We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its Finest”
Review of 1555 Malabia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
1555 Malabia House
Ranked #132 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality at its Finest”
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I just returned from a 6-night vacation to Buenos Aires, and made it a point to review this hotel upon my return. Malabia House is located in the wonderfully trendy and eclectic Palermo Viejo - a neighborhood filled with both charm and character. The hotel itself is located in a prime location, with many great restaurants, retail shops, and lounges/bars all within walking distance.

The Hotel itself was a perfect place to call "home" during my trip. I stayed in the room with the balcony, which had a lovely view of Malabia Road. It was nice to have the option to step out of my room to relax and catch up on some reading or have a cup of coffee. The room was clean and very comfortable - all the touches are thoughtful, from the fluffy robes, to the room slippers, to the yummy dulce de leche candies left pillow-top. The bathroom for this particular room is located slightly down the hallway, but didn't prove to be an inconvenience. The bathroom had more than enough under-sink space to leave toiletries, so I didn't need to worry about moving things back and forth between the 2 rooms. The Hotel's common areas are beautifully appointed, with modern furnishings and paintings, yet it retains a slightly classical charm I would tend to associate with a by-gone era. Overall, lovely.

The staff is what truly takes this great hotel to a whole new level. Each of them are attentive, helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. It is clear that they really love what they do. There is not one staff member who sticks out more than the others - all of them were truly amazing. Reservations were made, cabs were called, theater tickets were booked, day-trips were planned and arranged, transfer to-and-from the airport were coordinated, shopping and dining suggestions were given - all with a smile and friendliness which truly made this trip out-of-this-world for me.

Overall - I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to incorporate a little luxury into their vacation.

I look forward to returning to 1555 Malabia House, and hope to see some of the staff's familiar faces - to them, I thank you for a great and memorable trip!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USCCaliGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    157
    29
    16
    8
See reviews for
43
287
70
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at Malabia House in early October 2009, based on the reviews in tripadvisor, and we were so glad we did! I would echo every positive statement on the board. I would also like to stress their fantastic customer service. The entire staff at the hotel was focused on making our trip an enjoyable experience and even went out of their way to suggest ways that they could be of futher help! (Very rare these days). I am very "type A" and they were excellent with helping me work out city tour/soccer tour/airport transfers, etc. ahead of time. We also loved the Palermo location - a very, very pleasant walk to the subway station. It was all great. If we ever get the chance to return to BA, we would definitely stay at Malabia House!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandALosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

After a long flight and a night spent in an unpleasant place down the road, we stayed 4 nights at Malabia, based on the TripAdvisor reviews. They were spot on! We had the balcony room which was excellent. The staff were excellent, the location was great if you want the best shopping and eating, so all in all highly recommended. We would definately go back. Thanks Malabia House.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Great location and very nice hotel. We were very impressed with the staff and their willingness to help us with any detail. They helped to arrange tours and recommended restaurants in the area. Everything about our stay was great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MavisFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I only planned to stay in Malabia House for one night and then join my group at another hotel. However, as soon as I stepped in the hotel, I was absolutely charmed by the atmosphere and kind hostess, so decided to spend an extra night there.
Everything in this hotel is perfect, very homely, very friendly. Location is great, rooms are big, breakfast will suit any taste and everything is fresh. I would definitely go back again!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nt7169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Casa Malabia is a small boutique hotel of about 15 rooms in a former convent. The building has been beautifully designed. Rooms are nice, bathrooms are small but good. The area feels safe, and is great for cafes, restaurants, shopping. Nice though the building is, it's eclipsed by the wonderful staff, who are the best I've ever come across in any hotel - they make you feel welcome at all times, they always have time to speak to guests, and they are a wealth of information about Buenos Aires.

Having them arrange a car from the airport is a nice (and safe) start to your visit. They can also help you with tango shows, football matches (with escort), and pretty much anything else you could possibly want help with.

If you like small boutique hotels, I don't think it gets any better than this
.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2009

Stayed in the modern room for 3 nights, and then 2 more nights. Staff always ready to help (and helpful!), great brunch, family house atmosphere.
Highly recommended.
Denis

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Palermo Place by P Hotels
Palermo Place by P Hotels
#66 of 447 in Buenos Aires
492 reviews
Palermo
BoBo Hotel
BoBo Hotel
#25 of 447 in Buenos Aires
811 reviews
Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
#22 of 447 in Buenos Aires
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#11 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,311 reviews
Palermo
PuroBaires Hotel Boutique
PuroBaires Hotel Boutique
#139 of 447 in Buenos Aires
395 reviews
Palermo
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
#135 of 447 in Buenos Aires
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1555 Malabia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1555 Malabia House

Property: 1555 Malabia House
Address: Calle Malabia 1555 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires C1414DME, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#61 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#81 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1555 Malabia House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1555 Malabia House Boutique Hotel is set in a 19th-century building surrounded by restaurants and shops in the Palermo Viejo neighborhood.All accommodations are well-appointed with luxurious furniture and modern amenities, including air conditioning, cable TV and free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 1555 Malabia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1555 Malabia House Hotel Buenos Aires
1555 Malabia Hotel
1555 Malabia Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing