We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarmiento Palace Hotel
Ranked #209 of 441 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed December 9, 2007

Hotel is okay (rooms reasonably clean) and good location, however, the first morning there our electricity went off and they took a long time to fix it. Reception is overrun with too few staff so expect to wait to check in. No towels in the room the second day and again took ages to get someone to bring them.

All of these things are not major, however, the website lists the price as $56 US per night plus 21% taxes which should equal roughly $67 US. When you go to pay the bill if you use a card they will not let you pay in dollars and instead use their own poor exchange so the room actually costs in excess of $70 US which adds up over a few nights.

Not bad, but in my opinion, not worth the effort.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank j0hnandkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 375 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2007

I spent two nights in this hotel and I can't complain about anything. The rate per night was really cheap (around 40 dollars), and to my surprise, the hotel has a great location in Buenos Aires: two blocks away from Corrientes street that has the major theatres and libraries in Buenos Aires. Also, the "Obelisco" (city's landmark) is some 15 blocks away. The staff was kind, but nothing out of the ordinary. There is no bellboy service or room service (at least not two years ago), so if you're carrying luggage, you'll have to carry it up yourself using a tiny elevator. However, one night I got to the hotel around 2 a.m. (after spending hours and hours browing bookstores, all books are amazingly cheap), I went with an empty glass to the restaurant and asked for a couple of ice cubes, and instead they gave me a small bucket full of ice. The room seemed old, but very clean. My room had no view (there was a window, but it didn't have a street view or any other view worth mentioning).
Overall, if you're looking for a budget priced hotel, close to theatres, bookstores, and other cultural activities (Galerias Pacifico, a famous mall is also close, as well as Puerto Madero), and you don't mind small, old-looking rooms (but clean and ok looking despite the old furniture) or doing some stuff yourself (like carrying up your baggage), then this is your hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ccalles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
South Bend, IN
213
Reviewed December 17, 2005

I would not recommend this hotel, despite the bargain price. The main problem was at checkout, when they ¨conveniently¨ misplaced my discounted rate and tried to charge me the higher price until I showed them the confirmation email and even then, they made me wait 20 minutes while they checked with the manager. This caused me to miss the only morning boat to Uruguay and ruined my plans for the day. Too many things were is disarray/disrepair (elevator, TV, shower, curtains, breakfast set-up). Shabby overall room.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank cfv2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Augusto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tatiane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarmiento Palac... H, Dto Reservas. at Sarmiento Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloDuamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarmiento Palac... H, Enc. de Reservas at Sarmiento Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Bauen Suite Hotel
#224 of 441 in Buenos Aires
229 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#141 of 441 in Buenos Aires
596 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#121 of 441 in Buenos Aires
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Hotel Reconquista Garden
Hotel Reconquista Garden
#164 of 441 in Buenos Aires
527 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#49 of 441 in Buenos Aires
1,510 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#217 of 441 in Buenos Aires
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarmiento Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarmiento Palace Hotel

Address: 1953-55 Sarmiento, Buenos Aires 1044AAC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $46 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarmiento Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarmiento Palace Hotel recently modernized facilities provide:Included Services Buffet breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice Wireless connection to Internet available through out our facilities Courtesy PCs with Broadband Internet Solarium Hot tubs Fitness center All rooms include individual air-conditioner, heating, cable TV, safety box, private bathroom with hairdryer, box-spring mattress, telephone, electronic lock and wake up service 24 hours reception, concierge and room service Back up power generator Messages to host from our Web siteOptional services Club with spa, swimming pool, fitness center and free classes (Tango, Pilates, Aqua Gym and many others) Bar Restaurant Private indoor parking Conference Center with air-conditioner, PC with Internet, TV, DVD and writing board Business center Fax LaundryLocationWe are located in one of the safest centric zones of Buenos Aires, one block away from the famous Corrientes and Callao Avenues, at three blocks from the National Congress and steps away from theaters, restaurants and cultural / entertainment complexes. Less than ten blocks away are the Obelisco, 9 de Julio Ave., Recoleta and the Abasto Shopping Center (the largest in the Capital framed in a typical tango neighborhood) along with the "Children’s Museum", the only one of its kind in Latin America. Additionally, we are one block away from a Metro Station for easy and cheap access to almost all important points of the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarmiento Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarmiento Palace Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing