We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A major disappointment”
Review of Cafe Tortoni

Cafe Tortoni
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.00*
and up
Milonga Dance Lesson and Tango History Tour in Buenos Aires
Ranked #60 of 746 things to do in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous cafe, the oldest in Argentina, features reasonably priced tango shows in its velvet-covered back room.
Portage
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A major disappointment”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We heard we shouldn't miss this landmark restaurant. It is pretty for sure. We went two times, assuming our first experience was a fluke, but it was not. We had to wait outside in line, even though, when we got inside, most of the tables were empty. The seated us at a dirty table, both times. They were slow to bring a menu or ask for beverage orders, both times. They "sniffed at" our orders, both times. They were terribly slow bringing our beverages and forever bringing food, neither of which were anything special. And the price is unreasonable high. I fear they are resting on their laurels, as the saying goes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,063
    871
    341
    111
    76
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value and setting”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Despite not wanting to eat at Tortoni, despite the tango show lasting only 55 minutes, and despite it being in the basement rather than the traditionally-seated, mini-theatre room on the ground floor, I loved the show. It only cost 180 pesos for a show which started at10:25 pm. There is no coersion to order food or even a drink - to be brought to your table. I had a large glass of a good, chilled, house white wine for only 30 pesos. A combined twin-set of DVD and CD of the music was sold to me at 80 pesos. Whichever exchange rate you have used, to me, this was all good value for money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Silas C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful old fashioned cafe”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had breakfast in this wonderful Buenos Aires cafe which enabled us to avoid the queues which start around 10.30. Hot chocolate and churros a is highly recommended. The interior is beautiful and takes you back in time.

We really would have liked to see the evening tango show but didn't have time as we only had a few days in BA and they don't take bookings.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mal servicio/bad service”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We were very disappointed when we visited the beautiful café Tortoni. The venue is elegant, but the service is really bad. The waiter - DENNIS - was impolite and rude! He was ignorant, disrespectful and insulted the guests. He didn’t let us – or the other guests – sit where we wanted, he had his own lunch (sitting a few meters away) before serving us and he threw the plates on the table so the food was spilled out.
We suggest that you go and look at the beautiful café Tortoni, but don’t have your coffee or your meal there!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Vivi J-L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to see a tango show”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

If you are looking for a smaller tango show place don't miss café Tortoni. Reasonable price for ticket and the food is really nice too. Really enjoyed the show!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leachim-Alaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Tortoni also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Cafe Tortoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing