We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Decent business hotel downtown Buenos Aires” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Buenos Aires
Ranked #60 of 449 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
129 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Decent business hotel downtown Buenos Aires”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I am visiting town on regular basis and this was my second stay after almosr two years.

* LOCATION: in the very heart of Microcentro (city) 5 mins to Galerias Pacifico or San Martin Square. Also a bus terminal to the airport is very close. Losts of restaurants and shops

* HOTEL: Older building and decoration but well maintained.

* ROOM: Mine was a contemporary executive on 8th floor overlooking the street. With beige and light brown tones.

* BED: Excellent king bed where I slept very good.

* BATHROOM: Two separate sections for wc and shower. Very good presure and a large head with a lot of water! Great. Also another room with a bathtub with an opening to the room.

* TV: Miiddle sized plasma with lots of chanells. Needed 2 days to find them as not by order and there are 15 empty positions so you need to go one by one until no.80. When asked front desk about the selection they did not know anything.

* HEALTH CLUB: Basic workout room, small swimming pool, jacuzzi, changing room, massage rooms and sauna. Dirty water in jacuzzi and empty used bottles of gel on the floor in the showers.

* BREAKFAST: Nothing special and more like a company canteen than a hotel. Good selection of food (bread, medialunas, juices, fresh fruit...) crambled eggs and bacon. Would like to have different choices every day.

* STAFF: Front desk hepfull but slow and sometimes did not do what asked. At breakfast nobody asks anything and you have to order this and that...younger staff chit-chatting with each other instead of cleaning the dirty plates. Did not make sure at any time if you needed anything.
I asked for an iron which was brought in but later taken away and was not replaced later even if asked. The minibar was not re-filled in time and had to ask for it again!
Room was not properly cleaned!

Overall a good stay especially because of the bed and location and I was cosy inside it. I must add wifi was free in my room and a 30min vouchers provided for PC usage in business centre.
But being an expensive business hotel I would expect much more, especially from hotel staff. When you are Platinum Melia memeber I expect top services and an extra care from all the people involved, which was not met at this occasion.

I would recommend this hotel for businessmen and solo travellers or young couples.

Not indicated for families with small children and spoiled luxury tourist.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    797
    205
    45
    8
See reviews for
303
754
86
550
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived in the morning after a long flight from the UK. The check in staff were friendly and helpful and our room was ready. We had requested a quiet room on the top floor and we were allocated one. The room was large with two double beds, table and comfortable chairs. The included breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereals, juices, fruit, pastries and cooked items. We used the fitness centre during our stay which had a decent range of equipment.

Overall we enjoyed a very pleasant 3 night stay and would be happy to recommend the hotel as good value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I primarily booked this hotel so that I could be in the same hotel as some friends of mine. As well it was a hotel used by Princess Cruise Lines so I expected it to be good. However, it was better than expected. My room was large with 2 queen beds, a desk and sitting area. More than adequate for a single traveller. Also, the price of the hotel was very reasonable considering its location and the fact that it included an "all you can eat" breakfast buffet.

The location was great for me as I like to walk everywhere. It was 2 or 3 blocks from Florida Street, one of the main shopping areas. Normally the fact that it was a shopping area was not of interest to me but the street itself was just interesting to walk along. The 9th of July Avenue is fairly close too.

It was also close to several parks and squares. La Recoleta Cemetery is within walking distance although it is a long but interesting walk. The cemetery itself is a "must see" for its uniqueness as well as it being the burial place of Eva Perón.

The hotel staff were great. They were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor and faced Paraguay Street. I found it quiet and had no problem sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_C499109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location of the hotel was excellent. The rooms where good. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast was included with our room but was terrible. It appeared that everyone ate in the same dining room and had the same breakfast. Complaints were often heard. All bread products were flavorless and did not seem fresh. Fruit that wasn't fresh and cold cereal were the other breakfast choices. Service was poor.
After arriving home from our trip in South America the Melia Hotel had charged our credit card an additional amount. We have no idea what the charge was for since we purchased nothing additional and our room and breakfast were prepaid. I have emailed the Melia Hotel and never received a response. We stayed at the Melia in January 2013 but I waited until March to write this review to see if Melia would respond to my email. We have stayed in other Melia Hotels and have been satisfied but would not return to this hotel or recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street in front. It was not noisy at all. We enjoyed looking down on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We are family, 2 adults and 12 years old child. We stayed in Melia BA 4 nights in February 2013. Localisation is good. Hotel is clean, staff is very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast but nothing special.Nothing to complain. I can recommend Melia BA to other visitors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvedin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were booked into the Melia by our tour operator as part of an Antarctic trip so didn't pick it ourselves. We weren't expecting character or charm, but we would have liked a better breakfast and more helpful staff. We had a continual problem with our room card entry and found the reception staff less than sympathetic during our irritatingly frequent trips back downstairs to resolve this.

Otherwise, the hotel is quiet, well located within walking distance of most things you'd want to visit and handy for bars and restaurants, most rather touristy. As others have mentioned, several of our group were mugged (bird poo or snatch attacks) so we certainly wouldn't describe the area as safe, but perhaps nowhere is in the city if you look like an obvious tourist. Just wise up and don't wear watches, jewellery or tote a camera.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antofagasta, Chile
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is very central. There is a lot of restaurants and night clubs of this area, literally start in 15 feet. It is a very clean hotel.
The pool and fitness room in the basement and it is dark down there and smell humidity.

Room Tip: choose non smokers room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasencic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
#41 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#132 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Retiro
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
Plaza Hotel Buenos Aires
#102 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
NH Collection Buenos Aires Lancaster
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#40 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires
#44 of 449 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenos Aires

Property: Melia Buenos Aires
Address: Calle Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Buenos Aires
#22 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#27 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#37 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#47 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#65 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few blocks from Puerto Madero and the Colon Theater, in downtown, Melia Buenos Aires is the best choice to stay in Argentina's capital city, thanks to its prime location in the heart of the city, its luxurious and comfortable facilities, quality of services and an exquisite personalized service. Among its services and facilities, Melia Buenos Aires offers 209 comfortable and spacious rooms; different dining spaces: Restaurant Azorin, Gongora Lobby Bar, Machado Cafe, La Terraza. Internet access (Wi-Fi) high speed (*); Free Business Center with 3 computers, printer and fax; Spa with heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, full gym, massages and beauty treatments; parking and a modern Congresses and Conventions Center 9 meeting rooms, 7 with natural light and capacity up to 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melia Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing