We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, too bad about the service and details”
Review of Faena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Faena Hotel
Ranked #20 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, too bad about the service and details”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We came to the hotel earlier in the week while staying at another hotel for drinks in the library bar. The service was very slow, but we were able to overlook it because of the amazing ambiance. After travelling to another city and having our itinerary change, we had to stay for one night in Buenos Aires. Naturally we decided on Faena Hotel.

Upon checking in very late, the staff was less than friendly and did not give us the room we expected. After asking if we could check out, they showed us another room that was very similar and asked us to pay additonally for the room. There was never a smile from anyone at the hotel. There was lack of care and empathy and overall, I felt that we paid for a beautiful hotel and the service did not match. It was very disapointing to say the least. The final straw was when we were leaving for the day, it was raining very hard outside and they refused to give us an umbrella. I will not be back again.

Beware of this hotel.

Room Tip: When booking online it asks for your preferences. We filled out the questionaire, but did not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank your for taking the time to submit your review. I am sorry that we did not
live up to your expectations and we will work with the personnel involved to improve our performance because these inconveniences do not belong to our standards of service.

Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any assistance in the future
at abarrionuevo@faenahotels.com

Ariel Barrionuevo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    215
    82
    36
    33
See reviews for
92
541
50
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

what an experience....the hotel is just beautiful from the never ending lobby to the white el bistro with unicorn heads on the walls to the eclectic library and the fabulous pool.
This hotel does not disappoint and the whole experience is enhanced by the experience managers who can advise you of the best places to go and when and arrange everything you could want from limos to lunch> All the stars stay here and there were a few there on our visit which made it great fun> i love the rooms and the beds give you the best nights sleep ever.
Buenos aires without the faena is not worth doing.

Room Tip: have a room facing the city and overlooking the pool and watch the sunset every night....i asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markyn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor. Your feedback encourages our team to give everyday its best for our guest's satisfaction.
We look forward to having you as our guest in the next future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me for all the arrangements.

Ariel Barrionuevo
Hotel Manager
abarrionuevo@faenahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My BF and I visited the lovely city of Buenos Aires in March. Such a perfect time to go as the weather is phenomenal. We stayed at Faena for 5 nights. This hotel is in a new and upcoming area. Our check-in was smooth and the hotel staff was helpful (they made many of our restaurant reservations). Upon arrival we immediately went to the pool and had lunch. The octopus as well as ceviche were well prepared. The room was hip and modern (as well as the rest of the hotel). I particulary enjoy the all glass bathroom (which you can seperate with a curtain for more privacy). We used some of the spa amenities (manicure + pedicure for me) and massage for two. This was definitely a highlight as the room that they use for the couple's massage is very romantic with a soaking tub.
Pros: Beautiful, modern, and secluded
Cons: I had no cons for this hotel

Recommendations:
Arambaru restaurant is a must. Especially if you consider yourself a true foodie. The preparation and attention to detail are top notch. The food is savory and interesting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiVidaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear guest,
I really appreciate your review in Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you shortly.
Please do not hesitate to refer me friends or colleages , I will personally look after them.
Kind regards,

Ariel Barrionuevo
Hotel Manager
abarrionuevo@faenahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Our Faena experience started with a driver meeting us at the airport. Inside the car, a welcome box included water, apples and roasted nuts which was a great touch. Here's the first time I noticed the lack of attention to detail: they give you all that stuff, but you can't take the box to the room with you, so you either eat it or cram it in your bags.

Our room was great (they even had given us a free bottle of bubbles for our honeymoon) facing the Eco-reserve and the bell boy run us through the details of how things worked. 15 minutes later after he left we couldn't figure out how to turn lights on and front desk sent the maintenance team: the bell boy forgot to mention that the light "switches" actually had to be held pressed to turn lights on and off.

The shower head was huge and the water pressure was great: but the only way to prevent the bathroom from flooding was laying towels outside the shower.

There were also very few power points. These days, people have phones, iPads and other devices that need to be charged simultaneously.

The Mercado restaurant staff, even though super nice, didn't do the basics like keeping our glasses of wine and water full all the time.

Internet service was superb and available everywhe in the hotel

There's no doubt that Faena is a one of a kind hotel, but If there's one thing that Faena need to learn is that for their nightly rate, you get AAA service (not just good service) in other hotels of the world.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MrPablington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guests,
First of all, my apologies for all these inconveniences. Then, I would like to thank you for your feedback, it is so appreciated by all our staff and myself.
I took every detail failed and I will address actions immediately with the personnel involved because I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the hotel and we will be ready for the best experience possible.

Regarding to room lights we are in process of replacing switches and make them on/off simpler. Besides, we have programmed within the next months shower box changes and a supplement power points in our rooms.

I remain at your entire disposal should you have any further requirement in the future.

Sincerely

Ariel Barrionuevo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great hotel with some fabulous features - pool especially is fantastic and bell men - entryway staff are just superb ...... I found the concierge to be not overly personable and a little stiff - same with check in ...... polite but NOT overly friendly or welcoming....... too "formal" ........ service in Mercado restaurant is slooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow ...... incredibly so for a restaurant of this caliber and price tag - they seem super short staffed and very disorganized.......

rooms are nice but not amazing - 2 considerations - if your overlooking pool - you can expect to hear late night fun and music until very late most nights - hotel is only 5 ? stories and it is Buenos Aries ... if you are on business this may bother you ..... also for me and this is not the hotels fault but I had to call down to lobby at 4.30am to stop the "raging party next door" - it seems the Weds Oct 24th bar rock party moved from hotel bar to room 510 and unfortunately I was in room 508. I would have expected that at $500+ a night I would have gotten a follow up call the next day or recognition on checkout that I had lodged a serious complaint . The hotel obviously did send someone up and the party / music died ...and again they cannot control how guests behave but I can’t imagine that other rooms above below and on the side did not complain - the walls were literally vibrating .....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irisheyes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Faena Hotel.
I took all "lows" to address immediately with our teams and I hope to host you again in the future and get the chance to prove we have corrected them all.
Please do not hesitate to contact me should you need any further assistance.
Sincerely,

Ariel Barrionuevo
Hotel Manager
abarrionuevo@faenahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is exceptional. The decor is done in deep reds and purples - it makes you feel that you are surrounded by the rich and famous. The rooms are all state of the art and the bar is great. Very pricey but worth it if it fits your budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jswish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest,
On behalf of all my team, I would like to thank you for your comments shared in Tripadvisor. Your feedback is really appreciated becuase gives us another point of view and makes us improve everyday through self-criticism.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Kind regards,

Ariel Barrionuevo
Hotel Manager
abarrionuevo@faenahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

This is hands down my favorite hotel in Buenos Aires, everything from the customer service (everyone from the people at front desk, to the lovely experience managers and the boys at the front door), to the decor and food is amazing. I've stayed here a couple times and always had a room with an amazing view and the beds are the most comfortable I've ever experienced, like sleeping on a cloud. The dining experience at El Mercado is unbeatable although some of the waiters tend to be a little slow. Also love The Library Lounge for drinks with friends and although most of the bartenders are very friendly there is a couple of them with a really bad attitude which really ruins the experience if you have enough bad luck to come across them. Oh also the breakfast is some of the best I've had, really great coffee which it's not an understatement since I'm really picky about it. It is a luxury hotel and everything is very pricey, but really worth it. Will return as soon as possible.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Juliana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Juliana
First of all, I would like to thank you for your time taken to express your experience at Faena Buenos Aires. Your feedback is really important for all of us because it makes possible to mend or improve any mistake.
I took seriously your comment about some of our bartenders and I will take measures immediately. Bad attitude does not belong to our standards of service and I will not accept it.

I look forward to welcoming you in the next future. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any further assistance.
Kind regards,

Ariel Barrionuevo
Hotel Manager
abarrionuevo@faenahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#51 of 446 in Buenos Aires
3,270 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Puerto Madero
Hotel Madero
Hotel Madero
#40 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 446 in Buenos Aires
762 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faena Hotel

Property: Faena Hotel
Address: 445 Martha Salotti, Buenos Aires 1107, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Puerto Madero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#10 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#14 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#16 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Faena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the waterside neighborhood of Puerto Madero and a short walk to the city’s major tourist attractions, Faena Hotel Buenos Aires redefines the travel experience by combining art, recreation, nature and technology. The hotel’s 87 rooms and suites feature exquisitely designed details, sophisticated technology and exceptional services. Oversized windows invite you to enjoy the magnificent views of the skyline, parks or Rio de la Plata. Unique room layouts features custom ivory leathers, deep red accents and warm brown furnishings. Amenities include LCD televisions, complimentary wireless Internet and Egyptian cotton linens. The hotel’s amenities include five restaurants and lounges. Faena Hotel Buenos Aires is an epicurean destination with dining experiences ranging from an authentic estancia-style asado barbecue at El Mercado to contemporary Argentinean cuisine at the Phillipe Starck-desgined Bistro Sur. A staple in the Buenos Aires social scene, craft cocktails and bottles of Malbec are sipped nightly at the chic Library Lounge and outdoor on the terrace at stunning Poolbar. Sizzling with seduction and awash with red velvet, El Cabaret is home to the world's most riveting tango show—Rojo Tango. Faena Spa, an oasis of holistic therapies for the spirit, mind, and body, blends ancient healing rituals from around the world to awaken consciousness and restore wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires
Faena Hotel Universe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing