We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...Lovely!”
Review of Recoleta

Recoleta
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.00*
and up
Buenos Aires Food Walking Tour in Recoleta
Ranked #3 of 728 things to do in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fashionable, upscale neighborhood is lined with cafes, boutiques and galleries and morphs into a street fair on weekends.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“...Lovely!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The cemetary is creepy, but nice. Beautiful statuets all around. Go to Design Mall for some awkward shopping and the Bullrich Mall for high end shopping...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ccaro54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,022
    6,226
    854
    72
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Veneration of the dead”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Walking around this cemetary is understanding the past and how different nations honor and treat their dead. This is a great cemetary to visit along other "modern" cemetaries in Paris, Washington, DC, Vienna and London. Besides Argentine history you learn about human tragedies and suffering as well as the transience of worldy fortunes. It is a place to contemplate the A and O of our lives.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth hiring our guide!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in the Etoile Hotel in Recoleta and our guide Marcelo Mansilla, met us there at breakfast to begin our walking tour. We had been introduced to Marcello on tripadvisor by another traveller and from our first contact he was wonderful. We had frequent correspondence before our arrival and Marcelo helped us with many other details regarding our stay. On our 7 hour walking tour, Marcelo shared with us his love of Bs As as well as his knowledge. It was not a memorized-blurb-at-each-attraction tour; Marcelo taught us about the city, it's history, politics, economics and social life in pleasant conversation, welcoming our questions and our opinions. He even put together a file for us of restaurants, attractions, shopping, entertainment and traveller's info to plan our other days in Buenos Aires. Recoleta is central to many attractions. I recommend you stay there and hire Marcello; best $160 we spent!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank edmontonjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great monuments”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lots of monuments and parks, which are great to view, but as a tourist, it might not really be what you are looking for. The cemetery is a good stop, but I'm not sure this area is really worth a special trip

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jpmnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“In my opinion - the best area in BA!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Recoleta is a wonderful place to stay while visiting BA. The location is quiet and centrally located. The hotels in this area are great and you are close to great shopping.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinH_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Recoleta also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing