We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect cozy boutique hotel in Palermo”
Review of 1555 Malabia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1555 Malabia House
Ranked #109 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Malabia House is a wonderful, cozy hotel in an ideal location in Palermo Soho, within easy walking distance to everything in this part of town. The rooms are tidy, tastefully and simply decorated, maximizing space. The staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful...they make you feel at home. This is really a great place to stay--location, price, beautiful space, and staff. Would recommend it in a second to anyone traveling to Buenos Aires!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 580 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

It is a small boutique hotel with charm and people that care. I have been there twice, always very helpful attendants. This is my story there. Once, I arrived at 4 or 5 am in the morning after the Milongas of BA, breakfast is up to 10 am. I woke up around noon, and when I went to the kitchen and I was pleasantly surprised, they had prepared my breakfast, the whole table all for myself, with fruits, fresh coffee, eggs, croissants (facturitas). It felt like home when you were a kid and your mom had the food ready when you wake up :). I could not believe it and I never forget. Remember, it is always good to be nice to the people that serve us too and make them comfortable as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkingtheland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

That's my third time in Malabia House. Again, a lovely stay. The staff is very courteous, the location is great, breakfast is better than the average. All together makes Malabia House a great option.
As cons, the rooms are a bit tight, with little furniture.
Definitely, worths a stay, specially with the benefits-costs ratio.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertoAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had such a lovely visit, a 5 night stay at the Malabia House - something came together with the kind hospitality and friendliness of the staff, little interior pocket gardens and this beautiful area of BA - we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwells45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I often complain about customer service in Buenos Aires. It is just not something you can rely on, unfortunately. However, at 1555 Malabia, the service was very good. I must agree with other reviewers in that the breakfast and area/location are great. However, it is possible to find something better in the same price range...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeroDiazNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for a week at Casa Malabia back in 2007. This place was very charming. Lots of attention to detail - very helpful staff. They made you feel right at home. A couple of times we sat in the main room sitting back and relaxing from a long day of walking and each time the staff would bring over custom drinks, snacks and appetizers! It was a truly great spot.

I would not recommend it if you are traveling with small children - the rooms are kind of small. But, very clean and a great value.

We talk about this place all the time - we cant wait to visit Argentina again. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgchavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I hate to write negatively of this place because the people are so nice, the breakfast lovely and the neighborhood just fine. This place may do well for many people and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there. But some may be disappointed and may want to seek something better, so it's best to know that the rooms are tiny and many are windowless and lacking in charm. Although we had everything we needed, we did not love this place. The ceilings are high and lighting is poor. We had numerous tiny ants in our tiny bathroom, but that was corrected when we mentioned it. It is not accessible and you must climb a flight of steps to your room.

Room Tip: We had room number 114, which does not have a window, except one in the tiny bathroom that opens to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
#150 of 444 in Buenos Aires
296 reviews
Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
#25 of 444 in Buenos Aires
671 reviews
Palermo
Five Cool Rooms
Five Cool Rooms
#376 of 444 in Buenos Aires
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel Costa Rica
#116 of 444 in Buenos Aires
414 reviews
Palermo
Didi Soho Hotel
Didi Soho Hotel
#373 of 444 in Buenos Aires
338 reviews
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#13 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1555 Malabia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1555 Malabia House

Address: Calle Malabia 1555 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires C1414DME, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#60 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#80 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $82 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1555 Malabia House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1555 Malabia House Boutique Hotel is set in a 19th-century building surrounded by restaurants and shops in the Palermo Viejo neighborhood.All accommodations are well-appointed with luxurious furniture and modern amenities, including air conditioning, cable TV and free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 1555 Malabia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1555 Malabia House Hotel Buenos Aires
1555 Malabia Hotel
1555 Malabia Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing