We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, service, and breakfast”
Review of Melia Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Buenos Aires
Ranked #64 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was my secon time staying at the Melia BA. I've only ever stayed on the renovated side so I can't speak for the rest but the rooms are great! I have no complaints whatsoever except for the Internet. You have to pay additional forthr Internet and it can only be used on one device. Other than that I have no complaints. The breakfast is amazing and the staff are always there to help. I would definitely stay at the Melia again in the future and would recommend it to anyone I know going to BA.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mystik9664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently spent one week in Buenos Aires and stayed 4 days at this property prior to travelling to Iguazu Falls. The property is located in an excellent location with many pedestrian friendly streets. We walked to many of the "must see" highlights of this beautiful city and cabs were easily available when we ventured further. Getting a room facing the back is highly recommended. There really are no views so what your missing in the back is the noise from the streets below. This should be no surprise as Buenos Aires is a busy city that really gets going after 9 p.m. Our room in the new section, facing the back, on an upper floor (the higher the better) was great. We found the front desk employees to be very friendly and helpful at all hours of the day. While we read other comments critisizing the breakfast however we had only good service and food each day. Comparing notes with other friends and people we met while there, this hotel is clearly superior to most.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJ3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our experience was pretty good overall. Very nice rooms, amazing location allowed us to go anywhere, and employees seemed very nice. Breakfast was not that good. We liked the food, but the waiters weren't really paying much attention to the guests. Great experience if you get your breakfast very early - not as good at peak time. You won't be disappointed though.

Why 3 stars then? Well, a couple weeks after we left, they charged our credit card for a small amount of money (I think it was 20 or 30 dollars). We didn't even pursue it, but this was very unusual. They basically took our money. I don't know who did this or why, and we didn't even pursue it (not really worth it to fight against a company from another country for 20 bucks), but we lost confidence in the place. We stayed in late 2011 - I was thinking about booking it again because it was a pretty good experience, but this bothered us a lot.

Since I didn't follow up with them on the matter and the rest of the experience was OK, I just took one star from the rating I would give them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBrazlilianTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

what attracts you the most of this property is perhaps the location.. its just excellent, both as a tourist or even a business traveller. all the 'central' attractions of this beautiful city are at a walking / short taxi distance from the hotel. areas like La Boca are not too far either and the metro / train station is close by incase some one wishes to travel to the North of Buenos Aires. taxi's are generally safe in buenos aires and run by the meter. the hotel is situated near a 'walking plaza' which is great for walking / dining options with a mall / money exchange options. on weekdays during lunch time the area comes alive with the work force down for lunch.

as for the rooms, they are nice clean and big. breakfast is sumptuous and service precise and courteous. its a hint too expensive but probably its royalty for the location.

Airport: aeroparque is very close (maybe 15 -20 mins) whereas Ezeiza is almost an hour away.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Positives:
- Very big rooms
- Excellent locations near (walking distance) to Puerto Madero and Calle Florida
- Excellent area for company events (conferences)

Negatives:
- The breakfast could be a little better

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent 7 nights at this hotel in executive suite. The room was very spacious (2 separates wardrobes), a large confortable bed, enought light from outside but not too much, air condition working perfectly, very clean. Only the bathroom could have been a little bit larger. The location is perfect for those who want to be close to Florida Street and Casa Rosada. The difference between this hotel and a lot of others is mainly in the quality of service. All the staff was very helpfull, friendly, quick and efficient. They all showed what we were expecting: Attention. It was our first trip to Argentina and the people of Mellia Hotel showed a very good image of their country. This was also our first experience with Mellia and after this one, we shall choose this chain again whenever possible. Thanks to them. A good 4 stars+!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dommeldange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is well ubicated in an almost only walking street.
Nice instalations. Nice service. Nice people.
Only be carefull with the floor you choose due to the noise you could get from the bars just in front. Try to get upper floors.
Most of the times I use this hotel because it has a good cost benefit relation and is a couple blocks from my office.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellizos2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
474 BUENOS AIRES HOTEL
474 BUENOS AIRES HOTEL
#52 of 443 in Buenos Aires
916 reviews
San Nicolas
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
#46 of 443 in Buenos Aires
702 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#48 of 443 in Buenos Aires
3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#7 of 443 in Buenos Aires
797 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#51 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenos Aires

Address: Calle Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Buenos Aires
#23 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#27 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#36 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#47 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#64 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $108 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few blocks from Puerto Madero and the Colon Theater, in downtown, Melia Buenos Aires is the best choice to stay in Argentina's capital city, thanks to its prime location in the heart of the city, its luxurious and comfortable facilities, quality of services and an exquisite personalized service. Among its services and facilities, Melia Buenos Aires offers 209 comfortable and spacious rooms; different dining spaces: Restaurant Azorin, Gongora Lobby Bar, Machado Cafe, La Terraza. Internet access (Wi-Fi) high speed (*); Free Business Center with 3 computers, printer and fax; Spa with heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, full gym, massages and beauty treatments; parking and a modern Congresses and Conventions Center 9 meeting rooms, 7 with natural light and capacity up to 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing