We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem... except for the bathroom!”
Review of 1555 Malabia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1555 Malabia House
Ranked #112 of 442 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had a lovely stay in this boutique hotel. Good location, and great staff. The rooms are very cute and unique. But there were 2 negatives. First, the bathroom to our room was incredibly small, but also very poorly designed. The actual toilet seat was behind the bathroom door, so getting into the bathroom was very awkward. Also, the shower floor was really awful. We had to step onto some wood planks, that were very uncomfortable. This was surprising given how cute the rooms and hotel was.

Breakfast was great, but only if you wake up early enough to catch the cook to make you eggs to order.

Overall, a good experience, but I'm not sure I would return unless they updated their bathrooms!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossanamex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 582 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

My daughter and I spent 4 wonderful days at this lovely boutique hotel from May 16-20 and felt it was the
best part of our visit to Buenos Aires. The owners bent over backwards to make us feel welcome and safe as we were 2 women traveling alone. The hotel was impeccably clean and in the
perfect location for tourists who love a trendy neighborhood full of wonderful cafes and boutiques. Everyone who worked there seemed proud of this property and rightfully so. We loved the
well equipped computer room, cozy living room and beautiful breakfast with interesting people from all over the world. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
2 Gals from Florida

Room Tip: We saved a substantial amount by having a private bathroom located just across the hall. It was met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane&Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We loved our stay at Malabia House. The hotel is in a beautiful building right in the center of Palermo. Our room was beautifully decorated, although the twin beds were tiny. That seemed to be the issue in Argentina with the twin beds, so I guess we can't blame the hotel. The breakfast was freshly prepared whenever we got up, which was a nice change. The hotel staff was always helpful with printing stuff for us and for answering questions. Our only complaint was that the walls are really thin and our neighbors decided to have "sexy time" several times during the night (and day) so we didn't get a lot of sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poochiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Our stay at the Malabia House truly made our trip to Buenos Aires. I can only give them the highest recommendation, from Maria the owner, par excellence, to all of the staff who went that extra mile to make sure our stay in their beautiful city was perfect. The rooms were all wonderfully decorated and the breakfast room with it's delicious offerings and communal table, which allowed you to meet other guests from all parts of the world, made one feel at home. I would not dream of staying anywhere else on my next visit to Buenos Aires

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unbiased51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Gostei do hotel, da localização, do serviço, da atenção dos funcionários, tudo com muito charme e cuidado, mas me incomodou o quarto não ter janela e o banheiro ser tão pequeno. Fechar o box para o banho só sendo uma pessoa pequena e magra

I liked the hotel, the location of the service, the attention of officials, all with charm and care, but it bothered me a room without window and the bathroom is so small. Close the box to the bathroom only being a small person and lean

Room Tip: atenção, nem todos os quartos tem banheiro privativo attention, not all rooms have private bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuelyCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I can't compare Malabia House specifically to other Buenos Aires accommodation, but am so glad I stayed here during a recent business trip to BA. From the friendly welcome, to the nicely decorated room, the location in Palermo. Perfect. The staff were always helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a nice social affair - many other guests were in town for the same reason as me - but the set up of a large communal table encourages sharing of experiences and tips about the city with other guests. Very relaxed and informal. I had a ground floor room, with the private bathroom just across the corridor. Some rooms are fully en-suite, some like mine have the bathroom separate but still private - really not a problem. My room had just a shower in its bathroom - quite compact - but oodles of hot water and very clean. Airco worked fine - although at time of year I was there didn't really need it. I had a rental bike which the hotel let me keep inside at night for safety. I travel a lot, and this place made such a super change from a standard business class hotel. Nice to be called by your name and not just mister room X... Great free WIFI. No problems with the connection at all. I can't wait to go back. The location is fabulous as the neighborhood is great - with loads of cafes,bars,restaurants and quirky/design stores around - but also easy to get to other parts of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flipje67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a great time in Malabia: stayed for 9 nights in total and ended up feeling home in all senses, but pampered by a charming staff and by a magic location. We left Buenos Aires with a little melancholy since we really would have loved staying more in this beautiful city: Malabia was definitely an important part of our beautiful experience.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but we preferred to have a room in the upper floor for more luminosity and a win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Hotel Costa Rica
Hotel Costa Rica
#113 of 442 in Buenos Aires
427 reviews
Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
L'Hotel Palermo
#23 of 442 in Buenos Aires
677 reviews
Palermo
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
Rendez Vous Hotel Buenos Aires
#15 of 442 in Buenos Aires
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
5411 Soho Hotel Boutique & Spa
#144 of 442 in Buenos Aires
298 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
Hotel Bys Palermo
#79 of 442 in Buenos Aires
564 reviews
Palermo
Hotel Palermitano by DON
Hotel Palermitano by DON
#115 of 442 in Buenos Aires
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1555 Malabia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1555 Malabia House

Address: Calle Malabia 1555 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires C1414DME, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#78 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $90 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1555 Malabia House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1555 Malabia House Boutique Hotel is set in a 19th-century building surrounded by restaurants and shops in the Palermo Viejo neighborhood.All accommodations are well-appointed with luxurious furniture and modern amenities, including air conditioning, cable TV and free internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 1555 Malabia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1555 Malabia House Hotel Buenos Aires
1555 Malabia Hotel
1555 Malabia Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing