We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Declining”
Review of Melia Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Buenos Aires
Ranked #66 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Some years ago I spent a week in Melia Buenos Aires , now I came back for a 5 nights stay.
Obviously the hotel mantain some strengths : situation very central with a lot of restaurants near the door, Florida street in walkable distance like Porto Madero, the rooms are very large ana confortable, the staff is still kind.
But there are some important differences. Furniture beguins to be something tired and old fashioned.
The bar in lobby that had some years ago all afternoons a pianist now has noise, in terrasse we wait large time to order and another large time til something reach.
The breakfast now is a very poor one without sufficient variety,Croissants that were terrific are now simply regular.
Conclusion: still a convenient hotel but declining.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EUROPEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,047)
There are newer reviews for Melia Buenos Aires
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

my wife and I stayed in the hotel in November 2012 and had a wonderful nine days. The hotel is very comfortable and our room was excellent in size and furnishing. Convenience in location could not be better as so many interesting places are nearby and public transport is a block away if we wanted to go to another area. The shopping is wonderful, according to my wife and I have to admit a bought some leather shoes for myself.
The staff in the hotel were extreemly and I would recommend this hotel to anybody going to BA.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is located in a great location in the Centro area - walking distance to Florida Street, Puerto Madero, all things in the Centro area, and great restaurants. The hotel is on a pedestrian street with numerous cafes and restaurants.

Staff were very friendly and accommodating - we requested a later check out because we weren't flying out until evening, and it was done. Front desk spoke good English, so for those who don't speak very good Spanish, communication was easy.

Breakfast was quite adequate - fresh fruit, yogurts, breads, and eggs (you can specifically order a different type if you don't want the standard scrambled).

We had a superior room (could have upgraded to a junior suite for $30 more a night, but didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room, so turned down the offer). The room was spacious (although a little worn), king bed was comfortable, and bathroom was big with seperate toilet and shower area.

Highly Recommended When in Buenos Aires

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is just perfect.
The location is amazing, near to lots of B.A.s tourist spots and a little walk from another bunch of cool sights. You can find bars, pubs, cafes, restaurants etc nearby.
For check-in we had some problems and we had to take a walk on the city before beingwe could get our room which was still being "cleaned". Other than that services were impeccable. Breakfast is fantastic, sauna & pool are amazing and checkout was fast and accurate. We also got a transfer out to the airport which no issues.
The room was great... clean, new and quiet. The bed was sooo nice and bathroom was excellent.
Totally recommend and will surely come back to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuilhermeDAgostini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at the Melia for 8 nights in December 2012. I found the hotel to be comfortable, centrally located and reasonably priced (~$160/night). I was a bit nervous after reading the complaints of the noise from the bars across the street. My room was directly in line with 2 bars, and with the windows closed I didn't even notice it.

The gym/pool lacks a little to be desired and as others have pointed out the pay for wi-fi is a little annoying.

Overall, I found the hotel to be good for the cost and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tagretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Perfect localization for people who loves to explore cities such as Buenos Aires. You can use bus, "subtes" and walk for everything!
Close to the main points of the cities, you can walk until Puerto Madero, Florida st and other places...
The hotel provide all you need to have an excellent experience, I've been there from 12-06-12 until 12-09-12. They have a SPA where you can rest and "rebuild" yourself for another exploration day.
The majority of the workers speaks portuguese and can provide you tips for a perfect dinner. I recommend Lucas, He knows a lot about the city, but all the others also may know a lot of tips....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emoreno84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

In this day and age a hotel not offering free wifi is simply a joke.

Ok moving on from that disgraceful oversight. Hotel is in a good location, the rooms are v spacious even if the AC does not work as expected. Yes it cools the room but the thermostat on the wall is a decoration more than an indication of a desired temp. Breakfast is good and the staff in the breakfast room are very good. The guys working the doors are v helpful and will get you a taxi but be prepared to wait. I had never imagined a city short on cars or where the wait for cars is unnecessarily long.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
Hotel Tryp Buenos Aires by Melia
#45 of 443 in Buenos Aires
903 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#50 of 443 in Buenos Aires
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
#46 of 443 in Buenos Aires
698 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#7 of 443 in Buenos Aires
787 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#53 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenos Aires

Address: Calle Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Buenos Aires
#23 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#27 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#36 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#48 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#64 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $109 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few blocks from Puerto Madero and the Colon Theater, in downtown, Melia Buenos Aires is the best choice to stay in Argentina's capital city, thanks to its prime location in the heart of the city, its luxurious and comfortable facilities, quality of services and an exquisite personalized service. Among its services and facilities, Melia Buenos Aires offers 209 comfortable and spacious rooms; different dining spaces: Restaurant Azorin, Gongora Lobby Bar, Machado Cafe, La Terraza. Internet access (Wi-Fi) high speed (*); Free Business Center with 3 computers, printer and fax; Spa with heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, full gym, massages and beauty treatments; parking and a modern Congresses and Conventions Center 9 meeting rooms, 7 with natural light and capacity up to 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing