We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping for tourists”
Review of Calle Florida

Calle Florida
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.49*
and up
Best of Buenos Aires Walking Tour
More Info
$49.99*
and up
Buenos Aires Historical Walking Tour
Ranked #14 of 197 Shopping in Buenos Aires
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Architecture buffs will love the opulent, early 20th-century buildings that line this mile-long pedestrian mall, popular for its gem, leather and fur stores.
San Clemente, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shopping for tourists”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Simply touristy...have to go there but watch your belongings! Lots of stores and you can get better prices elsewhere as this street caters to tourists.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank metermaid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    710
    1,125
    917
    215
    84
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“changing money”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

the blue dollar rate online today was 11.90 buying (vendors) and 11.95 selling (vendors). However, I talked to three people and they all started me at 11.0 and would not go above 11.2 so I accepted 11.2. (sidenotes: official rate is 6.82 AR Pesos to USD today; I was in a restaurant yesterday and it openly changed dollars for 10 pesos, and a shop in La Boca today that openly changes for 10.5). The guy on the street led me to a shop inside the big building behind him. The shop was very plain and white and had an older guy in it controlling the money exchanges. There were not two burly men blocking the doorway the second I entered or anything scary like that. In fact, the original man who led me to the room soon disappeared (probably returned to the street to get more customers) and I was left to count and inspect the money by myself with only the older guy in front of me waiting quietly and the door open. I inspected the bills and said goodbye after I was satisfied. I wrote this to tell other travelers what to expect when changing money on Florida Street and not to expect to get the blue dollar rate that is shown online. cheers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ssmarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“walk carefully”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

walk carefully, always with the bag in front, and always attentive to the portfolio, the place is beautiful ............................ ...........

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So many stores!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Calle Florida is a long street with store after store after store. It's a great place to walk around if you want to waste some time, but also a great place to do a lot of shopping! I wouldn't name it a must see, however if you're looking to shop and get great deals then go to Calle Florida!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weslaco, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect shopping area!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

With so many stores to choose from, you will enjoy the great walk of this area. Almost anything you are looking for is available. You also have a great selection of restaurants to choose from. Beware of the individuals who will be trying to exchange your currency. Look for coupons being handed out for great discounts on food at the restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rbbc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calle Florida also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Calle Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing