We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #51 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great location”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Loved this hotel. I've stayed at a number of other locations in Buenos Aires, but love this hotel for both its location and amenities. Their breakfast is fantastic and lobby area bar for gathering.
Also, the availability to cabs for transfers around the city is very simple. Additionally, there are a number of very good restaurants within easy walking. The area around the hotel is a very safe enviornment as well. Lovely spacious rooms and very fine bathrooms as well. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Select one looking over the gardens, not the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMarginet, e-commerce Manager at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires. We read with great pleasure that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

We always do appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as it helps to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

We are happy you liked our excelent location near the nicest parts of the city as well as our food and beverages services. Thank you very much for your recomendation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you as our guest during your next visit to Buenos Aires.

Yours sincerely,
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    372
    125
    38
    24
See reviews for
113
336
62
388
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our 5 night stay at Emperador. It helped that we got a low pre-Christmas room rate (c. $140/night).

Pros: good location for tourism; large, clean rooms and bathrooms; friendly staff; gorgeous quiet garden at back off the lobby, where one can sit and escape the rush of the big city (and have a drink); pleasant English-style bar (serving reasonably priced Argentinan sparkling wine by the glass).

Cons: the bed was substandard for this category of hotel; over-priced Evian bottle in bathroom, no complimentary drinking water provided. Somewhat "old fashioned" decor, esp in bathrooms, tho the hotel building seems fairly recent. Overpriced and not so interesting breakfast, so we heard from other clients, and the restaurant only serves breakfasts, strange in a hotel of this size and pretension. BUT there are great "neighbourhood" cafes in easy walking distance from the hotel - our favourite was Liber resto-bar 2 blocks to the left (near Patio Bullrich - an amazing lux "shopping centre"); others were up the streets immediately to the right of the hotel, 2 - 3 blocks up the hill. They serve nice dinners as well as great breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMarginet, e-commerce Manager at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires. We read with great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always do appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as it helps to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

The staff were very delighted to hear that you wrote they were friendly.

We are happy you liked our excelent location near the nicest parts of the city as well as our large rooms.

In regards about the few cons you mention rest assure that we will take all the necessary actions in order to provide a better service in the next future.

Looking forward to welcoming you as our guest during your next visit to Buenos Aires.

Yours sincerely,
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Business hotel, but nice to stay at after a very long flight from top north Norway (Tromsö) and next time after 10 days out in sea. Large and comfy double room both times. Bath room is a dream! My room was at 4th floor, but to see sunset it's probably better to stay as high up in building as possible. WIFI not free of charge, but not expencive. Nice breakfast with real scrambled eggs (no powder mix). I'll recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: High up as possible to get a nice view and the nice sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JorgeMarginet, e-commerce Manager at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires. We read with great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always do appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as it helps to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

We are happy you liked our spaceous and confortable rooms as well as our buffet breaksfat at Maximus Restaurant. . Thank you very much for your recomendation.

We are looking forward to welcoming you as our guest during your next visit to Buenos Aires.

Yours sincerely,
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernet-Les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a typical flashy businessman's hotel used by people with big expense accounts or deep holiday pockets. We were there as part of a package tour and obviously our tour company was able to get a good deal.
There are a number of negatives amongst all the glitz:
Our room, whilst beautifully fitted out, had a deeply ingrained smell of smoke
The buffet style breakfast offered a very poor choice for such a prestigious hotel
The saunas in the pool and exercise suite were not heated up for use on either day we were there
We arrived very late and tired and no-one offered to take our cases to our room
$20US per day for Internet access is a rip off

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdgvag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordibue, e-Commerce Manager at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires.

We always do appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as it helps to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

With respect about your comments of the smell of stale smoke rest assure that we will take all the necessary actions in order to prevent this situation in the next future.

In regards about your comments of the bell desk staff we are truly sorry you didn’t have an enjoyable experience. We will improve our standards in order to provide a better service in the next future.

Please feel free to contact us again before your next trip to Buenos Aires and we will made special arrangements for your stay.

Yours sincerely,
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I used to travel a lot to Buenos Aires, but never stayed at Emperador. This is a great property, lots of confort, friendly staff and the location is great. Breakfast in the gardem is great experience. Garden is well treated and in sunny days its also great for happy hour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordibue, e-Commerce Manager at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires. We read with great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always do appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as it helps to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

We are happy you liked our breakfast in the garden. This area is a relaxing and tranquil ambience, enchanted by the whisper of a unique water cascade.

We are looking forward to welcoming you as our guest during your next visit to Buenos Aires.

Yours sincerely,
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
257 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Lots of business people and tour groups. Complete breakfast buffet. Quiet rooms. Expensive drinks at the bar. Good location for walking. Close to several restaurants. Very pricey internet access fees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elpavorealblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordibue, e-Commerce Manager at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires. We read with great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always do appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as it helps to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you as our guest during your next visit to Buenos Aires.

Yours sincerely,
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Roads, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for one week while on a business trip to Buenos Aires. The hotel is very nice and in a great location easily accessible to public transportation or just to walk. The staff was very nice and friendly. The room was very spacious, even with two beds. I had a room on the back part of the hotel, so I did not have any issues with noise from the street.

Room service was good, but I was not impressed with the Breakfast in the morning. For $25 USD, this was very overpriced. The breakfast is a glorified Continental Breakfast.

I was very disappointed that there was no iron or ironing board available, when I called to request one, I was given an answer that said they do not have them...that you have to pay to have your items pressed. I've never stayed at a hotel that did not offer an iron at all.

Also, make sure to check your bill very carefully. My corporate rate includes the internet, yet they still tried to charge me for it for each day. They did remove it, but it was a hassle.

All in all a good hotel, but far from Excellent.

Room Tip: As for a room on a high floor at the back of the hotel. The noise from the street can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jman1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordibue, e-Commerce Manager at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires. We read with great pleasure that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always do appreciate to receive feedback from our clients as it helps to continuously improve our service and quality standards.

The staff were very delighted to hear that you wrote they were very nice and friendly.
All of our hotel department were really so proud to hear what you had to say about your special stay at Emperador Hotel.

In regards about your comments of that there was no iron or ironing board available please let mi inform you that we do not provide them due our insurance safety policy.

Looking forward to welcoming you as our guest during your next visit to Buenos Aires.

Yours sincerely,
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Serena Hotel
Serena Hotel
#60 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#25 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Retiro
The Brick Hotel Buenos Aires - MGallery Collection by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#29 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Recoleta
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Melia Recoleta Plaza
#35 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires

Property: Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
Address: Avenida Del Libertador 420, Buenos Aires C1001ABR, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#37 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#50 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#52 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires is located on the Avenida del Libertador, only a few steps away from the renowned Avenida 9 de Julio, close to the art galleries and museums district, a top restaurant area, shopping malls, and in the elegant neighborhood of Recoleta with easy access to Puerto Madero Harbor.An excellent choice of hotels in Buenos Aires, Argentina, Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires offers a strategic location convenient for business and leisure travelers and offering excellent standards of service, accommodations and amenities.Our Buenos Aires, Argentina hotel is a perfect choice for meetings, conventions, social events, and weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperador Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Emperador Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing