We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,840)
Filter reviews
1,840 results
Traveler rating
574
787
334
87
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
574
787
334
87
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate bedroom some tlc pedestrian street excellent breakfast within walking distance the hotel is clean standard room location is great minibar
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 1,840 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here for a week and enjoyed the central location (right by pedestrian areas which made coming back at night after the usual late dining hours much more pleasant!). However the rooms are nothing to write home about. A bit small and dingy although spotlessly clean, we asked several times if we could pay to upgrade, and always had the response that this wasn't possible until the next team was working. So we stayed in the small room with no real natural light for the full week... This was ok since we were out all day anyway, but I wouldn't recommend it as a place to stay if you plan on being in your room much!
Also, you can hear everything in the hallways. If you have considerate guests it is fine, but we had a family who left the doors open to all three other rooms and had their kids running around screaming at 2am. Staff were ok, nothing special. It's a decent place and good value if you plan on visiting buenos aires and staying out late since the pedestrian areas are well lit and relatively secure if walking. However be warned: they are in the process of updating the hotel and there is construction work going on, i.e., drilling, banging during the day.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shadowtrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Sir,
First of all, we would to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your stay at our hotel. They do help us to improve our service, and they also allow us to customize our service to guests’ needs and expectations.
Rochester Classic Hotel has four different room categories featuring different size, in-room facilities and location within the property. Unfortunately, during your stay, there were no rooms available in order to offer you the requested upgrade.
We hope you choose Rochester Hotels for your next trip to Buenos Aires and we take this opportunity to inform you that our hotel chain also has a superior four-star hotel in Buenos Aires: Rochester M. We believe our Deluxe and Deluxe M room categories, at Rochester M, will suit your needs and expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We bought a package that among other hotels, included the Rochester Classic in Esmeralda and Lavalle streets.
We booked four rooms in total. Rates are quite reasonable.
Very convenient, central location to use as a base for different outings within BuenosAires.
Also close to Darsena Norte-port section, where regular ferries to/from nearby Uruguay dock.
Staff very professional and friendly and the hotel offers an excellent breakfast buffet from 7am to 11am.
Rooms are not large but comfortable, with two full-size beds plus a small mini-bar/refrigerator and everything
in the hotel is very clean.

Room tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ogusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent five nights here, and the hotel proved to be perfect for our needs! A true gem in the heart of the city! We began each day with a sumptuous - and filling - breakfast, which set us up for a day of exploring the many sites that the Argentine capital has to offer. The hotel's location is excellent and is within walking distance of the Casa Rosada, the Obelisk, and the shops of Florida Street. All of this was complemented by the dedicated staff, who helped to make our stay in the city so special!

Date of stay: February 2012
Thank yellehs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We was here for 3 days 2 nights, the front Desk Team was really helpful and really nice, the breakfast was lovely!!! very good to start our day walking, everything is really close. Florida street, corrientes ave. allot restaurants theater. best location ever. Great stay!! thanks !!

Room tip: Tried to book a extra night if your flight leave late in the afternoon, the check out is at 10am ( way to early, I want to paid for late check out, but hotel was full, anyway they let me stay with out extra charge 2 more hours and you are able to leave your luggage until your departure time.
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aniter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I actually booked a room in rochester concept but getting there I was informed that due to a problem on the floor I was supposed to stay, I was going to get a room in Rochester Classic. I was going to get an upgrade for their 4star hotel. The reception/ lobby is spacious and organized, but the elevators are really small (only for 3) and that sometimes is a problem. I was given a room on the first floor and it wasn't pleasent to see and listen to the street noise (although it's not a very noisy street), I asked to change rooms, and on the next day I got one on the fifth floor and it was way better. The staff was really helpful. The rooms are small but for me it's not a problem, they are clean, the air conditioner and the shower both work properly.
Breakfast is better than some hotels in Buenos Aires, there's a buffet and some good options, sometimes there's a chef making omlets, nothing sophisticated but you can definetly eat well.
The internet service is paid and that's is the one thing I can trully say I hated about the hotel. You have to pay $5 for 24h wi-fi.
Location is great considering you want to stay downtown. It's less then one block from pedestrian street lavalle and you can easily find shops and restaurants. There is a subway station across from the hotel and you can easily take a taxi too. If this is the area of the city you want to stay is a good option but don't consider this "4star" thing.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bee-rj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews