We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Faena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Faena Hotel
Ranked #22 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

the best hotel in the whole city, great service, great location, very expensive, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Ed A
Thank you for your kind word in Tripadvisor. We hope to have to chance to welcome you back in Faena Hotel + Universe in the near future.
Our best wishes for this New Year 2012!

Julian Smaldoni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    216
    83
    37
    33
See reviews for
94
547
50
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I highly recommend this hotel. I recently stayed at the Faena upon a friend's recommendation and was absolutely delighted!!! The hotel has fantastic facilities - great bar, good restaurant, delightful pool, excellent gym and fantastic spa! The rooms are well appointed and the Kiehls product was wonderful! Most of all however it was the staff that made this stay so memorable. Ariel (the Senior Experience Manager) was absolutely wonderful and made some excellent recommendations from dining to adventures around town to nightlife! Uria was so friendly and helpful, making me feel so welcome that it was fun just hanging around the hotel! Felipe was also really eager to assist and chat. Uria, Ariel and Felipe are among the best staff I have ever experienced in any hotel thorugh all my travels worldwide!! Look no further than Faena - it will make your stay in delightful Buenos Aires even more special!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieboyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear AussieboyDarryl
We appreciate your review in Tripadvisor. Your nice words encourage our teams to give their best everyday.
We look forward to seeing you soon. Faena Hotel + Universe is your home in town!
Best regards,

Julian Smaldoni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

boutique like hotel with gorgeous eating facilities. really worth to pay their very expensive prices. still no idea why it is more expensive than a 6 star us hotel but at least a perfect place.just the pool is too small. maybe small bathrooms but buenos aires is kind of a rip off place anyway. only argentinians think they are the best hahaha
no just kidding. the faena is a nice hotel,different from the rest. kind of the standard in new york..go !

Room Tip: we had a suite. and it seemed to be quite small.no idea how normal rooms are. 850 us is definitely t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear AdrianMiami
On behalf of all Faena Hotel + Universe, I would like to thank you your review in Tripadvisor. We appreciate you realized we strive to give the best service in town within a great location. Our main goal is to achieve and to keep luxury hotel service standards worlwide.
We look forward to welcome you back in the naer future.

Julian Smaldoni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I had a bad experience at the Faena this last weekend. Firstly do not reserve standard rooms. They are too small, beside elevators and depending on the doors positiion, you cannot even walk in the bathroom. It was better on the executive room (I asked to change) but also you need to dry the bathroom floor after showering. Breakfast buffet is VERY POOR for the cost. The hotel has, in all areas, one of the most slowest food and beverage services I've ever seen in a 5 star hotel. 15 minutos to order a coffe at the pool side, 20 minutes to receive a capuccino at the El Mercado restaurant, etc... It is a shame to have so worst service in one of the most beautiful hotels of the world. Hotel is almost all about service!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Marcos T
I am very sorry to learn your experience in the hotel were not according to your expectations, which I highly regret.
Unfortunately we did not realized in time and we failed to provide you the quality of service you deserve.
I take your review seriously and I will share every comment with my team in order to take action immediately.
Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any further detail or suggestions.
Sincerely,

Julian Smaldoni
Managing Director
jsmaldoni@faenahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

If you appreciate design - you'll love this hotel. It is beautiful. Hip scene at the pool day and night. The staff were very helpful and polite. The tango show is wonderful - though pricey. The food is good. My only complaint was that sometimes design should give way to practicality. The bathroom looked fab - but it was so tiny that it took some careful maneuvering to get the shower door open if the bathroom door was also open. Similarly the closet/wardrobe - though beautiful - was very small and could only accommodate a few items of clothing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingleMindedExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Estimado SingleMindedExplorer
Muchas gracias por compartir sus comentarios en Tripadvisor. Todas sus apreciaciones son bienvenidas porque nos ayudan a mejorar día a día.
Estamos en proceso de reformas en nuestras habitaciones para que sean más funcionales a los requerimientos de nuestros huéspedes, siempre manteniendo la impronta de Phillipe Starck cuya inspiración nos hace ser un hotel único.
Muchas gracias nuevamente.

Julian Smaldoni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I had a very good experience at the Faena. The staff was incredibly nice and sensitive. My experience manager was adept at helping me access day and evening activities and was more informative than the usual concierge. He was incredibly personable. When guests arrived to visit for dinner or lunch, the attention that he paid was extraordinary. I would return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackB323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Estimado JackB323
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios. Todo nuestro equipo agradece y aprecia sus palabras. Ellos trabajan a diario conscientes de dar lo mejor para nuestros huéspedes. Coincido con usted que su Experience Manager es más un un Conserje y apostamos al rol central que ellos tienen para estar siempre un paso adelante de sus requerimientos.
Nos agrada saber que han disfrutado de nuestras ofertas gastronómicas también.
Un cordial saludo y los mejores deseos de Faena Hotel + Universe para este 2012!

Julian Smaldoni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

QUIETNESS: this property score very low. Some rooms are right in front of the elevator. Also, lots of rooms are on the same side as the pool which is used quite late in the evening. It makes impossible to sleep and some customers had change rooms.
DESIGN: the lobby decoration is quite nice and the rooms are smartly done. But careful, lots of customers bang their head on the bathroom wall as they are made out of glass. It is very dangerous. One door even fell on one customer.
TANGO SHOW: the show is quite nice but the catering is extremely poor: too many tables and too many people seating at each tables. Chairs are very uncomfortable (banquet chairs covered with a cheap cloth..not very design...I validate other comments here that some seating near speakers or in corners are just unacceptable since they offer poor viewing of the show. Refuse to sit there and ask for refund
RESTAURANTS: nice atmosphere and great meat. House wine very poor - avoid Chardonnay of 2011 harvested a few months ago, it is still fermenting in the glass.
FRONT OFFICE: extremely poor. When acquiring about LHW participation in Lufthansa Miles & More, I received all kinds of stories showing total un-professional attitude and poor communication as other people have written here.
CONCLUSION: If you want to sleep, avoid. If you want to go to the tango show, make sure you put your conditions and insist on table/viewing. Do not believe Front Office, they are un-professional.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not have a room in front of the elevator and also on the street/pool side. It is ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBR1000RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariel B, General Manager at Faena Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear CBR1000RR
I am sorry to learn your review because we are late to change your experience in the hotel. Actually I deeply regret we failed to provide you the quality of service you deserve.

Faena is a hotel full of life in the evening, Library Lounge & PoolBar offer a large diversity of live music and DJs from Wednesday to Saturday nights. This is one of the reasons we are a singular hotel in town, besides design and exclusiveness.
In case music bothers any of our guest we always have the option to assign rooms facing to the river as the one you received.

Regarding to Lufhtansa Miles & More, we explained upon your check out that we do not participate in this program. It is not mandatory for LHW hotel members.

Once again, my apologies for all inconveniences you may have during your stay in the hotel.
We remain at your entire disposal for any further assistance.
Sincerely

Julian Smaldoni
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#50 of 445 in Buenos Aires
3,299 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Hotel Madero
Hotel Madero
#38 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,802 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#9 of 445 in Buenos Aires
1,813 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 445 in Buenos Aires
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faena Hotel

Property: Faena Hotel
Address: 445 Martha Salotti, Buenos Aires 1107, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Puerto Madero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#9 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#10 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#14 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#16 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Faena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the waterside neighborhood of Puerto Madero and a short walk to the city’s major tourist attractions, Faena Hotel Buenos Aires redefines the travel experience by combining art, recreation, nature and technology. The hotel’s 87 rooms and suites feature exquisitely designed details, sophisticated technology and exceptional services. Oversized windows invite you to enjoy the magnificent views of the skyline, parks or Rio de la Plata. Unique room layouts features custom ivory leathers, deep red accents and warm brown furnishings. Amenities include LCD televisions, complimentary wireless Internet and Egyptian cotton linens. The hotel’s amenities include five restaurants and lounges. Faena Hotel Buenos Aires is an epicurean destination with dining experiences ranging from an authentic estancia-style asado barbecue at El Mercado to contemporary Argentinean cuisine at the Phillipe Starck-desgined Bistro Sur. A staple in the Buenos Aires social scene, craft cocktails and bottles of Malbec are sipped nightly at the chic Library Lounge and outdoor on the terrace at stunning Poolbar. Sizzling with seduction and awash with red velvet, El Cabaret is home to the world's most riveting tango show—Rojo Tango. Faena Spa, an oasis of holistic therapies for the spirit, mind, and body, blends ancient healing rituals from around the world to awaken consciousness and restore wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faena Hotel Buenos Aires
Faena Hotel Universe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing