We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to stay in Buenos Aries” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rochester Hotel Classic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rochester Hotel Classic
Ranked #101 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location to stay in Buenos Aries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Centrally located, friendly staff that speak English and with a genuine Can-do attitude. The room was nice n cosy, hot showers n good breakfast. Tours to the city n outside can be booked by the hotel staff. Only downside is you have to pay for WiFi and the air con can be a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Located very close to the shopping square, a few meters from the subway, laundromat, convenience sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    722
    275
    76
    51
See reviews for
418
625
86
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Travelled to Buenos Aires in November and loved my experience.
Great location with plenty of good restaurants and extremely close to many cafes and shops.
Fabulous staff and, most of all, great on-site resources like wi-fi, a superb restaurant and bar.
Very nice rooms, delicious breakfast with a fresh fruits and juices.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I recommend it for a short stay in Buenos Aires.

I prefer hotels with a clean design. And that´s the case here.

The hotel was convenient for me, clean and friendly staff.

Good breakfast.

Rooms are very small. It´s hard to walk sometimes. The bathroom too. It wasn´t a big problem for me but i'm just saying in case of people who need more space.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giofds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spacious bedroom and complete bathroom, hair Dryer, kit of gratuitous bathroom, Minibar
The hotel also counts with bar, restaurant and wifi.
The great good Place "Cafe Tortoni", it is a nice place for a coffee or a small snack, famous for its literary and art.
The location of this hotel is perfect, it's perfectly accesible by underground and bus :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariano m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I travel frequently on business. The staff here was warm and professional, andthey were able to understand us very well. The room was spacious, including a king-size bed, mini-bar and plasma TV. They offer room service, as well as a complete breakfast with a variety of choices. The neighborhood is good, near many cultural and tourist attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viera E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Flying in from the US and overnighting on the plane, I was pretty tired by the time I got to the hotel. I was tersely informed that there would be no checking in before 2:00. The decor in this hotel is very sparse - grey, stark, unadorned. Apparently, I was being offered a seat on a back-less bench in the lobby, right by the door that was constantly opening into the (winter) outdoors for 5 hours, until check in time. I was told I should have reserved a room for the night before I got there, had I wanted to check in before 2:00.

The neighborhood feels safe, but one of the two doors is glass which must be operated by the reception desk staff. It was not until my third day there that my presence at the door was acknowledged with a smile and greeting from the reception staff; the first two days they seemed to be trying to convey the impression it was a favor to me and an imposition to them to open the door for me.

The room was clean but small, and the bed comfortable. As previous reviewers have said, the elevators are very small and cramped.

It's in the microcentro, which is centrally located but not immediately close to much other than commerce-related things - it's about 1 km from Puerto Madero, though.

People used to using washcloths should bring their own; the hotel didn't have any - at least didn't provide any in response to a request. I was also told they had no irons available for guest use.

I was there in late winter. Notwithstanding that, the breakfast offered at the hotel was quite good and varied. Medialunas especially good.

Walking around the neighborhood, and visiting one other hotel, I think very cramped and unadorned is typical of this part of town. It is likely very practical for many, and competitive price wise, but my experience there was sort of a mixed bag.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here. We got upgraded to a suite for no apparent reason and enjoyed a clean and comfortable room, great breakfast, and a convenient location. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#111 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester M
Rochester M
#127 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
San Nicolas
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
Vista Sol Buenos Aires
#155 of 450 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#51 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Retiro
Aspen Suites Hotel
Aspen Suites Hotel
#94 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Boutique Reino Del Plata
Hotel Boutique Reino Del Plata
#105 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochester Hotel Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Hotel Classic

Property: Rochester Hotel Classic
Address: Calle Esmeralda 542, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#68 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#105 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rochester Hotel Classic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rochester Hotel Classic is located between the Obelisk, Buenos Aires' epicenter, and the trendy Puerto Madero. Along the shopping district of Florida, Lavalle and 9 de Julio Street, the hotel presents a stylish decor beautifully combined with modern details. Equipped with a modern gym, lobby with vanguard furniture, business center and bar combination. The rooms have independent climate control, renovated laminate flooring, Led TV with cable, mini-bar and safe. The hotel also offers rooms and apartments with 2 bedrooms for an extended stay, equipped with microwave ovens. The hotel provides high speed Wifi internet and offers breakfast service with artisan bakery and hot dishes. The restaurant enjoys an extensive selection of local and international dishes. The bar offers cocktails drinks and high end drinks. The hotel provides a 24-hour front desk assistance and room service, as well as tour information, transfers and tours around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rochester Hotel Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Classic Buenos Aires
Rochester Classic Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing