We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location is key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bel Air

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bel Air
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location is key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent 10 nights here in March. Rooms were clean and comfortable, staff was friendly. WiFi was spotty/slow and breakfast was so-so. Location is convenient to many areas of Buenos Aires and a short cab ride from many others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hokies23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    182
    70
    21
    12
See reviews for
72
161
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel February 2013. This in a better area of Buenos Aries. I use a wheelchair and this hotel has a ramp. I did not go into a disabled room but found that the room was big enough to get a wheelchair in however the shower is over a bath. The room was clean and tidy and bedding was clean. The breakfast was ok, just the typical continental type but enough to keep you going for the day. The hotel staff spoke very good English and were very polite and helpful. At the corner of the road is a lovely little park. It is in walking distance of many of the attractions including the cemetery. A word of warning we met a significant amount of people who had necklaces ripped of their necks and bags stolen in tourist areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindseyr R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Excellent Hotel, super location close to Recoleta 2 blocks from a Freddo ice cream and close to many restaurants. Rooms are very contemporary design with blonde wood floors and modern furniture. They gave us adjoining rooms in the back of the hotel and there was an outer door you could close to make it into a 2-room suite which was a great idea for families. Buffet is excellent although the breakfast room is a bit like a dungeon. Wifi is ~$9 a day which was also a bit of a letdown would prefer free. Biggest complaint was absolutely no blankets, just a skinny sheet to sleep under, it was fine the first 2 nights but then it rained and got cool out and there was no heat and we didn't sleep so well b/c it was cold and all you could do to get warmer was put a towel over yourself, a duvet or blanket in the cupboard would have been appreciated. Front desk and housekeeping are excellent. Overall a great experience would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegir101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed 5 days there. Easy to go to most places in Buenos Aires walking. A large variety of restaurants and ice cream parlors nearby. The staff is very helpfull and nice, been able to speak Spanish, Portuguese or English. Nice and comfortable room, nice bed, cleaned everyday. The breakfast was good, not spectacular, but with everything you need to begin your day in a good mood. Definetly I recomend! :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igorsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was in Buenos Aires in Sept 2012 and the hotel Bel Air was in a great location just off a busy street Santa Fe, thereby keeping the place quiet. It is just off a nice park and walking distance to Florida Street and San Martin Square. Hotel had a great buffet that has moved to the basement for better privacy and away from the entrance to the hotel. The internet was FREE and available. The gym was good and the staff was very helpful, courteous and spoke good English. The room was roomy and very comfortable. They made very good arrangements to see a tango show. I recommend the Puerto Madeira show and it is in a good location overlooking the dikes in the reclaimed land and a lovely view of the yatch's near the Yatch Club. Please change dollars at Florida St exchange places and use pesos for a good deal.
The only issue I had was the taxi had a hard time getting to the right address of the hotel because of the ONE WAY streets. Otherwise, I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEEElody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I didn't choose the hotel a friend did. Having read some of the other reviews I was expecting something a little less desirable. Much has been said about rude staff. I found the hotel to be very good and the staff delightful. For value for money the hotel is excellent. The location is fantastic with everything within walking distance. I go a room at the back - so any issues with noisy rooms wasn't a problem. I always travel with ear plugs in any event! The room (again considering the cost) was massive. It was about fifteen years old judging by the deco but had stood up well. The linen was excellent - don't normally even consider such things but this stood out. Breakfast was absolutely fine - as good as most hotels. The food was fresh and there was plenty of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PommyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at the Bel Air in BA three times in the last 6 weeks. My bill was paid by a third party, which obviously was trying to save money. Had I been free to move, I would have gone to another hotel for my second and third stay.
This is an old building which has been remodeled , located in a nice shopping district. I stayed in different rooms and found the rooms which look to the Arenales street to be very noisy.
The hotel limits service at a maximum: for instance the Bel Air does not have a doorman or bellboys....you have to carry your bags. Breakfast was not a good experience: served in a dark room ( in the basement) and then , for a city known for its 'confiterias' where excellent coffee and medialunas are served, in this case, everything tasted second rate. The topping on the cake was a morning when we did not have hot water to shower. Had to shower with cold water. Good or your health, I guess.
So, not a very pleasant experience, overall.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the street rooms which are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Marseille des Anges Hotel
Marseille des Anges Hotel
#207 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#123 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Recoleta
cE Hotel de Diseno
cE Hotel de Diseno
#80 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Art Suites
Art Suites
#105 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Recoleta
Esplendor Plaza Francia
Esplendor Plaza Francia
#104 of 453 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Recoleta
Wilton Hotel
Wilton Hotel
#200 of 453 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel Air

Property: Hotel Bel Air
Address: Arenales 1462, Buenos Aires 1061AAO, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 475 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bel Air 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The excellent location in Recoleta combined with a dedicated attention and outstanding services, make Hotel Bel Air one of the best choices of allotment in Buenos Aires that can be found in the "3 star allotment in Buenos Aires" hotel type. This prestigious Hotel in the Buenos Aires city has luminous and well-equipped rooms and suites, two wide meeting lounges (Vicente Lopez and Arenales) with professional event planners, business center with free internet access, gym, wi fi zone and a luxurious restaurante inside the Hotel called bisabis that serves delicious national and international meals as well as a complete wine card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Bel Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing