We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice”
Review of Melia Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Buenos Aires
Ranked #63 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights while on a business trip. This hotel was located close to our office but while staying over the weekend, we found it was central to many other tourist and historical attractions. Some places required a bit of a walk but it was 1block from the city tour bus which is very popular.
The hotel was very well kept and the doorman were very courteous and welcoming every time you walk in. The concierge and front desk assisted us with all of our questions and provided us excellent recommendations. They spoke English pretty well too. The rooms were cleaned daily with linens replaced when requested. I would definitely recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnovac011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Good morning
thank you very much for your comments. It was a pleasure having welcomed you and we are very pleased to know you have had a very good stay.
We hope to welcoming you again very soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,051)
There are newer reviews for Melia Buenos Aires
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 2,051 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in December of 2013 for a business trip. The check in and hotel staff were friendly and efficient as well as helpful.

Hotel location is good, within easy walking distance of an outdoor shopping mall and several indoor malls. Not terribly close to a lot of tourist attractions, but not too bad, either. Traffic in this city is pretty bad, so a cab ride is a last resort... if you can walk to it (whatever you are wanting to do), you should.

There are many restaurants outside the hotel and I don't recommend eating in the hotel. The food in the hotel restaurant leaves much to be desired... don't bother. Fortunately, with all the choices close by, it doesn't really make much difference.

The rooms are clean and well stocked, the bathroom even has a bidet. Housekeeping staff cleaned the room daily and there were no problems and were very responsive to requests.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again on my next trip to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Good morning
thank you very much for your comments. It was a pleasure having welcomed you and we are very pleased to know you have had a very good stay.
We hope to welcoming you again very soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel 2 days during a business trip. This hotel is located in a very central area of Buenos Aires. A few blocks away, is a nice park and a long pedestrian street as well as Las Pacificas mall. It is on a quiet, one way street with restaurants and bars across the street.

Good
- My room was on the 8th floor facing the street and it was quiet at night.
- Room was large and clean
- Bed was comfortable (I like beds a little soft)
-Bathroom was clean and there were wash cloths (which surprisingly can be hard to come by)
- I didn't have any issues with the staff. They held our luggage for our evening flight and nothing was lost or stolen. Check in and check out went ok

Other
- The internet is really expensive and intermittent
- The buffet breakfast is just ok but to be honest, I have never really had a great breakfast in Argentina.
- Had a late lunch with a colleague at the restaurant. We asked for water with a little lemon. The waitress brought back two glasses full of lemon juice. We had to explain to her again what we meant - my coworker is from Colombia so language wasn't a problem. Anyway, she brought us some water to dilute it. My colleague ordered ravioli and it came swimming in butter - literally.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntlTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at the Melia for a few nights in January 2014. We chose this hotel because we have previously stayed at a different Melia resort. We liked our room and the amenities. We did not consume anything from the mini-bar which was outrageously overpriced. There are a few mini-markets nearby where we purchased our soft drinks and snacks there. We did not like that there was an open window in the wall separating the bathroom to the room, so one could see each other from the room and vice versa.
We are not big eaters but we were disappointed with the measly choice at breakfast which was comparable to a complimentary breakfast at any 3 star hotels in the US. We kind of expected the same breakfast experience we've had at our previous Melia stay. We did not expect a North American breakfast, we would have like to see more selection. It was a basic breakfast bar. I also felt the coffee was substandard. I did not find the staff friendly. They went about their business, that’s it, no more, no less! I would also venture that we were ignored a couple times when we were having breakfast.
I like the location. It was within walking distance to shopping plazas, restaurants and shops and grocery stores. I like the fact that McDonald was around the corner and I could always go there quickly to check my emails from their complimentary wifi. Prior to choosing Melia, we checked a few other hotels online and when we saw their actual locations during our visit, and we were absolutely happy that we chose Melia Buenos Aires over them. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues. We felt safe and enjoyed the comfort of the hotel however, some friendly smiles from the staff would make it much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Good morning
thank you very much for your comments. It was a pleasure having welcomed you and we are very pleased to know you have had a very good stay.
We hope to welcoming you again very soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

All was very good ,starting from the people at the door when you get out from taxi, personel at the check in,breakfast food and breakfast people,room service very available and propmt at any request. Internet servicevery efficient.At least for me all was excellent, I will certailnly be back at this hotel.

Room Tip: My personal room was the 804 and was outstanding, I do not know the others but I guess are good as w...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraexpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Good morning
thank you very much for your comments. It was a pleasure having welcomed you and we are very pleased to know you have had a very good stay.
We hope to welcoming you again very soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed twice at this hotel, March 2014 and I can safely say the hotel is in need of a refurbishment and lessons in staff service and motivation. Most of the Staff were not client friendly, abrupt and lacked courtesy. Rooms were OK, although a crack in the glass of the window and broken hinge off the 8th floor did not go down well. Room key card also failed on 3 occasions during my stay, resulting in a long walk back to reception and a long wait if people were in front of me checking out as happened twice. Useless!! Then I was told by reception it was my fault for putting the key near to my tablet. !! Unbelievable.

Business Centre there is useless and was not even staffed when I was there and needed it. Tried printing out an E-mail for ongoing air ticket and could not, and no staff were able to assist. Such a simple task, I was amazed. Gym and spa not open until 11am on weekends and when I asked at 10.45am if I could use the treadmill, I was abruptly told "NO - 11 0' Clock" It was pathetic.

Restaurant was average, no variation both at breakfast and the main menu. But the food I had tasted good. I always take a note at breakfast if it's fresh or carton orange juice, Yep, it was carton stuff here. That is a minor point but always a good indication of a hotels standards for guests.

There is no lounge, TV room or even dedicated bar in the hotel, the bar is a small area just on reception. Old guy serving in full dinner suit, lost patience with me and told me "I don't speak English" Later I explained in Spanish, "I don't tip" he got the message. The outside area was OK bang opposite a car park and Subway Sandwhich bar. I sat outside in the Reconquista street which is safe and pleasant, watching people pass bye. But be prepared to be pestered constantly by people of all descriptions asking for money, (beggars)

In conclusion, look elsewhere, there are much better hotels than this for the money in this beautiful city. Very impersonal and cold feel to the hotel and when I return to Buenos Aires, my hard earned cash will go elsewhere. I thought Melia has higher standards than this, having stayed in a few before such as Caracas, Venezuela. Absolutely no comparison to that one with this place.

Room Tip: Inspect the room at check in and don't accept it if your not happy and do not be put off by the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTHONY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Location: On an pedestrian walking street with many restaurants and bars, a couple of blocks away from the main shopping street, close to sites

This is a very nice centrally located downtown hotel. The staff was helpful and generally spoke English including the operators. It has a mid-sized marble lobby, usually with a couple of doorman at the front. I had a superior room which was updated and modern and a good size, the bathroom also had all new appointments. It was comfortable & clean. Unusually, the bathroom was actually open to the rest of this room, so you'll be pretty much exposed if you're taking a bath although the shower had an opaque glass door, and the WC itself had a solid door. The hotel is on a street and area with many restaurants, bars and stores, a couple of blocks from the main shopping street Florida and a subway station, within walking distance to many of the sites and Puerto Madero, one of the main restaurant areas. I would recommend this hotel for any travellers.

Cons: A curtain between the bathroom and the bedroom would probably be a good thing for those customers who care.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Buenos Aires, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2014

Good morning
thank you very much for your comments. It was a pleasure having welcomed you and we are very pleased to know you have had a very good stay.
We hope to welcoming you again very soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
#46 of 443 in Buenos Aires
903 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#51 of 443 in Buenos Aires
3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
#48 of 443 in Buenos Aires
698 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#7 of 443 in Buenos Aires
788 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#53 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenos Aires

Address: Calle Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Buenos Aires
#22 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#27 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#36 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#46 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#64 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $110 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few blocks from Puerto Madero and the Colon Theater, in downtown, Melia Buenos Aires is the best choice to stay in Argentina's capital city, thanks to its prime location in the heart of the city, its luxurious and comfortable facilities, quality of services and an exquisite personalized service. Among its services and facilities, Melia Buenos Aires offers 209 comfortable and spacious rooms; different dining spaces: Restaurant Azorin, Gongora Lobby Bar, Machado Cafe, La Terraza. Internet access (Wi-Fi) high speed (*); Free Business Center with 3 computers, printer and fax; Spa with heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, full gym, massages and beauty treatments; parking and a modern Congresses and Conventions Center 9 meeting rooms, 7 with natural light and capacity up to 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing