We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #244 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Very good, close to florida, subte and shop, nice staff, room with split & minibar. Everything´s ok!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PauloRJBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    157
    126
    38
    20
See reviews for
110
117
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2008

Thought it was a great place. Central, good "American" breakfast, unlimited really.

Rooms fine, very adequate, excellently cleaned. Some staff speak English, and the English speakers at the front desk could not have been more helpful or friendly. Close to Florida, subte, and shops. Even non-English speakers did their best (I speak no Spanish).

No chance of being ripped off, prices are publicly posted.

  • Liked — helpful front desk
  • Disliked — traffic noise but I sleep with open windows
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chitake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janneiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Second time coming to the hotel and what a deterioration...we first booked a room at 3rd floor, we found it filthy and spot on the carpet we therefore asked for an upgrade to the suite and guess what..the same thing with the AC not working as a premium..we called our agent and we could not change another hotel in the area due to some kind of convention in the city...the service is archaic, with very few personnel, the room were hot (January 2008), the TV had a broken taped remote, the carpet was filthy ....great surprise since we came last time in 2004 and we had a totally different experience...and finally to top it off..they could not get their credit card machine to work and I had to go to a bank nearby to give them Cash!!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank asba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2004

Spent 2 nigths at this hotel 12/14-12/16. Excellent service, all the employees very nice and helpfull, everything thing is a very short distance, Florida street a block and half away. shop till drop!!!

Rooms a very good price, well kept clean, a very nice an cool a/c.

I will stay at this hotel in the future.

Helpful?
10 Thank 1timetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 31, 2004

Me and a friend went to Argentina in march 2004 and stayed at this hotel. The hotel itself is small, but very well kept. The rooms are small as well, but very nice and clean. The staff was very helpful and accommodated our needs. Maid cleaned our rooms every day and never disturbed us when the "do not disturb" sign was on the door. When we requested extra towels or needed something, we would have it at our door in 10-15 minutes. The staff spoke english and was helpful in recomending restaurants, shows and night life. Breakfast did not have much selection, but was good. The room had good air conditionig as well. The good thing about this hotel is that its right in the center of Florida. Hotel is located about one or two block off the main street (Florida - which has many shops, restaurants, mall, etc....), so while your inside the hotel you can get piece and quiet and when you come out, your in the middle of everything. I would stay in this hotel again - and the price is good.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2004

Stayed here night before flying back to US. Nice place for small amount I paid! Nice employees, OK breakfast, within walking distance to many places. I even walked to the near Manuel Leon airport shuttle place. Feel free to email me with questions about Buenos Aires travel.


Helpful?
8 Thank funnychap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Hotel Sheltown
Hotel Sheltown
#276 of 446 in Buenos Aires
309 reviews
Retiro
Bisonte Palace
Bisonte Palace
#149 of 446 in Buenos Aires
585 reviews
Retiro
Loi Suites Esmeralda
Loi Suites Esmeralda
#214 of 446 in Buenos Aires
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Loi Suites Arenales Hotel
Loi Suites Arenales Hotel
#173 of 446 in Buenos Aires
303 reviews
Retiro
Dora Hotel
Dora Hotel
#188 of 446 in Buenos Aires
276 reviews
Retiro
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
NH Buenos Aires Crillon
#72 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Gran Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Marcelo T de Alvear 767 | area of San Martin Square, Buenos Aires C1058AAI, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Buenos Aires 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the exclusive area of San Martín Square you will find GRAN HOTELBUENOS AIRES, recently associated with the worldwide-recognized HUSAHOTELES chain.Surrounded by stunning buildings product of a European inheritance in whichdifferent architectonic styles – Neo-Gothic, French and Italian with itsmagnificent domes and ornamentation converge with crystal-made buildings onwhich the green trees of San Martín Square reflect.San Martín Square, probably one of the most beautiful squares of BuenosAires, is at the junction with Florida Pedestrian Street and Santa Fe Avenue,with elegant stores and the most important airline company locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing