We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Melia Buenos Aires

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Buenos Aires
Ranked #65 of 440 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Because airspace was closed at the Valdes Peninsula (ashes coming from a Chilean volcano), we unexpectedly came back to BA and booked this hotel for 2 nights. Usually, I spend time on TA to identify the best possible choice, but this time as I had to book it in a hurry before leaving the hotel at our previous location. It was anyway a good choice, because it’s very central, with lot of bars, restaurants, shops and places to visit within walking distance. Room was fine, staff too, Melia is a good hotel.
Only downward, no free wifi available, a too often shame in our era.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuldCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2011

In September I booked on the Melia website a room for 3 nights in November and entered my credit card details for what I thought was just the usual guarantee. At that point it was not made clear on their website that they will charge me for the whole amount 3 more than months in advance, which they unfortunately did charge! I phoned the hotel to say I wish to pay at check-out (=the norm) and challenge their unusual practice to charge so quickly, especially as they didn't warn about it in advance and, the next day, that charge disappeared from my account and my bank said the money had been refunded. Therefore I cancelled the entire reservation as I was unhappy with this hotel's operating manner. A few days later I had the unpleasant surprise to find that the money had, again, been taken from my account by Melia hotel and now they refused to let us stay at the hotel for those 3 nights, saying the reservation was cancelled. How convenient for them, to charge the money >3 months in advance but not provide us with any services. I repeatedly contacted boh Melia Buenos Aires hotel and the Melia hotel chain head office but received useless or indifferent replies. Luckily my wonderful bank refunded me the money for the ilegitimate transaction that Melia Buenos Aires hotel carried out against my good will. Save yourself and stay in a different hotel, or else they will just treat you as a source of money but not as a person, they have no custmer service whatsoever!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I've stayed at the Melia several times on business and the location, while great during the day, rapidly deteriorates at night... it is the red light district and prostitutes regularly wait outside the hotel. As a female traveler I have never felt unsafe in the area even so (& even alone late at night) but I have had a prostitute steal my pizza outside! The rooms range from great to so-so. All of the views I've had are bad; my first room had a great bathroom, my latest (same room class) had a small bathroom and a cracked outside window. Room service was very poor and failed to clean the room several times. If the staff suspect that you speak English, even if your Spanish is fluent, they will speak to you in English. This is really inopportune, for example, the time that I sent a dress for dry-cleaning which had minor pilling on it (on the side where I carry my brief case); they kept the dress, though it should have been deliverd hours earlier, and left a note instead saying: "We are sorry, your dress is threadbare." While it came back just as I had expected, it caused me a lot of stress in the FOUR HOURS they took to track it down. On my latest visit we were somehow not listed as having breakfast included on days 4 and 5 though 1,2 & 3 had been included...all on the same breakfast-included reservation. I got yelled at by the guy at reception as if I were a thief. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are a good size, but if you are looking for good service or any sort of personal touch go elsewhere. You can do a lot better for the price. The towels in my latest room were on the other side of a large, slippery-floored bathroom, with no hooks nearby to hang them on...otherwise the bathroom was great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onimity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I've been in this hotel in April with my wife and a couple of friends.
Positives: central location (although not the safest area of town), quiet rooms (and I'm a light sleeper) and one of the best and most complete breakfast in the city!
Negatives: standard rooms need immediate renovation as imho a hotel of this caliber should not have curtains in the bathroom, old TVs and armchairs with fabric torn. The pool was out of service during our stay... and we were not warned about it.

----------------------

Estive nesse hotel em abril com minha esposa e um casal de amigos.
Pontos positivos: localização central (apesar de não ser a região mais segura da cidade), quartos silenciosos (e eu tenho sono leve) e um dos melhores e mais completos cafés-da-manhã da cidade!!
Pontos negativos: os quartos standard precisam de renovação imediata, pois um hotel dessa categoria não deveria ter cortinas no banheiro, tvs antigas e poltronas com tecido rasgado.
A piscina estava fechada durante nossa estadia e não fomos avisados sobre isso...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gustavo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here for the last few nights of our honeymoon. When we told them at check in we were upgraded to a fabulous suite. The bathroom was huge and very luxurious.
Breakfast was the best we had after a month in Argentina - huge choice of deliciously fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, bacon and different kinds if bread.
The staff were very helpful and the location is excellent.
The only drawback was that we had to pay for wireless. It was quite expensive and didn't work great. We found this a bit annoying because we needed to get in touch with friends online and also check our flights home etc. We were used to having free wireless almost everywhere in BA. I suppose because it's a business hotel they can make money by charging for it.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and you can always go across the road for a drink and use the free wireless there!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brencarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We recently held an event in the hotel convention centre, I cannot recommend the hotel and staff enough for their professionalism and willingness to accommodate during the event. The meeting facilities are good and the catering excellent.
Whether for business or pleasure the hotel is conveniently situated on a pedestrian street with many bars and restaurants nearby, lots with tables and chairs in the street great for people watching. I would recommend two nearby parrillas with great steak - El Estabon and Al Carbon, both just a minutes walk from the hotel.
As mentioned by others go for the room rate with breakfast included - this will set you up for the day.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the street if you like to watch what is going on. Not noisy unless you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miraby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I have been to this property several times. Yes, I agree with most of the latest reviews. However, I think it is time for the ownership to start looking into updating the main building's rooms; some fixtures in the bathrooms and the air conditinioning are definitely showing their age. Bad caulking in the bathtub does not belong to this type property.

Internet is slow at times.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandyManMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#125 of 440 in Buenos Aires
1,361 reviews
Recoleta
Melia Recoleta Plaza
Melia Recoleta Plaza
#30 of 440 in Buenos Aires
800 reviews
Retiro
NH Collection Buenos Aires Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
Regal Pacific Hotel Buenos Aires
#38 of 440 in Buenos Aires
727 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenos Aires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenos Aires

Address: Calle Reconquista 945 | Centro, Buenos Aires C1003ABS, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Buenos Aires
#21 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#24 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#25 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
#47 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#61 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $105 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Buenos Aires 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few blocks from Puerto Madero and the Colon Theater, in downtown, Melia Buenos Aires is the best choice to stay in Argentina's capital city, thanks to its prime location in the heart of the city, its luxurious and comfortable facilities, quality of services and an exquisite personalized service. Among its services and facilities, Melia Buenos Aires offers 209 comfortable and spacious rooms; different dining spaces: Restaurant Azorin, Gongora Lobby Bar, Machado Cafe, La Terraza. Internet access (Wi-Fi) high speed (*); Free Business Center with 3 computers, printer and fax; Spa with heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, full gym, massages and beauty treatments; parking and a modern Congresses and Conventions Center 9 meeting rooms, 7 with natural light and capacity up to 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Buenos Aires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing