We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rochester Hotel Classic
Ranked #100 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We was here for 3 days 2 nights, the front Desk Team was really helpful and really nice, the breakfast was lovely!!! very good to start our day walking, everything is really close. Florida street, corrientes ave. allot restaurants theater. best location ever. Great stay!! thanks !!

Room Tip: Tried to book a extra night if your flight leave late in the afternoon, the check out is at 10am ( w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aniter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

I actually booked a room in rochester concept but getting there I was informed that due to a problem on the floor I was supposed to stay, I was going to get a room in Rochester Classic. I was going to get an upgrade for their 4star hotel. The reception/ lobby is spacious and organized, but the elevators are really small (only for 3) and that sometimes is a problem. I was given a room on the first floor and it wasn't pleasent to see and listen to the street noise (although it's not a very noisy street), I asked to change rooms, and on the next day I got one on the fifth floor and it was way better. The staff was really helpful. The rooms are small but for me it's not a problem, they are clean, the air conditioner and the shower both work properly.
Breakfast is better than some hotels in Buenos Aires, there's a buffet and some good options, sometimes there's a chef making omlets, nothing sophisticated but you can definetly eat well.
The internet service is paid and that's is the one thing I can trully say I hated about the hotel. You have to pay $5 for 24h wi-fi.
Location is great considering you want to stay downtown. It's less then one block from pedestrian street lavalle and you can easily find shops and restaurants. There is a subway station across from the hotel and you can easily take a taxi too. If this is the area of the city you want to stay is a good option but don't consider this "4star" thing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bee-rj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst exploring Buenos Aires. It was very modern, clean and we felt very safe! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast selection was lovely! Good location close to shops and restaurants! A great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KColl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Hotel is located very near to corrientes street, which great. Lobby and diner room are ok, but the rooms are very old, not mantained. although we took the standard level (not cheap, 380 USD per night, a robbery if you ask me for what we got, but we didn't had another option, since all others were booked), no air condition, closet were broken, and bath was very small.
Ive complained about the situation, but they didn't had other better options. My friend was upgraded to a "better" room, but still, looked that the place needed some painting and closet fixes.

On the other hand, the food was ok (breakfast), and it was a quite envrionment.
The people were still very polite, and willing to help.although not always were able to.
Not recommended, until they do some mantainance to the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventas, Director Comercial at Rochester Hotel Classic, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Rochester Classis has five different room categories, ranging from standard to suite rooms. All of them are fully remodeled and they vary in size, in-room facilities, location within the building and furniture. All our rooms feature air conditioning and heating systems.
Our maintenance department staff is available every day from 7 am to 9 pm. During said operating hours, our maintenance members are available to solve any inconvenience our guests may have while at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This is my third trip to Buenos Aires with my wife. Surely Rochester Classic Hotel is the best I've stayed until now ( between 15 and 25 of May,2011). Inspite I always choose a very resonable 3 stars hotel, I can say this hotel was the best in terms of accomodation, a quite complete breakfast, reception very kind and helpful and speaking english, but the best deal was the price I've got trough hotels.com , U$ 89,00, including a regular lunch . The hotel atmosphere is very nice comparing with others more expensive. The location couldn't be better in terms of downtown .The only complaints would be about and old style bathroom, check-out very early:10:00a.m., wi-fi and internet charged.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank viajante60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The hotel is centrally located, and a great starting place for exploring the city. The lobby is lovely and the breakfast is fantastic (delicious pastries, breads, juices, as well as hot items such as eggs) - a great way to start your day. However, only SOME of the rooms are renovated like they appear on the website. We did not receive one of these renovated rooms, which was disappointing. Also note: the area is a bit seedy at night, so try and take a cab if going out late.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank NYCTravelGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I really liked the hotel, but if you are expecting the service of a 4 stars, be prepared. The staff is great, and the lobby is refurbished. The breakfast is great. But the bathrooms are the trouble. Extremely small and a little old. But it was a fine stay. Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiviaMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Rochester Hotel Concept
Rochester Hotel Concept
#109 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,439 reviews
San Nicolas
Rochester M
Rochester M
#132 of 444 in Buenos Aires
622 reviews
San Nicolas
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
Bristol Hotel Buenos Aires
#112 of 444 in Buenos Aires
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
Two Hotel Buenos Aires
#124 of 444 in Buenos Aires
930 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Reconquista Garden
Hotel Reconquista Garden
#163 of 444 in Buenos Aires
515 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#46 of 444 in Buenos Aires
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochester Hotel Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Hotel Classic

Address: Calle Esmeralda 542, Buenos Aires C1007ABD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#67 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#104 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $56 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rochester Hotel Classic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rochester Hotel Classic is located between the Obelisk, Buenos Aires' epicenter, and the trendy Puerto Madero. Along the shopping district of Florida, Lavalle and 9 de Julio Street, the hotel presents a stylish decor beautifully combined with modern details. Equipped with a modern gym, lobby with vanguard furniture, business center and bar combination. The rooms have independent climate control, renovated laminate flooring, Led TV with cable, mini-bar and safe. The hotel also offers rooms and apartments with 2 bedrooms for an extended stay, equipped with microwave ovens. The hotel provides high speed Wifi internet and offers breakfast service with artisan bakery and hot dishes. The restaurant enjoys an extensive selection of local and international dishes. The bar offers cocktails drinks and high end drinks. The hotel provides a 24-hour front desk assistance and room service, as well as tour information, transfers and tours around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rochester Hotel Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Classic Buenos Aires
Rochester Classic Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing