We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of Hotel Bel Air

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bel Air
Ranked #125 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

we are two senior citizens who were looking for location and price.....both criteria were met here. we were fairly close to the metro, cemetery, etc. good restaurants within walking distance....hotel rooms were a little small but adequate, baths were very large .....staff was pleasant and helpful.... breakfast was a complete american breakfast ....dinning area was very nice even though the tables are very close together.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiminpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    223
    84
    23
    13
See reviews for
96
183
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is a decent hotel for the price we paid. We were in a comfort double room with twin beds.

Observations:

1. The English spoken by staff is sufficiently understandable.
2. There is no in-room hot water kettle (you can get a teapot from the restaurant on the main floor but it's not the same thing).
2a. There is an in-room safe.
3. The shower/tub and sink faucet drainage is not very good.
4. The air conditioning is great (and quiet!).
5. The breakfast is basically exactly the same every day so not the best for long stays (The hot food are scrambled eggs, fried potatoes and "sausages" which are actually just hot dogs.).
6. The location is good (not great) and safe, with families playing in the nice park at the opposite corner.
7. There is a nominal charge to make local calls from the hotel room, and it counts even if you just dial a number and then hang up before finishing pushing all of the numbers (I misdialled and hung up a couple of times and noticed I was charged for them on the final bill).
8. There seems to be a security guard who hovers around reception. Also, you need to insert your keycard into a slot in the elevator to access the floor your room is on. There are two elevators and each comfortably holds 2 people and 2 check-in luggage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MapleLeafer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Buenos Aires prior to our cruise to Uruguay, Patagonia and Chile. This hotel is located in a very nice section of the city. It is very reasonably priced for it's location. It is modern, with very nice rooms, small but nice lobby, free computer downstairs, excellent showers in the bathrooms. The area is convenient to walking to Recoleta cemetery, and many other sites. Once again, I want to stress its strongest point is where it is situated in the city, which is of prime importance to me. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone except for one experience we had upon leaving. My husband and I were actually going to Iguazu Falls for 2 days so we had to get to the domestic airport (much closer than the international airport EZE) We were down in the lobby with our luggage checking out. We planned on walking outside and hailing a taxi to take us there when the man behind the counter said he would call one for us. When the car arrived, it was not a taxi, but a regular car. He proceeded to take us to the airport but charge us at least double (if not triple) the fare. We were totally disgusted. So I do not know what kind of deal the hotel employees have with their friends to rip off their departing guests, but beware., This totally ruined our opinion of the hotel, which is a shame. We quickly emailed our friends who were also staying there (and not going to the Iguazu Falls, but leaving the hotel 2 days later) to get their own taxi (easy to do right outside the hotel). What a shame. Keep this in mind when thinking of staying at this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The Bel Air is a basic, 3 star hotel with no particular redeeming features, but, equally, no actual faults. Check in was smooth enough, and our room was clean and functional, if a little sparse. The location is excellent, being close to an attractive square and major shopping area. Incidentally, most of the shops in the vicinity seem to have a British theme. Breakfast was a mish mash, very disorganised. For the four days we were there no one took out name or room number (so we could have literally walked in off the street) and at various times there was a lack of tea spoons, cold milk, water and dishes.
If we wanted to stay in the city again we would be perfectly happy with the Bel Air, but would probably look elsewhere.
Lastly, and very importantly - do NOT use the hotel bar. On our first evening in the hotel we retired to the bar to start our night with our usual Gin and Tonics. Much to our concern all we got was a basic measure of gin. Over the past two and a half weeks we have stayed in four hotels in Argentina and we have visited numerous bars and restaraunts. In every other establishment (without fail) generous measures have been poured straight from the bottle, or the standard measure was allowed to 'overflow' by some degree! We assume this is an Argentinian custom, and long may it continue.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornbaek, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel together with a group of ten people in connection with a wine trip to Chile and Argentina.
Check in at the front desk was fairly fast and helpful.
The rooms however are extremely basic and bland with a not very desirable decor... We were hoping for a room we felt comfortable in to relax before a busy night but ended up going out instead. Upon returning to have a shower and get ready I entered a moldy and dirty cubicle ewwww.:(
Next morning- breakfast was a joke. Full of people in a VERY cramped area. No seats, no cups, no plates... We found a small corner to sit at but had to clear the tables our selves. A lot of food was missing on the buffet and i felt so sorry for the waiter running around trying to clean up, fill up and make coffees. In the end my husband went to the reception where TWO receptionist was stood doing nothing overlooking the breakfast area. He asked if maybe one of them could help in the breakfast room so their guests could sit at clean tables and eat with cutlery. But NO that was below their title and not possible!! But they had nothing to do!!! Being in the service industry this is too frustrating to look at and most of our group left and went somewhere else to eat with good service and clean cups and plates to eat from.
Will I come back to bland boring dirty rooms with bad service. Nope! Too many other good places to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danishfoodie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, New York
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Nice small hotel with good location near shops, restaurants, opera house, fine arts museum and historic cemetery. Rooms are clean but small. Ours faced small inner courtyard and had no view. Staff was helpful and included breakfast buffet was not bad but limited. Staff was helpful and there was free internet on two terminals on first floor.

Room Tip: upper floor on street will get more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazzillp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed here for New Years. It's a nice hotel. Staff at reception are very helpful for restaurant recommendations and bookings and have excellent English. Shower was great. Breakfast was a bit disorganised, the food was nice but I recommend getting there early. Rooms were nice and bright. WIFI was NOT free. There were free internet accessible PC's. Hotel is located in a nice area and near key tourist attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
A Hotel  Art Gallery
A Hotel Art Gallery
#159 of 446 in Buenos Aires
566 reviews
Recoleta
ARC Recoleta Boutique Hotel & Spa
Recoleta
Ulises Recoleta Suites
Ulises Recoleta Suites
#170 of 446 in Buenos Aires
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Wilton Hotel
Wilton Hotel
#206 of 446 in Buenos Aires
561 reviews
Recoleta
Art Suites
Art Suites
#133 of 446 in Buenos Aires
417 reviews
Recoleta
Howard Johnson Hotel Boutique Recoleta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel Air

Property: Hotel Bel Air
Address: Arenales 1462, Buenos Aires 1061AAO, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bel Air 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The excellent location in Recoleta combined with a dedicated attention and outstanding services, make Hotel Bel Air one of the best choices of allotment in Buenos Aires that can be found in the "3 star allotment in Buenos Aires" hotel type. This prestigious Hotel in the Buenos Aires city has luminous and well-equipped rooms and suites, two wide meeting lounges (Vicente Lopez and Arenales) with professional event planners, business center with free internet access, gym, wi fi zone and a luxurious restaurante inside the Hotel called bisabis that serves delicious national and international meals as well as a complete wine card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bel Air reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Air Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing