We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1555 Malabia House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Five Cool Rooms(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Didi Soho Hotel(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Soho Hotel(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palermo Soho Loft(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ultra Hotel(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lynns Hotel Boutique(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Nuss Buenos Aires(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Legado Mitico(Buenos Aires)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveler rating
362
168
32
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
168
32
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestshome away from homeprivate bathroompalermo sohoboutique hotelthe ground floorlocation is greattrip to buenos airesrestaurants and barsdulce de lecheneighborhoodargentinacorridortaxistango
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 589 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We booked based on a friend's recommendation, who had stayed in 2003 at a much better rate, hence only 4 stars for value. Our friend paid USD$90 per night, we booked at USD$170 but paid USD$140 with the 15% cash payment discount. The price seemed high for a room with a detached bathroom. That being said, the hotel is indeed charming and the service is fabulous. All staff are very friendly and genuinely helpful. The location is pleasant and in Palermo Soho. Close to nice restaurants and shopping and a relatively quiet neighborhood within BsAs. The subway lines in BsAs are actually inconvenient. This hotel is about 9 blocks from the nearest stop. We think it's a great place for the first visit to BsAs as it is very clean, pleasant and has very helpful staff. We'd likely stay again on our next visit and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joopiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Nice boutique hotel, with excellent location near very good restaurants and fashion distrct to shopping. Very nice and helpful staff. Well decorated rooms, nice breakfast all-day around, impecable cleanliness. One less pleasant remark: defficient noise isolation and small bathrooms.
I highly recommend it .
Good price-quality relation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

I found the staff always willing to help which was an extra help when travelling alone. They seemed to go "the extra mile" and so would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manchester90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

I came to Buenos Aires for a 3 day business trip and booked 1555 Malabia House after reading the favourable reviews on this site. However, upon arrival we were ushered into an ante room for 25 minutes before then being told that they had double booked our room. We would have to change rooms for the second night and then change hotels altogether for the third night. I find this totally unacceptable, this is not a cheap hotel. Furthermore the member of staff was offhandish about the whole affair and far from apologetic. I am especially surprised as other reviews praised the attitude of the staff. Perhaps she was having a bad day.

So we stayed here for the first night only. The room was ordinary and noisy as it was next to reception. The bathroom was tiny. The best I can say is the hotel was clean.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DR0765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Well situated in the trendy Palermo district, the hotel is a converted convent which, as the hotel’s own literature states retains many of its original features. Indeed, one does feel more as if one is staying as a house guest rather than in a hotel, an impression furthered by the staff quickly referring to one by one’s first name. The extremely friendly and helpful staff are the big plus point of the hotel. Rooms contain all the usual things (flat screen TV, minibar etc.) as well as all those ‘original features’. House-keeping could benefit from some further attention: shampoo and shower gel bottles were on one day replaced with half-full bottles (passed on from other rooms?) and the next day the by then empty bottles were simply tided up and not replaced at all – fortunately, I had my own supplies but that is not the point. There are two nicely appointed sitting rooms next to the lobby. Breakfast is round a communal eight-seater table which is conducive to conversation. There is a range of books at the guests’ disposition, including a good collection of travel guides kept at reception. Overall, I would describe the hotel as homely and comfortable rather than luxurious or chic. My own perception is that it is perhaps more suited to younger travellers (under 50s) but given that it is in a hip part of town this is perhaps normal.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews