We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Place to Change Money”
Review of Calle Florida

Calle Florida
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.49*
and up
Best of Buenos Aires Walking Tour
Ranked #14 of 195 Shopping in Buenos Aires
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Architecture buffs will love the opulent, early 20th-century buildings that line this mile-long pedestrian mall, popular for its gem, leather and fur stores.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
336 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“THE Place to Change Money”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

While I wouldn't recommend coming here to sightsee, unless you love to shop, this is the place to find someone to exchange dollars for local currency at 25% better rate that you can get in an exchange house, ATM, or a bank. I was brought here by an Argentine friend who simply looked for a large man with a satchel standing around. One was spotted within 2 minutes. She asked him if he had money to exchange, and he said yes. We stepped off the sidewalk into the entrance of a building to get a little privacy and then did the exchange. Simple, quick, and convenient. I only speak English, so don't know if I would have tried this on my own. As we left the street, I glanced around and saw two other similar men standing around ready to do business. We went on a Sunday morning, and there was not a crowd.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    1,112
    912
    213
    84
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
224 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
“Run down”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

When you like to be approched with "Cambio, cambio, cambio, dollars, euros" every five metres, like to encounter pick pockets and shop in chain stores, this is the place to be. The only reason to come here are the really nice Galerías Pacífico.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Decadent and not worth the visit”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

It is a shame to see the present state of what has in other times been a key site in Buenos Aires. Unsafe, crowded, dirty, lots,of closed shops and galleries, people peddling you tinformal foreign exchange...it is indeed a sad sight for those of us who knew better times. Harrods building still closed after a decade since it went bust. Phantom site grey and dirty does not do the newish and bright Galerias Pacifico any justice. My recommendation? Head off to Puerto Madero much nicer, take a taxi it is five minutes and worth saving the walk and hassle of crossing the railway and truck speedway.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, California
Level Contributor
1,897 reviews
1,373 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 719 helpful votes
“Change your money here but hold on to belongings in crowds.”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the long stroll and changed dollars here for 12:1, with no problems. Be sure and walk through the Gallerias Pacifico shopping center to see the architecture and eat for cheap in the food court downstairs.
Just remember that on this crowded street tourist can be a target for theft. If you have to wear a day pack wear it on front and be aware of your surroundings at all times. Friends of ours had a wallet removed from their backpack without even knowing it. So go there have fun shop using pesos but be smart and alert.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank seafare74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shopping for tourists”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Simply touristy...have to go there but watch your belongings! Lots of stores and you can get better prices elsewhere as this street caters to tourists.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank metermaid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calle Florida also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Calle Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing