We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $303/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mine Hotel Boutique(Buenos Aires)
$153
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Recoleta Plaza(Buenos Aires)
$207
$165
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
$164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$451
$343
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $390/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alvear Palace Hotel(Buenos Aires)
$370
$293
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$549
$535
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,815)
Filter reviews
1,815 results
Traveler rating
571
778
328
82
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
778
328
82
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate bedroomsome tlcflorida streetpedestrian streetstayed for two nightswithin walking distancethe hotel is cleanstandard roomlocation is greatbuenos arieswifiobelisk
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,815 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I was very impressed with all aspects of my one night stay at the Rochester Classic.
A very clean hotel with a brilliant location, central with subway and the city on the doorstep.
Would highly recommend this hotel for individuals, couples and families alike.
My main praise is reserved for the excellent staff, whose assistance ensured a most pleasent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesGray612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel has a great location, close to many interesting points. The breakfast is good, as well the staff. The room i stayed was clean, but was a little bit old, they've changed the decoration, but the air conditioneer didn't work and the mattress was uncomfortable. The elevators are old and small. In the end, was a good choice for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivianeMMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventas, Director Comercial at Rochester Hotel Classic, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Sir,
First of all, we would to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your stay at our hotel. They do help us to improve our service, and they also allow us to customize it to guests’ needs and expectations.
We take this opportunity to inform you that Rochester Classic Hotel has three different room categories featuring different size, in-room facilities and location within the property: standard, superior and triple rooms.
For your next trip to Buenos Aires we recommend you staying at Rochester M: a superior four-star hotel in Buenos Aires that is also part of our hotel chain. We believe Rochester M will perfectly suit your needs and expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for 8 days in May /June.We found the location was so handy to all the hightlights ,restaurants and shows.The Lavalle subte entrance is straight across the road.Travelling by underground was cheap & quick as well.
The front desk staff were very helpful and several spoke excellent english (especially Guston)
An excellent Breakfast was included in the room price.
The maid kept the bathroom clean but forgot to replace the soap a couple of times.
The superior room is sold as having a queen size bed but we are sure it was only a double. We would have liked an extra pillow too.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra to get a superior room
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here for a week and enjoyed the central location (right by pedestrian areas which made coming back at night after the usual late dining hours much more pleasant!). However the rooms are nothing to write home about. A bit small and dingy although spotlessly clean, we asked several times if we could pay to upgrade, and always had the response that this wasn't possible until the next team was working. So we stayed in the small room with no real natural light for the full week... This was ok since we were out all day anyway, but I wouldn't recommend it as a place to stay if you plan on being in your room much!
Also, you can hear everything in the hallways. If you have considerate guests it is fine, but we had a family who left the doors open to all three other rooms and had their kids running around screaming at 2am. Staff were ok, nothing special. It's a decent place and good value if you plan on visiting buenos aires and staying out late since the pedestrian areas are well lit and relatively secure if walking. However be warned: they are in the process of updating the hotel and there is construction work going on, i.e., drilling, banging during the day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shadowtrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Sir,
First of all, we would to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your stay at our hotel. They do help us to improve our service, and they also allow us to customize our service to guests’ needs and expectations.
Rochester Classic Hotel has four different room categories featuring different size, in-room facilities and location within the property. Unfortunately, during your stay, there were no rooms available in order to offer you the requested upgrade.
We hope you choose Rochester Hotels for your next trip to Buenos Aires and we take this opportunity to inform you that our hotel chain also has a superior four-star hotel in Buenos Aires: Rochester M. We believe our Deluxe and Deluxe M room categories, at Rochester M, will suit your needs and expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We bought a package that among other hotels, included the Rochester Classic in Esmeralda and Lavalle streets.
We booked four rooms in total. Rates are quite reasonable.
Very convenient, central location to use as a base for different outings within BuenosAires.
Also close to Darsena Norte-port section, where regular ferries to/from nearby Uruguay dock.
Staff very professional and friendly and the hotel offers an excellent breakfast buffet from 7am to 11am.
Rooms are not large but comfortable, with two full-size beds plus a small mini-bar/refrigerator and everything
in the hotel is very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ogusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews