We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the staff made being rude an art form”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #124 of 446 Hotels in Buenos Aires
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the staff made being rude an art form”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I am a frequent traveller and the staff at this hotel is the rudest I have ever encountered on a trip. I just wanted to warn others of our terrible experience that we had - the staff practically made being rude an art form. We have status with Sheraton and were on club level floor. And even so - when we walked to our assigned room we immediately found 2 problems: 1) The lock on the door was broken. 2) There was a foul smell in the room. We called down and asked to be moved to another room, since we had just walked into this one and not unpacked or touched anything in the room. They refused to change our room and said we needed to wait for a repair man to fix the door to boot. After hours of travel, we didn't really feel this was a fair request from the hotel, so we asked again to please just be moved to another room, so we could go out and sightsee vs. wait in the hotel for the repair to be done (plus lets not forget the rooms smells horribly). The hotel RUDLY refused our request again (and I mean they were very rude about it - not even slightly apologetic and actually HUNG UP on me while I was talking to them with a curt "bye" and click). So unfortunately, we ended up having to involve the manger and it was a whole big unnecessary to-do. I really don't think a simple request to be placed in a room that we are paying for that we feel comfortable in should have EVER created this much of a headache ( especially given the fact that we are frequent users of this brand ). Multiple encounters with the staff the rest of our trip, just proved to be one rude unfortunate experience after another. Really wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone ever. Seriously - please don't stay here.

If you want to stay at a Sheraton at Buenos Aires - we stayed at the Sheraton Hotel Libertador in Buenos Aires before and it was a significantly better experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

First off all, I would like to apologize for the bad experienced you had at Sheraton Buenos Aires. We failed to provide you with a proper solution to the matters and we are very sorry about this.
Rest assured you that we are going to take measures in order not to be repeated again.
It has been a real pleasure to have you as a guest of our hotel and really hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future where you will receive the first class service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    777
    403
    138
    74
See reviews for
281
455
94
857
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The location isn't great. It is 20-25 pesos cab ride away from the nearest tourist spot- the recoleta cemetery. Nothing else seemed walkable except the San Martin Plaza (which really has nothing!). Also the traffic around the hotel was unbelievable.
The concierge in this hotel is terrible. One guy broke my suitcase handle (which impacted the rest of my flights terribly as I couldn't roll my suitcase anymore) and he didn't even apologize or help tape it up for me. The other times I needed info I got a short rude answer but didn't get a smile from these people. And people say my smile is infectious. Not with these guys!
The folks at the reception were good; helpful and clear and courteous.
The rooms are alright, more like the rooms in a 3 star hotel in the US. The bathroom fixtures are old and the shower water flow rate is very low! The view from the hotel isn't great as it is next to the train station. Beds are comfortable. No coffee machine or iron. THe hairdryer I thought was very old, but functioned fine.
The restaurants in the hotel were okay. The cafe was good for a quick snack, but the Italian restaurant was terrible. I haven't had worse pizza in my life! The service was good. The same restaurant served breakfast (which was covered for my stay). Yet again, the food was only average. They do have a nice working area if you are here for business.

Overall, I would not recommend this place if you are in Buenos Aires for tourism.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your last stay in Buenos Aires, also we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking part of your valuable time in letting us know your comments about the service issues you met during your last stay at the Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, constructive support from our guests is extremely important for us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you have experienced with the Concierge´s staff; we are going to review all the comments in order not to be repeated again.
It has been a real pleasure to have you as a guest of our hotel and really hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future where you will receive the first class service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a standard Sheraton: very good service, comfortable bed, nice breakfast (especially if you can get it for free). The location is very central with the Buquebus ferry terminal within 15 mins walk. The only down side was the surprisingly poor sound insulation. On the 23rd floor all the traffic noise from below was very audible.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JAM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks very much for shearing your experience with us. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed our services and you have had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is in a convenient location with the waterfront a short distance, lots of shops, restaurants within a few blocks and the train station across the street. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. I had no problems with this hotel at all.
If you're comparing it to the Hilton, then the Hilton is a better hotel. The Sheraton is a little more crowded and busier and has significantly more street noise. This is a very nice hotel, but if the price is the same, I'd choose Hilton.
My colleagues have had some minor issues with water pressure and internet speed, but I didn't experience those. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txsoccerref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sheraton. It was nice to hear that you have enjoyed all our facilities. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Sorry Sheraton! The hotel is perfectly situated in Buenos Aries but it is very hectic and crowded. Compared to the Hilton Hotel, Buenos Aries, it is a far second. I stayed at the concierge level at both hotels and the Hilton's Lounge is far superior to the much smaller Sheraton Lounge. The Hilton has great views of the Pink Palace of Juan and Evita. The Sheraton does have a view the park across the street. The rooms were comparable but the staff at Hilton were much friendlier, maybe because of the state-of-confusion that seemed to continually exist at the Sheraton lobby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel would have the park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayshenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback! We really appreciate you have shared your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Ok hotel, can't find anything wrong. Business oriented , good location. Would not stay there in holidays. It is 4 stars at mat, not more. Some rooms have nice views of river. Food in cafe acceptable. Catering good, staff was attentive and made sure everything went smoothly.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ApplePie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks very much for all of your comments. We really appreciate them. We hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is comfortable and can work for the business traveler. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. The shower however was broken in the water pressure was very low. I was only there for one night so I did not have a chance to request that it be fixed. The Internet was also very slow with upload and download speeds less than .3 Mb per second. The food at the Cardinal lounge is reasonable. Again, reasonable hotel, but could be better for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makersmark64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yanina C, Manager at Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We are sorry for the inconveniences in the bathroom and with the internet.
We hope to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Nicolas
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
Sheraton Libertador Hotel
#139 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,267 reviews
Retiro
Park Tower
Park Tower
#26 of 446 in Buenos Aires
735 reviews
Montserrat
InterContinental Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#51 of 446 in Buenos Aires
3,272 reviews
Retiro
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
Sofitel Buenos Aires Arroyo
#22 of 446 in Buenos Aires
1,168 reviews
Retiro
Melia Buenos Aires
Melia Buenos Aires
#60 of 446 in Buenos Aires
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center
Address: Calle San Martin 1225 1275, Buenos Aires C1104AKC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Buenos Aires
#62 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#74 Luxury Hotel in Buenos Aires
#93 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#94 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel And Convention Center
Sheraton Buenos Aires Hotel Buenos Aires
Buenos Aires Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing