We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a great hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
Ranked #54 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Fresh review of the Emperador where I just stayed for 3 nights. Online rate on their site ( Amex select ) was 175 USD including early check in, late checkout till 4pm, breakfast on the restaurant for 2. For an extra 20 USD / night you would get an " upgrade based on availability".

The hotel website lists a large number of rates, so I called the 0800 line for Brazil to enquire about the upgrade. Talked to someone in English ( strange for Brazil hotline ) and was assured that the upgrade would be from a Deluxe Room ( all rooms are called Deluxe ) to a Corner Suite.

This looked like a good deal as the Suite was retailing for something between 199 to 333 USD on the web site. Having stayed at the hotel before I know these rooms offer a small office isolated from the main room what would work fine for me as I had a number of conference calls scheduled during my trip and my wife could be undisturbed while I did those.

Got to the hotel at around 1pm already prepared for the obvious discussion... Our room was ready, an "Executive Deluxe Room" on the 13th floor. No the Corner Suite as expected.

10 minutes of polite discussion with the check in agent, he wouldn´t budge so wouldn´t I. In the end I got the keys to the Executive Room, asked him to call his manager and I would expect nothing else than the Corner Suite as informed by their hotline.

Got to the room, 5 minutes later got a call and got transferred to a Corner Suite on the 4th floor.

Not a great start and the mood didn´t change over the days.

The hard product is great! All rooms are over 40 sqm. The Corner suites are over 50 sqm and they do have a separate room as you enter with a work desk and a coffee machine that works great as a mini office. Everything is very well maintained. Good amenities, soaps, a fully stocked mini bar. The bathrooms are good sized with separate tub / shower. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Fluffy towels, good bed linen. No bath robes or sleepers but a quick call took care of that.

And that´s my main gripe about this hotel. Service is a best uninterested. You´ll get things done once you ask for it but no one is proactive in offering great service. Employees don´t smile a lot and don´t look to be motivated to work there.

Couple of examples:

In your room key card it states breakfast is from 7 to 11am. We arrived at 10.15am and the sign at the restaurant says breakfast is from 7am to 10.30am.

I pointed this to the hostess and she said I should take it up with reception because everybody is complaining about this issue and nothing gets done.

Another morning I asked the bellboy for some matches. He told he didn´t have any and I should ask at the bar... the bar is 15 meters away; on a good service hotel he would go there and not ask me to do it.
In the end they had no matches on the hotel... strange for a 5* ?

Internet is on the slow side and expensive at 20 bucks a day. They seem to nickel and dime you whenever there´s a chance.

I would stay again as rooms are great but only if the rate is also great.

And this is where I think the Emperador is at a fault. They had 4 days / 3 nights to make me faithful to this hotel and they didn´t even give it a try.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvdecastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
There are newer reviews for Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have stayed here several times. I like the hotel, even if it is from the old school. The huge lobby, with bar, restaurant and a nice open area for just hanging around. The rooms are large and offer good private space.
No iron, so you need to send everything to the laundry service - the argument is the fire protection rules!?
Take your time for check in and check out, there is not enough with staff during rush ours, so the waiting can be long.
They have good storage service for luggage if you do early check out/check-in.
I like the breakfast, that was included in my room - a little bit over average.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sune N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very nice tourist hotel from Norte Americanos, but a little bit of Spanish once you leave the front desk goes a long way towards getting coffee at Breakfast, your bags retrieved from the Bell desk, or you room made up mas tarde.

Maybe it's the light staffing of the restaurants, bell desk and maid staff, but there are just not a lot of people there to help out when needed, e.g. hailing a cab.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Pro: good value for 4 star hotel; near Recoleta; spacious rooms. Con: on busy, loud polluted Av. Libertador; thin towels; typical standard large hotel in city with hundreds of boutique hotels.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank HX M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

No complaints at all -- good location, walking distance to Ricoletta cemetery and other interesting sites, neighborhoods; great room - very clean, very quiet; marble bathroom with separate marble shower & tub; excellent service; very good restaurant for buffet breakfast.

We stayed in two different rooms (coming and going from Antarctica cruise) and one had extra ammenities like robes and slippers; one didn't. Not sure what you have to specify to get the upgraded one - our price was the same for both.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor to avoid traffic noise - hotel is on a busy street
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

In Buenos Aries for business, I found myself in the Emarador. Check-in was very efficient, and in no time I was in my fourth floor room. The room was excellent, with a spacious bathroom and separate sitting room. TV was dull (for non Spanish speakers) - the usual tedium of English language news/business channels with endlessly repeated news summaries designed for people with severe short-term memory impairment (the ones who forget what they've heard before the end of the following sentence).

Breakfast was ample, and service very good. The bar service was less impressive - slow, and lack-lustre. The restaurant was OK without being anything special - I only paid one visit, and had better dining experiences in the neighbourhood. The hotel is in a good location, and I strolled into the downtown - sadly a strike on the Metro, and some rain to remind me of home made the pavements more of a challenge - they could do with some maintenance!

All-in-all, I had no complaints. Good room, good, efficient, friendly service and a hearty breakfast. The restaurant was less exciting, but to be honest, if you are in Buenos Aries, why would you eat in the hotel? Get out and enjoy yourself!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

On recent stay water was pouring out of ceiling and this floor now smells of mildew. Rooms were not worth the money and its rating is not accurate. Internet access at times is not reliable and difficult to navigate. The front desk is staffed with employees who can be rude and less than helpful, especially is your are a female. Several guest have been mugged near the hotel in the past six months. Use caution when you head towards Florida Mall area and go through San Martin Park.

Room Tip: Ask for room on garden side of hotel. Rooms are away from street and much quieter and have better vi...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#24 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,195 reviews
Retiro
The Brick Hotel MGallery Collection by Sofitel
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Park Tower Buenos Aires
Park Tower Buenos Aires
#26 of 443 in Buenos Aires
748 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
CasaSur Recoleta
#17 of 443 in Buenos Aires
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires

Address: Avenida Del Libertador 420, Buenos Aires C1001ABR, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#20 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#39 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#49 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#51 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $152 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires is located on the Avenida del Libertador, only a few steps away from the renowned Avenida 9 de Julio, close to the art galleries and museums district, a top restaurant area, shopping malls, and in the elegant neighborhood of Recoleta with easy access to Puerto Madero Harbor.An excellent choice of hotels in Buenos Aires, Argentina, Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires offers a strategic location convenient for business and leisure travelers and offering excellent standards of service, accommodations and amenities.Our Buenos Aires, Argentina hotel is a perfect choice for meetings, conventions, social events, and weddings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Emperador Hotel Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperador Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Emperador Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing