We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”
Review of Abasto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abasto Hotel
Ranked #220 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
São Paulo
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed April 24, 2008

The location is awfull, even though you are right across the Abasto Plaza Mall. You cannot walk around safely after 6 pm. Service was really poor and the hotel staff was anything but helpfull or friendly. The rooms are old and dirty. Breakfast was also very bad with unfriendly staff as well. I definetly do not recomend this hotel! Very disapointing experience.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank saopaulo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    147
    84
    29
    16
See reviews for
95
99
20
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We stayed here the last two days of our 5 week honeymoon. We had travelled across Sth Amercia staying in hotels ranging from 1 to 5 stars and our stay at the Abasto was by far the worst experience. Definately not 5 stars!!!

The staff were not helpful and completely uninterested in providing any assistance. The food served was dreadful quality and not made fresh. The facilities such as the gym and the pool are very basic.

There are much cheaper and better quality hotels available throughout Buenos Aires.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — The attitude of the staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tilbalakehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

sao paulo, sp, brasil
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

This hotel is right across the road from the Abasto Shopping. The room is big, clean, with great view. The staffs are not so helpful. We had to carry our own luggages while check-out because there were many groups of tourist.

  • Liked — the view.
  • Disliked — service.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fe79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

We stayed at the Abasto with our 4 months old daughter and found the stay completely at our satisfaction. The staff was very polite and helpfull and we had no problem taking our daughter with us to the restaurant for dining. The tango show was OK, but being born in BsAs myself I tend to dislike tourist-tango anyhow. The food at the restaurant was OK, but nothing special. I'd recommend the hotel to anyone really, but be aware that the location is not the best (ie. non-centrical).

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Thormodsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2007

I chose Abasto for the tango experience. Check in was a breeze, quite easy. I was really worried after my experience at Cambremon Hotel but it was totally unnecessary.

IMO the atmoshere was less casual than advertised, but everything else on the website appeared to be accurate. The staff was extremely professional, very helpful and friendlly. They also spoke English well. The rate I got online was reasonable and I was quite satisfied with my room which was quite clean and spacious. The complimentary breakfast was good with enough variety. There is free internet also for those interested.

There is a shopping mall almost in front of the hotel...less than a block away. Other shops are also in the area. The prices are reasonable as it is out of the more touristy section. The hotel is also ideally located if you want to see the Gardel tango show.

I had absolutely no problem with my stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Liked — It was spacious and clean
  • Disliked — Not near to the main tourist area, however cheap cabs abound!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

I travel to South America frequently and my Brazilian travel agent recommended the Abasto Plaza because it offers good value for money. I paid about US$750 for six days of a double with breakfast. The building was formerly a Holiday Inn and it has that kind of feel. The staff was friendly and spoke adequate English. Free internet available. The neighborhood is not interesting (safe though) but taxis are plentiful and cheap. Good choice if you don't have to be in a better location. Gym, however, was very poor--not nearly what is pictured on the website.

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — gym
  • Tips/Secrets — don't worry about the, slightly, out of the way location
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sftravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 30, 2004

The Abasto Plaza Hotel in Buenos Aires id a few miles from the main attractions of the city. It is within a few blocks of a very large shopping center and grocery store. It is also a few blocks from the underground subway. The neighborhood is full of apartment buidings and shops and a bit run down-- but the people were fine and I never felt in danger.

The average tourist in Buenos Aires would not want to stay this far out of downtown. There are no real tourist attractions within walking distance. We stayed there because all the other five star hotels were either sold out-- or to expensive.

We stayed in a room on one of the upper floors. Because of the shape of the hotel there were only four rooms on our floor. There was two doors dividing us from the elevator and hall, so things were very quiet. We were so high up that there was limited traffic noise. The room had a door that went out to a deck but there were no chairs, just a great view of the somewhat ugly lower middle class neighborhood. There was no trees to be seen for 10 miles!

The room was average size and typical in quality to a Holiday Inn. Hardly a 5 star hotel, maybe a 2 1/2 star by American standards.

There was a nice buffet for breakfast and three computers with free internet use in a business center.

We got a rate of about $90 USD per night, which was much less than a similar hotel closer to downtown. My rating ---- maybe a "6" on a 1-10 scale.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Bauen Suite Hotel
#224 of 447 in Buenos Aires
217 reviews
Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
#238 of 447 in Buenos Aires
211 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Reconquista Garden
Hotel Reconquista Garden
#169 of 447 in Buenos Aires
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Awwa Suites & Spa
Awwa Suites & Spa
#76 of 447 in Buenos Aires
618 reviews
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#139 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,257 reviews
Retiro
Cyan Hotel de las Americas
Cyan Hotel de las Americas
#243 of 447 in Buenos Aires
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abasto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abasto Hotel

Property: Abasto Hotel
Address: Avenida Corrientes 3190, Buenos Aires C1193AAQ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abasto Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abasto Hotel is located on Corrientes Avenue, opposite Abasto Shopping Mall, only a few steps from Carlos Gardel metro station (B line). It features light spacious rooms, equipped with air-conditioning, 32” TV, telephone, desk, safe and iron. The bathroom has a hairdryer and standard rooms have either a bathtub or walk-in shower subject to availability. All executive rooms have a whirlpool bathtub, bathrobes, slippers and minibar. Our buffet breakfast includes coffee, milk, croissants, toast, jam, orange juice, grapefruit juice, pastries, fruit, scrambled eggs, yoghurt and cereal. ​ You can enjoy our ​inexpensive Business Menu every day for lunch or dinner at Volver Restaurant for a fixed price. Other services include our seasonal outdoor swimming-pool (from December to March), tango lessons free of charge for guests every day at 7pm, and free wi-fi. Parking has an extra charge and is subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abasto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abasto Plaza Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing