We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist stop”
Review of Cafe Tortoni

Cafe Tortoni
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.00*
and up
Milonga Dance Lesson and Tango History Tour in Buenos Aires
Ranked #7 of 176 Nightlife in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous cafe, the oldest in Argentina, features reasonably priced tango shows in its velvet-covered back room.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tourist stop”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Walk in, look around, leave. Get a drink or snack or not. Can't speak to the show, but I've been in Buenos Aires a while, seen a show, and would advise skipping them. Lot's of filler. Stay up late and go to the real places people go to dance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arlo3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,061
    871
    340
    111
    76
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Went here for a Saturday lunch after having done the Avenida de Mayo walking tour. It is a slightly more expensive than usual cafe which seemed to be placing itself partly in the lunchtime tea + cake market. It is a good stopping off point but you may have to wait outside for a table to become vacant.

I had a Steak Sandwich which had been 52 pesos in the menu and when asked by the waiter if I wanted cheese and tomato in it when he came round about 5 minutes after taking our order it had morphed into the 70 peso item on the menu which did it fairness say steak sandwich with cheese and tomato but there was a suggestion that it was optional no charge extra. Can't complain too much.

The chocolate espresso comes recommended by my wife.

There are three rooms at the back, one seems to be how the cafe used to look, one is a tango room (although doesn't seem to be actively used as the Tango was actually downstairs) and one was a small horse museum.

The menu for Tango if you watch it here is the same. In hindsight we wished we had watched the Tango and eaten here at the same time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark11111112123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traditional Cafe”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Traditional Cafe, we visited this place to have a couple of drinks. The Cafe has a very nice ambience, and is very comfortable. The service was fantastic and the staff really seemed to enjoy working there. We went on a monday and the cafe was crowded, not only with tourist, but a few locals too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good historic venue but dont see the tango show”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Saw the 2230 show, dancing was amatuer and it looked like the couple were still in lessons. I thought it was going to be a dancing show but there was more singing than dancing, it was 2 songs sung to one dance throughout the show. Also in terms of the dancing I expected 'passion' and 'intensity' but it was neither. Disappointed, would have preferred to go there for dessert and a coffee.

Lovely historical venue but go see tango elsewhere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LLLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great show and good food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I watched the show that they present downstairs in this small room called bodeguita. For me was a great show! You could see really good and they did a great performance. The food was nice but nothing too special.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Tortoni also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Cafe Tortoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing