We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a Holiday Inn Express” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero
Ranked #84 of 450 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's a Holiday Inn Express”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Four stars east. If you're staying here, you have to remember this is a Holiday Inn Express and adjust your expectations accordingly. I stayed here for 63 nights so far in 2012, so I think I've experienced about everything.

The Good:
The service is outstanding. Augustine in the mornings has always been helpful, her English is good, she always has a smile (not always the case with Argentine women, especially at 7 AM), and can handle any arrangements you need. Maria and Guillermina are also great and were able to arrange tours, tickets, and give good general advice.
The rooms are standard for a Holiday Inn Express. The larger rooms have a fridge and a microwave - well worth getting if you're staying awhile. Smaller rooms have just the bed, desk, and TV and get claustraphobic if you are staying for a long time - but again, if you're in Buenos Aires, why are you in your room again?
The location is outstanding. If you walk east, you are 2 blocks from the port section of Puerto Madero with 2 miles of restaurants on each side of the canal. If you walk West, you are 3 blocks from the Mall and the end of Calle Florida which is a long tourist walking area. If you walk South, you are 3-4 blocks from the Pink House and 25 de Mayo plaza which is well worth seeing on the weekends.
The restaurant that delivers - flyer should be in the book - bills directly to your room. Food is good quality - nothing to rave about, but good. Never had a problem with quality.

The Average:
Breakfast spread is wonderful if you're European and lacking if you're american. There are No Cinnamon Rolls. (maybe that belongs in the bad). However, there is a plethora of fresh fruit and breads along with juice and coffee. So you won't starve. The only meat is the mini hot dogs which are fine for a couple of days, but get old with no variety over time. No tobasco sauce or other flavorings to help kick up the heat of the food.

The Bad:
Internet is available, but slower than I'm used to. Slower than other hotels in BA. I had much trouble skyping and downloading files for work. Several people went to cafes and paid to get internet.

All in all, if I were travelling for fun on a budget, it's a great place to stay - as long as you're expecting a holiday inn express and not a 5 star experience. If you're an english only speaker, the staff can help smooth your way and set you up with some really great experiences.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the river. Sun comes up and shines into your room, but the other side looks at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJaggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javier v, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Will keep on working.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    275
    102
    7
    10
See reviews for
79
126
47
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

There are certin reasons why I can only give this hotel 3 stars. I will start with the bad first, rooms I found basic, no bar or resturant although there is breakfast serving area.

But the good thing is that this hotel is in a great location 5 mins walk fom the port where there are plenty of bars and resturants.

Service in this hotel is also good as I arrived early at 10 am and they got me a room ready in 5 mins :)

I would stay here again if I had to but in wouldn't be my first choice but it is reasonably priced if you are on a budget!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesh1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnaeropuerto, Director Comercial at Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your comment. I think that you are not informed that the Holiday Inn Express hotels (Worlwide) do not have Restaurante on site. We do offre Free Breakfast, Free 100% wifi, Free local call (not celulars). Our hotel is 2 blocks from Puerto Madero, place with more than 20 Resataurants. Thank you again for your time. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA, USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

What I like about this place is that it is just a 2 minute walk away from Galeria Pacifico on Cordoba Street. Cordoba Street is the Heart of Central Buenos Aires. My favorite Restaurant La Estancia on Llavage Street is just a 6 minute walk from the hotel.

In the other direction, about 5 minutes walk away is the wonderful restaurant area of Puerto Madero.

The rooms at this hotel are very nice with all modern amenities, and it is also reasonable priced. I normally stay at Intercontinentals and Holiday Inns while traveling overseas, and this hotel maintains the very high standards of the Intercontinental Hotels chain.

This is where I'll stay during my next stay in Buenos Aires!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnaeropuerto, Director Comercial at Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank You so much for your time and your comment. Our objetive is to give the best service and excelent rooms. Hope to see you back soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. The room was a decent size also and a really great breakfast buffet. Had a problem and needeed a converter which they came up with quickly.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javier v, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I had problems with Visa for travel into Brazil...The hotel Staff was exceptional with help in this matter. special thanks to Julia and Augustina

Room Tip: centralize your location for travel within city. Safety and convience are more important than cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
javier v, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New city, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Just checked inThis hotel booked by my travel agent. How can you not have at least one ENGLISH SPEAKING TV STAION? The whole world has at least CNN. Beside this no swimming pool and a brick wall 10 feet away but I am paying $125 for a view. Never again Holiday Inn. What a disappointment for my 70th birthday.
Linda burger

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank furface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We arrived in Buenos Aires a day early and our hotel (Hotel Fierro) was booked so we couldn't check in a day early. Opted for a one-night stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It was fine. Exactly like all the others. Simple room, simple place, good bed, inexpensive.

Although it's in a dirty area that smells like the core of a city. We expected Buenos Aires to be the "Paris of the South" and it looked more like the "Topeka of the North." This is because the Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero is located downtown. The developed Puerto Madero area at the waterfront is really pretty (there's a Hilton there that looked nice), and it has some great restaurants. It is, however, a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Still, it seemed safe to walk to-and-from at night. It's also not a horrible walk to get to the Casa Rosada. When we moved hotels and stayed at the Fierro Hotel we liked it a lot more (see my review there). If we're ever back in BsAs, I doubt we'd stay here again. It's a fine hotel, especially if you're on business. But there are more picturesque neighborhoods to stay in, which enhance an experience in Buenos Aires, for the same price. So why not stay in one of those?

One thing I didn't like at this hotel is that the breakfast closes down too early. I was constantly amazed at how little people must sleep in BsAs. Restaurants don't even open until 8 or 9 PM and then, somehow, one is supposed to manage waking up at the crack of dawn in order to eat breakfast. My advice to the management is to keep breakfast going until 12 noon. Especially on Saturday and Sunday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Writer/Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
#42 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Retiro
NH Collection Buenos Aires Lancaster
San Nicolas
NH Collection Buenos Aires Jousten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Buenos Aires Florida
NH Buenos Aires Florida
#83 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Retiro
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Street
Howard Johnson Plaza Florida Str...
#107 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
#41 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero

Property: Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero
Address: Avenida Leandro N Alem 770 | Puerto Madero, Buenos Aires C1001AAP, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#71 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for a hotel in Buenos Aires, Argentina, stay at the Holiday Inn Express Buenos Aires - Puerto Madero. The hotel is located in the heart of Buenos Aires only 2 blocks from the most lively entertaining, dining and nightlife area of the City: Puerto Madero Shopping & Commercial Area.The former port of Buenos Aires (early 1930) has been reconverted into a beautiful 2 mile long area with more than 60 different restaurants and important international offices, thus becoming the most modern business and commercial area of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Puerto Madero Hotel Buenos Aires
Holiday Inn Buenos Aires
Holiday Inn Puerto Madero
Buenos Aires Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing