok breakfast. Clean. Room size ok.

Con's - Staff spoke virtually no English and was not that helpful with much of anything (directions, means of travel etc.). There is nothing beyond ok about this hotel and in five days there was nothing that the hotel did or provided that made our stay enjoyable.

Stay here if you don't require any services or conversation. I would not recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2dine054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is located in a very strategic place near by Florida st. Which is a good place for shopping .one block from Pacifica mall
The hotel itself is very clean comfortable with ok breakfast ,
Staff is very minded and help full, good value for the money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in the Amerian hotel for five nights, November 12-16, and found it to be surprisingly good for a hotel in an otherwise expensive city. It was in a good, safe location, and had an excellent full free breakfast every morning. We were able to walk to most areas of the city in which we had an interest, or to the nearest metro station. There are several very nice restaurants within a few blocks, and a large indoor mall for shopping just two blocks away. We had originally booked in only 4 nights but extended an additional night at the same low rate for an additional night. The staff were always helpful, and arranged for us a night at the Tango, and when we left, a taxi that we could fully trust. At no time, day or night, did we feel unsafe in the area around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel was described as one of the best in Buenos Aires in a guide book we read - which makes us wonder what the other hotels are like ! That's not to say that everything was bad in this hotel as it did have it's good points, but it's often the small issues that make the difference between a memorable stay and one you'd rather forget and sadly there were just too many small issues for us.

The hotel is situated in a good location near the centre and just a very short walk from the main pedestrianised precinct with it's abundance of shops and restaurants.
Our room was of a good size with a comfortable bed, a safe, a good shower and efficient air conditioning - all the basic requirements for a pleasant stay you would think but, unfortunately, that's as good as it got.

Our bed linen. both the top and bottom sheets were quite badly stained and, whilst I don't doubt they were clean, it was very off-putting.

We found one particular female reception staff to be very helpful indeed but she really needs to give her male companions lessons in being civil. I went to reception late one evening to ask if they had a city map and was totally ignored by two male staff for several minutes despite there being no-one else present that they were dealing with. When eventually one of them did decide to acknowledge me I was told rather abruptly that they had no maps - strange that, as first thing in the morning when the female was working again there was a big pile of them available. It was obviously just too much trouble for them to get me one at the time.

Breakfast was a complete shambles throughout our stay. As a previous reviewer has stated, the tables are so close together it is almost impossible to get between them to the buffet when the restaurant is busy. On more than one morning there were no cereal bowls available - I waited so long for some to appear on one morning that I started looking around for a flower vase !! On another occasion there was no coffee for ages and no tongs for the bread rolls so guests were delving into them with their bare hands which is hardly hygenic. Put simply, there just didn't seem to be enough staff on to cope and those that were working appeared indifferent to all the problems.

As for the bar - they advertised 'Happy Hour' but when we went to have a drink we were told there was no 'Happy Hour' ! On another occasion the bar had no beer and no wine !!! What sort bof a bar is that ? Inexcusable.

As previously stated, this hotel does have it's good points and for a central hotel the price was very reasonable. However, the combination of some ignorant staff, poor bar service and the shambles at breakfast let it down badly.

Verdict - must try harder

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Amerian is located only a block away from Calle Florida, the popular pedestrian street, and the Gallerias Pacifica...and a short walking distance to the Opera House. We had a pleasant room with a modern bath, two double beds and views looking toward the city center. The rooms were complete with TV and there was free wi-fi accessibilty. In the lobby there were three computers available for guests. Breakfast buffet was good and included in the price of the room. I would definitely stay at the Amerian on a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumihills2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Amerian Buenos Aires Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
We appreciate your compliment and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
#51 of 445 in Buenos Aires
888 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Facon Grande
Hotel Facon Grande
#102 of 445 in Buenos Aires
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Lafayette Hotel
Lafayette Hotel
#160 of 445 in Buenos Aires
338 reviews
San Nicolas
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
#47 of 445 in Buenos Aires
690 reviews
Retiro
Dazzler Maipu
Dazzler Maipu
#86 of 445 in Buenos Aires
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amerian Buenos Aires Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amerian Buenos Aires Park Hotel

Property: Amerian Buenos Aires Park Hotel
Address: Calle Reconquista 699, Buenos Aires C1003ABM, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amerian Buenos Aires Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amérian Buenos Aires Park Hotel is a luxurious 4 star superior hotel located in the center of Buenos Aires, 200 meters from Florida Street and 400 meters from Puerto Madero. It has 152 rooms, lounges, a modern gym and sauna, a sophisticated British-style cocktail bar next to the famous Golden restaurant and free WiFi. Its modern rooms are equipped with cable TV, minibar and air conditioning. In addition, the establishment offers room service, a complete breakfast buffet, food suitable for celiacs and parking with charge. Ezeiza International Airport is just 35-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amerian Buenos Aires Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing