We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location with Typical Benefits of a Sheraton but Too Many Tour Groups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #126 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
New York City
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Central Location with Typical Benefits of a Sheraton but Too Many Tour Groups”
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We spent 5 nights in this hotel in early March 2010. The hotel is very centrally located and definitely within walking distance (if you're up for some hefty walks) of most all of the major sites, Puerto Madero, Casa Rosado, San Telmo, Recolleta Cemetery, etc. We were on the club floor and had a great room with a great view. Super clean and comfortable - everything you need and want from a Sheraton. The pool area was nice but the service there was painfully slow which is more likely a reflection of the local culture than poor Sheraton service. The only issue we had with the hotel was it is huge, and with that many hotel rooms comes the big groups and tours. The lobby was often over-run with these groups that we would rush through it on our way in and out. The park tower next door would probably be our call the next time. Also - nearly everywhere in Buenos Aires has WiFi but for some reason the Sheraton charges. that was kind of annoying. The free computers with Wifi in the lobby had a time limit and of course, with the crowds, often a wait. but all in all - a good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBSheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    774
    399
    135
    73
See reviews for
277
454
94
848
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality of the Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel and Convention center, or as the locals call it, the "Sheraton San Martin."

There are several Sheraton hotels in town, but this one is so convenient to many of the city's attractions. It is within walking distance to the central bus terminal, cruise ship pier, and the upscale Recoleta neighborhood with the famous cemetary (resting place of Evita Peron).

The reception was warm and friendly; the check in process was efficient and accomodating. Our flight arrived in the morning, but they were able to give us a room right away ( we had requested this in our reseration).

The Club Level rooms are worth the splurge. Higher up in the tower, they offer a beautiful view of the city, and have the added benefit of access to the Club Lounge. The Club Lounge hosted a generous complimentary hot breakfast with fresh fruits, juices, eggs, sausages, tea and sodas.

Afternoon tea in the Club Lounge is also complimentary, from about 3-7 pm. It features teas, cakes, fruits, cheese, caviar, sodas, and more. We felt so welcomed and refreshed after visits to the Lounge.

The Neptune Spa and health center are also exceptional, featuring an indoor and outdoor pool. The locker rooms include rain-forest showers and side jets, steam room, sauna, and bathobes. The gym includes plentiful exercise equipment and complimentary water bottles and apples.

The Sheraton Link system also kept us in touch with firiends and family with complimentary internet in the lobby. The concierge was wonderful in calling for a reservation for our remi back to the airport, and in holding our luggage while we went to explore the town after checkout.

Overall, we had an exceptional experience at the Sheraton. One of the most gracious hotels we have stayed at, and a gem in Buenos Aires. We would highly recommend them to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrysalisTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bombay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I stayed at Sheraton Buenis Aires fir 4 nights in mid-Septemnber 2009. The purpose of my trip was business along with which came a little local sight seeing.

Buenos Aires Sheraton is conveniently located close to Florida Street and The Main Wide Avenue. Florida Street , a shoppers delight, is a 5 mins walk whereas the Main wide avenue is bout 5 mins by cab.
The rooms are well furnished, spacious and emote opulence. The Beds are comfortable soft and the room service is good.

They have a wide lobby, and ample seating arrangement, an ideal meeting place with potential business clients. They also have a cyber zone in adjacent to their lobby, where room guests are allowed 30 mins of free internet daily. Great if you just want to send/receive important mail or book flight tickets.
Another good point is the Bank-Money-Exchanger right next to the reception. Buenos Aires doesn't have the safest streets in the world, and this in house facility to withdraw/exchange currency (the exchange rates are decent too), gives you quite a peace of mind.

Overall the hotel is great, I have no complains. The room tariff is not exorbitant, but still may be the only thing that might hold one back.

  • Liked — Convinient loaction, Good all round service, Everyone communicated well in english,
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank anayc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
441 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We were upgraded to the club level on both of our stays due to Starwood staus. The rooms were much smaller than the Park Tower but they were comfortable fine for our short stays. The views from our room and the club lounge are great. They serve breakfast in the lounge until 11 and start snacks around 2 so they are almost always serving something. The staff was excellent and even gave us a really late check-out of 6 pm (4 pm is the normal late check out for preferred members). The fitness center is the best of any I have seen in any South American hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suart
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Awesome property with great staff and location, great place for travellers and business people. the view from the top floor is just great.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DRANKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

I often stay at SPG hotels and was surprised by the Sheraton. It has the potential to be a fanstastic hotel if the management takes the decision to redecorate and replace the very old furnishings and decor.

The beds are newer as are the TVs but the chairs, bathrooms have not been changed since the 1980s.

My bathroom was in need of repair, will clogged pipes, brown water coming from the tap plus leaky AC, worn carpeting etc.

The staff are friendly and very helpful which made up for the condition of the room.

If the hotel were to make improvements I would consider staying there again.

One piece of advice avoid rooms ending with 20, 21, 22, 23 because they are next to the elevators and you will hear "ding" noises from the elevators opening and closing at all hours of the day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bojomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

My dad put us up in the Executive level for a week while we were visiting friends and I would have to say it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The faccilities were amazing, the staff were so nice. My dad and I have a queen bed each, for breakfast we had a reserved seat in the executive buffet (not regular) which had a personal waiter. I can only say that if you are travelling to BA I would consider this hotel seeing as it's across the road from Florida Ave and some great restaurants as well. It is worth every peso!!

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiskeyHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#139 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,257 reviews
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#28 of 447 in Buenos Aires
730 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#50 of 447 in Buenos Aires
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#61 of 447 in Buenos Aires
2,012 reviews
Retiro
Alvear Art Hotel
Alvear Art Hotel
#8 of 447 in Buenos Aires
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Calle San Martin 1225 1275, Buenos Aires C1104AKC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#63 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#75 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#94 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#95 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel And Convention Center
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing