We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over rated”
Review of Faena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faena Hotel
Ranked #21 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“over rated”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

well, its a fancy hotel... for the "want to be" people. The service is amazing and the people working there always do their best, but the hotel is frankly dissapointing. The rooms are old and certainly dirty, the pool want to be a nice spot but at the end is only a "no good taste" place to have a drink, plenty of strange people, a mix between business travelers, escorts, yuppies and Xgen guys.

I need to say for me was nice for the experience but not even close to real chic and trendy hotels like Hotel Costes in Paris.

The tango show... mmm better if you go to a traditional place near Downtown BA.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javierchik08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Javierchik08
We are very sorry to hear of your disappointing experience at Faena Hotel Buenos Aires. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to further discuss your experience; would you be open to the hotel contacting you directly? We apologize again and sincerely hope to restore your faith in Faena Hotel.
Kind regards,

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    213
    81
    36
    33
See reviews for
90
533
50
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
264 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

First off let me state the obvious, the interior decoration is amazing and gives this hotel a unique character! The location is also excellent as it is located in Puerto Madero and is a very nice walk to maany of the restaurants and stores around...

Now, here is what I believe makes this hotel overpriced according to me:

1) Standard rooms are extremly small 25m2 approx, with very little closet space and table space... Park Hyatt, Four Seasons, Alvear and Sofitel are all cheaper for larger room sizes.

2) Service was way below what would be expected. I went down to reception to ask how the window blinds could be opened and was told someone would come to my room to open them.. (FYI there are buttons on one of the bedside tables that control them). When I returned to my room 1hr later, no one had come to my room... Also, it was very difficult for me to reach the concierge and eception, as the phone in my room has many shortcut buttons, but none of which sseem to refer to anything that could be perceived as a reception or concierge.. As I called "Operator" I tried calling sseveral times as no one answered the first few times...

3) There is also a cordless phone in the room which did NOT work

4) One of the two glasses in my bathroom had dried up touthpaste stains indicating it had been previously used and not replaced by the maid before I checked in... I didn't bother informing reception since I was only staying for one night aand could usse the other glass.

5) Wi-Fi is slow by Buenos Aires standards

6) SSleep quality was poor given that there was a Swedish House Mafia concert nearby until 4AM

Room Tip: Standard Rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Everything from the welcoming lobby to the gorgeous bathrooms make staying in this unique Buenos Aires hotel a special treat. Quirky and unique touches everywhere separate this family run hotel from the cookie cutter chain hotel experience. Fantastic and personal service at every turn and a great location near everything that is hip and happening in this amazing city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodLandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you re in the mood for glassed walled bathrooms and velvet red curtains this the place. Phantom of the Opera -modern-romantic-cool atmosphere. Long well lighted aisles and lounges,
big rooms, and open views in the safe and beautiful Puerto Madero Area.
We had one queen room and one twin room, the queen was ver comfortable but the twin beds were too small.
The worse thing was the AC, it jumped from icy cold to too warm in 20 seconds, the thermostat seem not to be working and it was a nightmare to set, it really ruined the night.
Breakfast was nothing impressive from the point of view of the food but I loved the ceiling and the decorations at El Mercado restaurant. Other places were decorated a bit over the top but this restaurant was really nice.
The pool was supposed to be warm and it was cold, so nobody was swimming in spite of the beautiful design and the 29 degrees centigrades... we had a great guacamole and hummus by the pool but the salmon was not so great...the life guards and bell boys are the nicest staff we met as concierges and reception seem to be trained to look distant and cool... of course. Furnishing, decorations and food are all mixed quality... and there s something fishy in the ABOUT US lines in the Hotel Book that remind you too much of a famous Apple TV add " Think Different" . I don t think it is great value to choose this hotel... AC was a real annoying matter and the Four Seasons has far better overall authentic service and the rates are quite similar.

Room Tip: Twin beds are too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cucuruchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to note that you felt our location safe and beautiful, besides our room confort and decoration, however I naturally regret the inconveniences with your AC during your stay, I am afraid we were not capable to offer a prompt and suitable solution and I feel disappointed about that.

We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future and delivering to you the professional and friendly customer service levels that so many of our guests have experienced and continue to enjoy at the Faena Hotel Buenos Aires.
Please do not hesitate to contact me, I will personally take care of your reservation.
Yours sincerely,

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business trip and was impressed with the rooms and staff. Everyone was attentive and helpful, it reminded me of the service my grandfather used to talk about... I would and will stay here again. The only minor thing I would say would be the location is I bit out of the center and heart of the city.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JWolff72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear JWolff72
I am delighted to read your review, thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased that you appreciated our hotel, but more relevant our staff kindness appreciation.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your reservations. I
will be happy to make all the necessary to make every single stay every time, memorable.
Regards,

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

White unicorns with demonic red eyes, giant gold crown floating in the swimming pool and a guy regularly cruising down the hallway in a pure white suit and a giant white hat..... No, I haven't been drinking, just been staying at the Faena Hotel for a conference. What an impressively different place. Location is very safe, albeit a little away from key sites and service was excellent. Key advice I would offer is request a room away from the swimming pool area. The hotel confuses itself with a disco in the evening and the pool area can be very loud until 3am with pounding music and revellers. Not something I think is congruent with a five star hotel, but I guess this hotel positions itself as younger and different. They moved me immediately but best to request. Dinner service was decent, however breakfast was comparatively ordinary and not cheap. I would stay here again and can understand why some people love it. No idea who that guy in the white suit is....

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river, get as far away from the pool as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GulliverFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear GulliverFromOZ,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was pleased to note that you felt our location in Puerto Madero very safe. Regarding to our nights in the Library Lounge and Pool Bar, this is an area that we are extremely passionate about and work at daily to continuously keep improving. I am really sorry you had to request room move, our windows are soundproof but I am afraid volume music was not managed suitably during your stay. I would welcome your further feedback in this area and will send you a message separately.
We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future and delivering to you the professional and friendly customer service levels that our guests experience and continue to enjoy at the Faena Hotel Buenos Aires.
Yours sincerely,


Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirão Prêto, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
186 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I wouldn´t stay anywhere else in Buenos Aires.
The Faena Hotel is perfect for those willing to have a nice time. It´s so relaxing that sometimes you will think twice before leaving your room to walk around the city! hahaha
I love the spa, the steam house and the massages you can find here.
They also have some cool restaurants inside the hotel, and the décor, by P. Starck is also a plus!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Rachel G
Thank you very much for sharing your most recent experience at the Faena Hotel Buenos Aires.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We were also happy to learn that our location met your expectations and that you
enjoyed very much our facilities.
I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near
future, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your reservations. I
will be happy to make all the necessary to make your stay once again, perfect.
Warm regards,

Ariel Barrionuevo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#50 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3,233 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 447 in Buenos Aires
747 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,786 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hotel Madero
Hotel Madero
#38 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faena Hotel

Property: Faena Hotel
Address: 445 Martha Salotti, Buenos Aires 1107, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Puerto Madero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#10 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#14 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#16 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Faena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the waterside neighborhood of Puerto Madero and a short walk to the city’s major tourist attractions, Faena Hotel Buenos Aires redefines the travel experience by combining art, recreation, nature and technology. The hotel’s 87 rooms and suites feature exquisitely designed details, sophisticated technology and exceptional services. Oversized windows invite you to enjoy the magnificent views of the skyline, parks or Rio de la Plata. Unique room layouts features custom ivory leathers, deep red accents and warm brown furnishings. Amenities include LCD televisions, complimentary wireless Internet and Egyptian cotton linens. The hotel’s amenities include five restaurants and lounges. Faena Hotel Buenos Aires is an epicurean destination with dining experiences ranging from an authentic estancia-style asado barbecue at El Mercado to contemporary Argentinean cuisine at the Phillipe Starck-desgined Bistro Sur. A staple in the Buenos Aires social scene, craft cocktails and bottles of Malbec are sipped nightly at the chic Library Lounge and outdoor on the terrace at stunning Poolbar. Sizzling with seduction and awash with red velvet, El Cabaret is home to the world's most riveting tango show—Rojo Tango. Faena Spa, an oasis of holistic therapies for the spirit, mind, and body, blends ancient healing rituals from around the world to awaken consciousness and restore wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires
Faena Hotel Universe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing