We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs!! Stay away!!!”
Review of Hotel Frossard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Frossard
Ranked #394 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed December 2, 2009

This was my first stay at the Hotel Frossard, which has a great location in Buenos Aires, and which has a charming European lift.... but I was there for two nights and RAN from there after the second night. I had a bad night's sleep the first night and couldn't understand why... very restless, sheets untucked, etc. The second night I woke up feeling bites, and killed two bugs right on my skin. It was horrible. It was only 5 a.m., and I was out of that bed. I left that morning and went to a clean hotel. I think if there are bedbugs in one room, they are throughout the hotel, but I'm not sure. It was my first, and I certainly hope my last, experience with bedbugs.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marymary9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frossard, Propietario at Hotel Frossard, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Hello
I´m the new owner of Frossard Hotel,I´m sorry for that bad experience.If you want come back to this place we will make you a discount and you can see the new rooms,regards from Bs As

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 40 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2008

I have stayed at the Frossard 6 times since 2002. It had become something of a favorite when passing through Buenos Aires.

Pros: Very close to the city centre, just two blocks from Florida. The foyer has heaps of charm and character - when I was last there they had just done some painting and it looked a treat. Staff always seem to be friendly, helpful and invariably speak good English.

Cons: The rooms are small. That wouldn't be so much of a problem, they could be as charming as the foyer, but they have really been let go. At the very least they could use some fresh and imaginative painting like the foyer. Airconditioning old and didn't work in one room (I had to ask for another and the AC there was quite noisy). Showers do not have cubicles and make the whole bathroom wet. TV did not work (in the past this has not been a problem). The price has risen from $15US in 2002 to $60US in 2008 and this has really pushed my attachment to the place - I don't think the rooms are worth that much and, sadly, doubt I will stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rabbit83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

Horrible Hotel. This hotel was recommended in the Lonely Planet book and listed as mid-range. I will never use their recommendations again. The hotel was overpriced for what it was-$70 for a double. There is no way this hotel was mid-range. The bathrooms were newer but so tiny that you couldn't turn around in them. The sink was no bigger than a dog dish. The room itself was dirty, the carpeting was stained in many places, walls and molding were marked up. There was no place to put your luggage. One room had a tiny wood chair, the other had no chair. No table, just tiny bedside shelves. The view out the window was of the air shaft. Dark and tiny hallways. The towels were about as thick as a paper towel and well worn. No mattress cover which is unsanitary and the comforter was thin and looked about 20 years old. Airplane pillows were thicker than the ones provided. The internet was not working when we were there. The hotel is located right near one of the main pedestrain streets but the street itself wasn;t that great. We moved to a different hotel after the first night.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank clevelandtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

My husband and I along with another couple spent three nights there prior to a cruise. We paid $60.00 per night for a basic but very clean room and bathroom. Breakfast was fresh croissants, juice and nice coffee which is all we wanted. The elevator was a tiny cage and dated from another era. Unfortunately, the air conditioning in our room was broken and I really missed it, although the staff provided a large fan. The hotel is near Calle Florida and the great Galeria Pacifica which has a tasty food court. The Claridge Hotel was just up the street from the hotel, and the location is good. The staff booked us a trip to Tigre which is a lovely day tour. Of course we had to do a tango show, and the hotel booked us at Piazzolla where we had a velvet-curtained box with our friends for an excellent steak dinner and the exquisite tango show. What an evening!! We would not hesitate to stay there again, but would check the air-conditioning immediately. Our friends had no problems with their room, and would also stay there again.

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank ladymont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

Simply put: horrible.
Shabby, dirty, sleazy and expensive for the service provided by Argentinian standards. Lonely Planet describe it as a little gem.....so wrong! Wouldn't even recommend it to my biggest enemy.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank enryfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

Found in Footprint guidebook and booked directly with hotel on a busy weekend. Very central location, just a block from Florida. I think we paid about US$40.

The room was smaller, but very clean and relatively new, as was the bathroom. Friendly staff. Air conditioning and TV included. Typical Argentine breakfast was included (medialunas/croissants, coffee or tea, and juice).

I could see how some people might have a problem with the noise. We were used to noisy Buenos Aires after several weeks in an apartment and didn´t notice. No matter what what hotel you stay at - one block from Florida is going to be noisy.

A good value and central location for the budget traveller. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelloMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

The hotel is centrally located which is certainly a positve feature as we walked everywhere. However, this also means there is a lot of traffic (ie bus stops in front of building) and much street noise. We had a large front room and the noise both outside and inside was a major detriment to the enjoyment of our stay. The rooms have high ceilings and the building itself has seen more elegant times. We were originally assigned room 12 which we did not find acceptable because it was grungy and much too small. The other rooms at the back of the hotel while likely more quiet are small and accessible though a very narrow corridor. The staff are friendly. Breakfasts were skimpy and boring.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonctonCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#357 of 444 in Buenos Aires
72 reviews
San Nicolas
Mayflower Suites
Mayflower Suites
#374 of 444 in Buenos Aires
294 reviews
Hotel Ayamitre
#319 of 444 in Buenos Aires
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
Hotel Bolivar
Hotel Bolivar
#388 of 444 in Buenos Aires
81 reviews
San Nicolas
Gran Hotel de la Paix
Gran Hotel de la Paix
#389 of 444 in Buenos Aires
319 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Plaza Roma
Hotel Plaza Roma
#252 of 444 in Buenos Aires
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Frossard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Frossard

Address: Calle Tucuman 686, Buenos Aires C1049AAN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 444 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $38 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Frossard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These rooms keep the original charm of an old French house ... All in-suites... specially designed for your comfort with all modern facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Frossard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frossard Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing