We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Souless, aging hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Royal Buenos Aires
Ranked #114 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I'd always wanted to stay in a hotel suit, but was dissapointed when I realised my dream here. The suits are clean, but the decor is 20 years out of date. This hotel really needs a refit. The bed was too firm and felt as though it was a cheep matress. There was not wifi and the only TV was a CR TV (remember those) in the bedroom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveOldhamCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 566 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here in Jan 2013 for 4 nights. The rooms are old but very spacious. The great thing was the location - very close to the metro, Florida St and 9th de Julio Street (widest street in the world). There is a kitchen but we had no cooking utensils so had only cold food, which was fine for us. Breakfast is included and quite a bit to choose from. I found the staff super friendly and almost all at the front desk spoke English very well. I would definitely stay here again for the location and the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenefacTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here one night in between flights. It's located downtown and is central enough. Theres not too much to praise or complain about. I had a good nights sleep, the check in was swift, breakfast was plentiful by Argentinian standards, with a hot buffet, cereals and yoghurts, and a toast/brioche station. The rooms are quite dated but they work. For $65usd all in - I cant complain.
If you're looking for something functional in the city and dont want to spend a fortune - this place works. If you're after something oozing charm and character..maybe Palermo is where you should be looking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPSMS, General Manager at Park Royal Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Mr./ Mrs. Staychris,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us. Thanks for highlighting our convenient location and the good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza San Martin Suites should your next journey bring you back to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Plaza San Martín Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I enjoyed y stay at Plaza San Martin Suites. The staff are great and incredibly helpful, also the fruit salad at the breakfast was well worth getting up every morning. I would stay there again. The rooms were nice and the location great!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank Gregorsnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPSMS, General Manager at Park Royal Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Mr. Gregorsnell,

Thank you very much for your review, especially for highlighting our convenient location, the quality of our apartments and the variety on our breakfast menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza San Martin Suites should your next journey bring you back to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Plaza San Martín Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is old, run down, old carpet and the beds are old. Any advice we asked at the front desk , they would always recommend something expensive. Starting for the transfer service, travel agency, and restaurant. We were a big group of 30 people and we have gotten a better deal right in front of the hotel or maybe if we would have walk a block a way. I should have looked more.

Breakfast is really really good. Scramble eggs, bread, toaster, cheese, ham, yogurt, cereal, orange juice and coffee.

Wifi it is available in every room.

Also if you decide to stay an extra night, that's when they will charge you a much higher rate. If you can find a better deal, go for it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabs242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPSMS, Manager at Park Royal Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Mrs. Gabs242,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, your detailed comments encourage us to improve the quality of our services.

We are very grateful to read your appreciations regarding our Front Desk advices, because we can then identify our weaknesses and work hard on them. Regarding the increase of the price for an extra night: The reason why it would be more expensive than the nights you had already spent in our hotel, is because those nights have been negotiated with your travel agency and fully paid in advance. If you extend your stay, the rates could be higher at the moment (but not necessarily). It depends on our revenue management, adjusted to each season.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza San Martin Suites should your next journey bring you back to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Plaza San Martín Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed a comfortable seven night stay in this well located little apartment hotel. It is located one block from 9 July Avenue and two blocks from Plaza San Martin where Florida Street, the main shopping mall begins. Suipacha, the street on which it is located is a pedestrian and service vehicle only precinct starting from the adjacent Santa Fe Avenue, so it is quiet. It was a great location for an after dinner walk. Hotel access is controlled by staff, so it is secure. The foyer was modern, spruce and spartan, while our rooms were a little dark, dated, serviceable and adequately clean. Our space included a large bedroom with a CRT TV (some English channels); bathroom with bath/shower, toilet and bidet; lounge-dining-kitchenette room with sofa-bed, two arm chairs, no TV, dining table with four chairs; kitchenette with a sink, bar-fridge, microwave, two burner gas hob, pots, pan, crockery/cutlery for two but no microwave dishes. All rooms are connected by a dressing hall with robes, sink and mirrors. A lock for the safe is installed by request at no charge, but it costs US$150 if you lose the key (tie it onto something!!). The in-room WiFi signal was good and worked well. The included hot and cold buffet breakfast on the first floor is not fancy, but perfectly adequate for most people. The staff are bi-lingual, hospitable, helpful and engaging if you wish. It was summer and the a/c just coped during the day. There are several small convenience stores (Disco suited us best) nearby where one can buy foodstuffs and passable wines for around US$10 and the nice local Quilmes beer for a pittance. The area seemed safe enough that we walked around even late at night and encountered no problems. The main danger was in the poor state of the pavements.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieBurnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPSMS, General Manager at Park Royal Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Mrs./Mr. AussieBurnie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, and for highlighting our location and security. Your kind and detailed comments are very encouraging for us. We are very grateful to read your suggestions because we can then identify our weaknesses and work hard on them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza San Martin Suites should your next journey bring you back to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Plaza San Martín Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

San Martin Suites is around the back of Avenida Florida, just off 9 Julio, so it is very centrally located, however it is very quite. The front desk staff are very friendly and supportive - for anyone who needs a visa to visit Brazil, the Embassy is a couple of blocks away! The rooms are clean and friendly and there are cooking facilities too. Good place for staying in BA.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank immaterialman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaPSMS, General Manager at Park Royal Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Mr. ImmaterialMan,

Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor, and for highlighting our location and the friendliness of our Staff. Your kind comments are very encouraging for us, to continue providing a great service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza San Martin Suites should your next journey bring you back to Buenos Aires.

Sincerely,

Hotel Manager
Plaza San Martín Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Hotel Dolmen
Hotel Dolmen
#106 of 442 in Buenos Aires
633 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#54 of 442 in Buenos Aires
568 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#5 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Piedras Suites
Piedras Suites
#227 of 442 in Buenos Aires
244 reviews
San Nicolas
Icaro Suites
Icaro Suites
#42 of 442 in Buenos Aires
834 reviews
Retiro
El Conquistador Hotel
El Conquistador Hotel
#146 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Buenos Aires

Address: Suipacha 1092, Buenos Aires 1008AAV, Argentina (Formerly Plaza San Martin Suites)
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $49 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Royal Buenos Aires 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privileged central location of Park Royal Buenos Aires invites you to discover the City’s historical monuments, its cafes, museums & stone pavements in atmosphere filled with history and art. The 56 rooms of the hotel feature an elegant and modern decoration. All the rooms are equipped with kitchenette, dinnerware set, microwave oven, coffee maker, cable TV, telephone, hair dryer & safety box. They also feature a living area, central air conditioning & Blackout curtains for a peaceful rest. Delight yourself in the mornings with the continental breakfasts included in your reservation. Buenos Aires is one of the most cosmopolitan cities of Latin America due to its European style. Live it with Park Royal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Royal Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza San Martin Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing