We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Glad She Made Me Go.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA)

Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA)
Book In Advance
$75*
and up
Guided Small Group Tour: The Art Museums of Buenos Aires
Ranked #7 of 626 things to do in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This not-for-profit art museum and cultural center first opened its doors in 2001 with the mission to promote contemporary Latin American artists.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Glad She Made Me Go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The day we went was the most beautiful day of our entire stay in Buenos Aires and the last place I wanted to be was in a museum. But- WOW-this former palace was extraordinary and gave a picture of what upper class life was like in BA in the early 20th Century. One thing not to be missed is Croque Madame, the museum's cafe. The food was incredible and worth a trip itself.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank plrPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,102
    2,006
    504
    90
    24
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent collection, beautiful building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had the MALBA on our list, but never made it a priority, until we were dying for something to do to escape the 43' heat. An excellent decision, the MALBA is full of well-curated shows, and a fantastic permanent collection. They also provided english translations of the curator's notes which was very nice, and much appreciated (and lacking in other museos in BA).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeCoughlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting Look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A few pieces will really interesting. Most interesting of all was the realization of how derivative New World art can be. The building is lovely.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“LOVED it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The building of the museum is glorious and the collection features the best latin american artists of the 20th century. I fell in love with Antonio Berni here. The cafe is excellent; a little pricey but worth it for the quality of food and wine list as well as the atmosphere and the service which are both excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tothita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“modern museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It pays a photo of its interior and exterior, beautiful construction. The galleries didn't apeal much to me

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA) also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Museum of Latin American Art of Buenos Aires (MALBA)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing