We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hospitality in the centre of BA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Suites Buenos Aires
Ranked #163 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed November 16, 2012

First impression of the hotel was somewhat disappointing, since you see mostly concrete when coming in. However everything is complete: friendly English speaking lobby staff, good clean rooms, very nice breakfast, free wifi throughout the hotel, good airconditioning. Rooms have an electronic safe (even my 14 inch laptop fits in), flat screen tv, and a very good mattrass !!
Centrally located,one block from the Subte, which gets you everywhere very fast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear Joseph E,
Thank you for your comment! We love to hear from our guests, it really helps us to improve the quality of our service. We are glad to know that you had a nice stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
The Staff from Design Suites Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 475 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. It was a great experience. The room was large and very clean. We were upgraded and had a suite with kitchen and living room. This would be great for anyone staying for a week or so. The breakfast is included. The meal was very nice and substantial. I would absolutely stay here again. The only minor thing was that not all desk staff spoke English. However, they were very helpful. Great Place

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmptexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear pmptexas,
We always like to hear from our guests and we thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to know that you had a great time in Buenos Aires, and we are going to take your suggestion about the staff's english into consideration. We hope to see you again soon.

Greetings,

The staff from Design Suites Buenos Aires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with an agency package, so we didn't get to pick the hotel.

The pros:
- excellent location in Recoleta with a garden/plaza across the street and only minutes walk to El Ateneo (old theatre converted to a beautiful bookstore) and Recoleta Cemetery
- after we found a bed bug crawling on the top of the bed, we were upgraded to a Suite (rm 701) which was much bigger and had a nice view of the plaza/garden
- Suite had spacious dining and TV areas, twin beds and desk, very spacious bathroom and a walk-in closet area
- breakfast is OK

The cons:
- poor service - front desk staff can barely speak English and one of them was never really friendly or helpful
- very thin walls so you can hear everything around and above you - I think there are apartments next door so we could always hear a family screaming and listening to music at night
- barking dogs in the morning
- sorry to have to mention the bed bug... but we were horrified.
- the standard rooms (we were originally on the 10th floor) are quite small with tiny bathrooms and no shower door so the water comes out onto the floor, poor lighting in bathroom and tiny sink

Overall I would NOT recommend this hotel. There are much better options to choose from in Recoleta. The hotel is very basic and made of cheap materials. Staff are not very helpful and are always just sitting behind the desk. Go elsewhere!!!

Room Tip: Get a Suite (room 701 was spacious).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear hcychan,
We would like to thank you for your review. Any comment, good or bad, helps us to improve the quality of our service. We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a nice time with us and we would like you to know that we are going to take your suggestions in consideration to improve our service. We hope you give us a chance to change your mind.
Sincerely,

The staff from Design Suites Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour. I had read the reviews beforehand so I was pleasantly surprised when I got there. There were 3 of us and we stayed in one of the apartment/suites. There was one bedroom and then a living room with a sofa bed. There was also a little kitchenette with microwave and a large bathroom with a spa bath. Our room was very clean and towels etc were replaced whenever we wanted. The staff were all friendly when we dealt with them. Breakfast was quite good (we had just come from Peru where hotel breakfasts were very poor!)... They had juices, tea/coffee, little cakes, ham, cheese, bread & oranges. The location is fantastic, nice area and right beside Ave Santa Fe which had loads of shops and cafes etc. We enjoyed our stay here, I'm surprised that there are so many bad reviews

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milogeraghty, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Design Suites Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear champkis,
Thank you for your review! We are happy to know that you had a nice stay with us. We try everyday to improve the quality of our service, and reviews like yours encourage us to try harder. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,

The Staff from Design Suites Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is not recommended because stole me my luggage and because the staff doesn't know to attend to the passengers, not took over nothing. The rooms are dirty and smell very bad. It was the worst Hotel in my life.


Never go to this Hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms are not recommended because they have no window and you have to call so they catch the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ligia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is nothing like its sister hotel in Bariloche. This hotel in BA has smaller rooms, only 1 staff member spoke English and the staff's attitude, other than the lady with long black hair, were awful. We ordered a double room and were given a twin room, and it was a lot of work to get them to change this, despite the fact we knew another daughter and father travelling, who got a double but wanted a twin room. The father and daughter also complained as a local under the influence of drugs burst into their room in the morning as they were leaving for breakfast. The staff simply shrugged their shoulders at this, which I was appauled about. The breakfast is ok, but there is more pastry than fruit, only 1 type of bread, often no coffee or hot water, and there is only 1 spoon provided for both the scrambled eggs and the bacon - thus eliminating the egg option for veggies, jews and muslims among others. The hotel is also quite far out of town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayalajacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice location, very friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Went for a biz trip and needed wifi. They offer wireless in all the rooms and only downside was that their wireless range was very poor in some areas. Unfortunately my rooms was one of those areas, so I had some trouble connecting at ease.

All the rest was really nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabiopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#128 of 440 in Buenos Aires
455 reviews
Recoleta
Ulises Recoleta Suites
Ulises Recoleta Suites
#177 of 440 in Buenos Aires
341 reviews
Recoleta
cE Hotel de Diseno
cE Hotel de Diseno
#87 of 440 in Buenos Aires
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Art Suites
Art Suites
#137 of 440 in Buenos Aires
428 reviews
Recoleta
Cyan Recoleta Suites
Cyan Recoleta Suites
#147 of 440 in Buenos Aires
298 reviews
Recoleta
Esplendor Plaza Francia
Esplendor Plaza Francia
#56 of 440 in Buenos Aires
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Suites Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Suites Buenos Aires

Address: Marcelo T. de Alvear 1683, Buenos Aires 1060AAE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $63 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Suites Buenos Aires 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impeccable contemporary design, apartments with city views and hydromassage tubs can be enjoyed just 1 block from elegant Santa Fe Avenue. Wi-Fi is free. The historic Recoleta Cemetery and world renowned Colon Theater are less than 10 blocks away.Jorge Newbery Airport is 3 miles from the Suites. Private parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Suites Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Suites And Towers Hotel Buenos Aires
Design Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing