We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Faena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Faena Hotel
Ranked #22 of 451 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxe”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I loved it here. The service and the people were lovely. I especially loved the spa. It was my first experience with a hammam. It was great lounging by the pool and periodically getting a cool towel for your brow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Li921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Li921
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback in Tripadvisor about your recent stay at
the Faena Hotel Buenos Aires and to highlight all the wonderful things we offer in our exclusive Leading Spa and Pool area.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Merry Christmas!

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    209
    78
    36
    31
See reviews for
86
522
49
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoorn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Staid for a couple of days on business. Very hip and trendy hotel. Neighborhood is OK, just a few minutes by taxi to the city center. Hotel staff is very good. Rooms are spacious, WIFI is fast and even the standard rooms show luxury. Bathroom is large and luxurious. Breakfast in the hotel garden is very nice. Hotel restaurant is perfect, great wines and perfect steaks. Only downside, pool is much more for lounging than workout. But then the gym and spa are great for your workout

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Maarten B
Thank you for choosing Faena Hotel Buenos Aires, and for sending in your comments. Hearing how much you enjoyed Faena experience was very rewarding for us! We love rolling out new changes to keep the experience fresh, and were glad to see you mentioned the restaurant, patios for breaksfast, wines and steaks, we just launched our new season menú.
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how your stay went, and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the future.
Sincerely,

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

What an amazing Hotel, just out of a magazine! Unfortunately spent my last night in Buenos Aires; but was the end of a great trip to Argentina. The main restaurant great food and one of the best breakfast. Rooms were nice a bit of cramped bathroom, but you felt a bit of space specially you had glass walls.

Best Tango show in town

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabdelmessih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Kabdelmessih
Thank you for choosing Faena Hotel, and for sending in your comments. Hearing how much you enjoyed Faena experience was very rewarding for us! We love rolling out new changes to keep the experience memorable, and were glad to learn you enjoyed very much the tango show. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how your stay went, and we will look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the future.
Sincerely,

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the end of our honeymoon and had a fantastic time. The hotel is extremely cool and trendy, set in the very up and coming Puerto Madero.

The staff are extremely friendly, the food is great. I would highly recommend a strawberry milkshake whilst lounging by the pool.

One thing that I would look out for is the price of the Tango show. It was a fantastic experience but had we known that it would have cost us $175 before the bill arrived then we may have reconsidered!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samloujohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Samloujohn,
It is tremendous pleasure to read such a nice comment on Tripadvisor.
On behalf of our team, thank you very much for your kind words and your valuable feedback.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future!
Warm regards,

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

well, its a fancy hotel... for the "want to be" people. The service is amazing and the people working there always do their best, but the hotel is frankly dissapointing. The rooms are old and certainly dirty, the pool want to be a nice spot but at the end is only a "no good taste" place to have a drink, plenty of strange people, a mix between business travelers, escorts, yuppies and Xgen guys.

I need to say for me was nice for the experience but not even close to real chic and trendy hotels like Hotel Costes in Paris.

The tango show... mmm better if you go to a traditional place near Downtown BA.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javierchik08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Javierchik08
We are very sorry to hear of your disappointing experience at Faena Hotel Buenos Aires. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to further discuss your experience; would you be open to the hotel contacting you directly? We apologize again and sincerely hope to restore your faith in Faena Hotel.
Kind regards,

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
263 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

First off let me state the obvious, the interior decoration is amazing and gives this hotel a unique character! The location is also excellent as it is located in Puerto Madero and is a very nice walk to maany of the restaurants and stores around...

Now, here is what I believe makes this hotel overpriced according to me:

1) Standard rooms are extremly small 25m2 approx, with very little closet space and table space... Park Hyatt, Four Seasons, Alvear and Sofitel are all cheaper for larger room sizes.

2) Service was way below what would be expected. I went down to reception to ask how the window blinds could be opened and was told someone would come to my room to open them.. (FYI there are buttons on one of the bedside tables that control them). When I returned to my room 1hr later, no one had come to my room... Also, it was very difficult for me to reach the concierge and eception, as the phone in my room has many shortcut buttons, but none of which sseem to refer to anything that could be perceived as a reception or concierge.. As I called "Operator" I tried calling sseveral times as no one answered the first few times...

3) There is also a cordless phone in the room which did NOT work

4) One of the two glasses in my bathroom had dried up touthpaste stains indicating it had been previously used and not replaced by the maid before I checked in... I didn't bother informing reception since I was only staying for one night aand could usse the other glass.

5) Wi-Fi is slow by Buenos Aires standards

6) SSleep quality was poor given that there was a Swedish House Mafia concert nearby until 4AM

Room Tip: Standard Rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Everything from the welcoming lobby to the gorgeous bathrooms make staying in this unique Buenos Aires hotel a special treat. Quirky and unique touches everywhere separate this family run hotel from the cookie cutter chain hotel experience. Fantastic and personal service at every turn and a great location near everything that is hip and happening in this amazing city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodLandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#46 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3,162 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hotel Madero
Hotel Madero
#41 of 451 in Buenos Aires
1,717 reviews
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#10 of 451 in Buenos Aires
720 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 451 in Buenos Aires
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faena Hotel

Property: Faena Hotel
Address: 445 Martha Salotti, Buenos Aires 1107, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Puerto Madero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#10 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#14 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#17 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Faena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the waterside neighborhood of Puerto Madero and a short walk to the city’s major tourist attractions, Faena Hotel Buenos Aires redefines the travel experience by combining art, recreation, nature and technology. The hotel’s 87 rooms and suites feature exquisitely designed details, sophisticated technology and exceptional services. Oversized windows invite you to enjoy the magnificent views of the skyline, parks or Rio de la Plata. Unique room layouts features custom ivory leathers, deep red accents and warm brown furnishings. Amenities include LCD televisions, complimentary wireless Internet and Egyptian cotton linens. The hotel’s amenities include five restaurants and lounges. Faena Hotel Buenos Aires is an epicurean destination with dining experiences ranging from an authentic estancia-style asado barbecue at El Mercado to contemporary Argentinean cuisine at the Phillipe Starck-desgined Bistro Sur. A staple in the Buenos Aires social scene, craft cocktails and bottles of Malbec are sipped nightly at the chic Library Lounge and outdoor on the terrace at stunning Poolbar. Sizzling with seduction and awash with red velvet, El Cabaret is home to the world's most riveting tango show—Rojo Tango. Faena Spa, an oasis of holistic therapies for the spirit, mind, and body, blends ancient healing rituals from around the world to awaken consciousness and restore wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires
Faena Hotel Universe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing