We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property. Good Location. Show a little age. Bad Concierge.”
Review of Park Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Tower
Ranked #29 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice property. Good Location. Show a little age. Bad Concierge.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in May 2013. The hotel is approximately an hour from the EZE airport. We were able to pay a cab drive in USD in order to avoid the bad exchange rate by ATM or currency exchange. We later got "blue pesos" for people currency on Florida Avenue. You are a little nervous at first but this is very common. The exchange rates was 5.3 at a bank and 8.3 from a guy selling currency on the street.

Now, back to the hotel.. You can tell this was a very nice hotel when it was built. It was built like to the quality of a St. Regis or a Ritz. However, you can see the age and neglect of the property on the furniture in the common areas as well as the room.

As a SPG Platinum we had no problem checking in at 9AM and being upgraded to a corner suite. The suite is large and has great views. 1.5 baths is also nice when traveling with someone.

The hotel offers full turndown service and put wine and a small appetizer or dessert tray in our room each day.

A pool with steam and sauna in the Sheraton is accessible to guests. The gym is probably the largest and nicest gym I've found in a hotel. However, the steam/sauna area made it apparent they sell memberships to locals and the older men in search of the company of other men were constantly trolling the steam/sauna area which made it a little seedy.

The Concierge service and the bellman service at the hotel was terrible. They would just motion us to get our own cab and the Concierge would offer dinner recommendations but would often be away for over an hour at a time. When asked if the famous Sunday Flea Market was worth it and would possible have local art he simply said no, do not go. Thankfully, we went anyway. It was a highlight of our trip. Lots to see, buy and great energy.

Basically, the hotel is a good value. It has good bones but is in need of some TLC as it is starting to wear. The concierge staff should be trained again in what they are there to do.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muntz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Park Tower, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks very much for your comments, are very valuable for us. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Park Tower. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    201
    62
    16
    11
See reviews for
87
307
45
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Took my fiance here for a surprise trip as we got engaged, her boss got her three days off and I proposed in central park before taking her on a three day trip. Perfect place to get away from everyone and just enjoy each other for a few days. Definitely have a biased view of the location and property because of the life event but I doubt I'll ever forget this spot....

Room Tip: separate bath and shower, dulce de leche cookies left in the room - yummy, amazing and huge spread f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lars F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Gerente at Park Tower, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Loved this location, stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour, rooms were very spacious, great nights sleep.

Bathroom was huge and very well appointed, loved the breakfast and dinner we ate in Hotel.

Staff very helpful and internet very quick.

Was in a great location to explore the sights, would highly recommend this Hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahcraigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Gerente at Park Tower, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one.
We hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I guess i'm surprised this hotel is in the 40s on TripAdvisor. This is a no brainer place to stay... especially if you have any SPG status at all. Perhaps my experience was different as a Platinum SPG member but I suspect they provide the same level of service judging by other reviews.

The rooms are big. The corner suite (which we got as a free upgrade) are even bigger. They think of everything (including having US formatted power strip available at the desk in the room).

We would ABSOLUTELY stay here again. In fact, i need to find an excuse to come back down to Buenos Aires just to stay here again. It reminds me of the Plaza in NY (with even better service than what i get at the Plaza... and i've stayed at the Plaza 50+ nights).

The Pros:
* Free breakfast in the St Regis Dining room (perk of being Platinum)... it is an elaborate spread, you can place an order for eggs, you're never
* Free Afternoon Tea & Snacks (i think this is also a perk of SPG but not sure). 5pm to 8pm... some nice snacks and desserts and complimentary tea, water and wine
* The Sheraton Bar is clean and a nice place to grab some snacks, beer, wine... i was expecting the Sheraton to be a far walk judging by some of the reviews on TA but it is 20 feet away and all connected internally
* The Staff... hands down. Great staff. Hard to mention everyone by name but here is who we remember... Gustavo at the concierge desk was very helpful, great tips on where to go; Cristian at the St. Regis Afternoon Tea service is simply phenomenal... he is friendly, courteous and service oriented; Eva was our butler and she simply rocks. She found out we were vegetarian and made sure to provide us with vegetarian friendly snacks each day (we settled on fresh fruit and it was quite refreshing). she would come by and check in on us to make sure everything was to our liking (and it always was).

The Cons:
* I guess the location is the 'con' but it is a light con. You can walk to Puerto Madero, you can easily get cabs from the front of the hotel and they can take you to the other parts of the city you want to visit and then you can come back to your luxurious room
* Gym opens at 8am... a bit late. Gym is small but fine as only one other person was in it. We enjoyed our gym experience but it is a little limited on equipment. Luckily, you also have free access to the Sheraton gym which is much larger (in case you want more equipment)


*** NOTE TO TRAVELERS *** We didn't know about this until it was too late. The official currency rate is 5.2 pesos to $1USD. If you pull money out of an atm, this is the rate you are going to get. DO NOT DO THIS. There is a gray market for something called the BLUE DOLLAR. You can google search this and you'll see the unofficial exchange for blue dollar is around 9.5 pesos to $1USD. This is a widely known market and is in the papers all the time. I can't believe we didn't know about it. Bring USDs with you and then exchange it with some of the 'cambio' vendors... there are 4,829 of them on Florida Street. We didn't do it as we didn't know until the last day we were there. Of course exercise common sense and caution about going down back alleys, etc but you could really get a good value for your USDs and then you can use those pesos to tip all of those that provide you excellent service at the Park Tower or at the other great restaurants you go to :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UTLonghorn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Park Tower, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Park Tower. It was nice to hear that you have enjoyed all our facilities. Thanks very much for such positives comments. We work very hard to treat every guest in special and leave memorable experiences.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you are looking for elegance in a superb downtown location, then we heartily recommend the Park Tower hotel. The rooms are very spacious and well-equipped with beautiful furniture and art work. The bathrooms are really big and full of marble. The breakfasts offered each morning are in an elegant dining room with a great view and the staff is friendly and willing to meet your every need. Although the hotel is large, it feels like a intimate boutique establishment. We loved the Park Tower and will stay there again on our next visit to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbulloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Park Tower, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Park Tower. It was nice to hear that you have enjoyed all our facilities. Thanks very much for such positives comments. We work very hard to treat every guest in special and leave memorable experiences.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very comfortable beds and luxurious rooms. Agree with other reviewer that the upgrade is definitely worth it. The breakfast was fantastic!!!! Wi-fi worked great for us. The service was impeccable - from Christina, concierge extraordinaire, to the butlers and restaurant staff - all were great. One of my fellow travelers was sick for a day, and Ava, our butler, checked on her throughout the day - bringing her crackers, chamomile tea, scrambled eggs, etc. - it was like having a personal nurse. So wonderful!!!

I agree with the other person who commented that the hotel bar should stay open until folks return from dinner (which is usually 11pm - midnight). We went next door to the Sheraton bar, but it lacked the ambiance of the Park Tower space. Also, there should be slightly longer concierge hours. We had a couple of occasions where we needed help before or after the shift, and folks answered our questions, but it took a trip downstairs. Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Definitely higher floors - I think you might get a view of the water. We were on the street side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dck_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Park Tower, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Park Tower. It was nice to hear that you have enjoyed all our facilities. Thanks very much for such positives comments. We work very hard to treat every guest in special and leave memorable experiences.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel was stunning and in a pretty good location too. The rooms were large and very comfortable the staff were probably the best I have encountered for years, I can't praise them enough, especially for getting things booked for us and giving advice where to go and where to avoid. The reason for the 4 stars only is that we found it lacked a good comfortable bar for either before you went out or for when you came back from a night out. We aren't massive drinkers but when we are on holiday we do quite like to finish the evening off in the hotel bar....a night cap so to speak. But all in all a fabulous place and if a bar doesn't really bother you then this place gets a definite 5 stars :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angieraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Park Tower, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks very much for shearing your experience with us. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed our services and you have had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#25 of 447 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#9 of 447 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Palacio Duhau - Park Hyatt Buenos Aires
Retiro
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Tower

Property: Park Tower
Address: Avenida Leandro N Alem 1193, Buenos Aires C1001AAG, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#18 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#21 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#22 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#66 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Tower Hotel Buenos Aires
Park Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing