We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in central Buenos Aires”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rochester Hotel Classic
Ranked #100 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for 8 days in May /June.We found the location was so handy to all the hightlights ,restaurants and shows.The Lavalle subte entrance is straight across the road.Travelling by underground was cheap & quick as well.
The front desk staff were very helpful and several spoke excellent english (especially Guston)
An excellent Breakfast was included in the room price.
The maid kept the bathroom clean but forgot to replace the soap a couple of times.
The superior room is sold as having a queen size bed but we are sure it was only a double. We would have liked an extra pillow too.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra to get a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here for a week and enjoyed the central location (right by pedestrian areas which made coming back at night after the usual late dining hours much more pleasant!). However the rooms are nothing to write home about. A bit small and dingy although spotlessly clean, we asked several times if we could pay to upgrade, and always had the response that this wasn't possible until the next team was working. So we stayed in the small room with no real natural light for the full week... This was ok since we were out all day anyway, but I wouldn't recommend it as a place to stay if you plan on being in your room much!
Also, you can hear everything in the hallways. If you have considerate guests it is fine, but we had a family who left the doors open to all three other rooms and had their kids running around screaming at 2am. Staff were ok, nothing special. It's a decent place and good value if you plan on visiting buenos aires and staying out late since the pedestrian areas are well lit and relatively secure if walking. However be warned: they are in the process of updating the hotel and there is construction work going on, i.e., drilling, banging during the day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shadowtrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Sir,
First of all, we would to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your stay at our hotel. They do help us to improve our service, and they also allow us to customize our service to guests’ needs and expectations.
Rochester Classic Hotel has four different room categories featuring different size, in-room facilities and location within the property. Unfortunately, during your stay, there were no rooms available in order to offer you the requested upgrade.
We hope you choose Rochester Hotels for your next trip to Buenos Aires and we take this opportunity to inform you that our hotel chain also has a superior four-star hotel in Buenos Aires: Rochester M. We believe our Deluxe and Deluxe M room categories, at Rochester M, will suit your needs and expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We bought a package that among other hotels, included the Rochester Classic in Esmeralda and Lavalle streets.
We booked four rooms in total. Rates are quite reasonable.
Very convenient, central location to use as a base for different outings within BuenosAires.
Also close to Darsena Norte-port section, where regular ferries to/from nearby Uruguay dock.
Staff very professional and friendly and the hotel offers an excellent breakfast buffet from 7am to 11am.
Rooms are not large but comfortable, with two full-size beds plus a small mini-bar/refrigerator and everything
in the hotel is very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ogusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent five nights here, and the hotel proved to be perfect for our needs! A true gem in the heart of the city! We began each day with a sumptuous - and filling - breakfast, which set us up for a day of exploring the many sites that the Argentine capital has to offer. The hotel's location is excellent and is within walking distance of the Casa Rosada, the Obelisk, and the shops of Florida Street. All of this was complemented by the dedicated staff, who helped to make our stay in the city so special!

Stayed: February 2012
Thank yellehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We was here for 3 days 2 nights, the front Desk Team was really helpful and really nice, the breakfast was lovely!!! very good to start our day walking, everything is really close. Florida street, corrientes ave. allot restaurants theater. best location ever. Great stay!! thanks !!

Room Tip: Tried to book a extra night if your flight leave late in the afternoon, the check out is at 10am ( w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aniter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I actually booked a room in rochester concept but getting there I was informed that due to a problem on the floor I was supposed to stay, I was going to get a room in Rochester Classic. I was going to get an upgrade for their 4star hotel. The reception/ lobby is spacious and organized, but the elevators are really small (only for 3) and that sometimes is a problem. I was given a room on the first floor and it wasn't pleasent to see and listen to the street noise (although it's not a very noisy street), I asked to change rooms, and on the next day I got one on the fifth floor and it was way better. The staff was really helpful. The rooms are small but for me it's not a problem, they are clean, the air conditioner and the shower both work properly.
Breakfast is better than some hotels in Buenos Aires, there's a buffet and some good options, sometimes there's a chef making omlets, nothing sophisticated but you can definetly eat well.
The internet service is paid and that's is the one thing I can trully say I hated about the hotel. You have to pay $5 for 24h wi-fi.
Location is great considering you want to stay downtown. It's less then one block from pedestrian street lavalle and you can easily find shops and restaurants. There is a subway station across from the hotel and you can easily take a taxi too. If this is the area of the city you want to stay is a good option but don't consider this "4star" thing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bee-rj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst exploring Buenos Aires. It was very modern, clean and we felt very safe! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast selection was lovely! Good location close to shops and restaurants! A great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KColl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#109 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,439 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester M
Rochester M
#132 of 444 in Buenos Aires
622 reviews
San Nicolas
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
#112 of 444 in Buenos Aires
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#124 of 444 in Buenos Aires
930 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Reconquista Garden
Hotel Reconquista Garden
#163 of 444 in Buenos Aires
515 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#46 of 444 in Buenos Aires
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochester Hotel Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Hotel Classic

Address: Calle Esmeralda 542, Buenos Aires C1007ABD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#67 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#104 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $56 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rochester Hotel Classic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rochester Hotel Classic is located between the Obelisk, Buenos Aires' epicenter, and the trendy Puerto Madero. Along the shopping district of Florida, Lavalle and 9 de Julio Street, the hotel presents a stylish decor beautifully combined with modern details. Equipped with a modern gym, lobby with vanguard furniture, business center and bar combination. The rooms have independent climate control, renovated laminate flooring, Led TV with cable, mini-bar and safe. The hotel also offers rooms and apartments with 2 bedrooms for an extended stay, equipped with microwave ovens. The hotel provides high speed Wifi internet and offers breakfast service with artisan bakery and hot dishes. The restaurant enjoys an extensive selection of local and international dishes. The bar offers cocktails drinks and high end drinks. The hotel provides a 24-hour front desk assistance and room service, as well as tour information, transfers and tours around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rochester Hotel Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Classic Buenos Aires
Rochester Classic Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing