We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afterone night I was outa there”
Review of Recoleta Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Recoleta Hostel
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Upon arriving at this beautiful renovated mansion in the "top" section of BA I was impressed with the neighborhood and building. However, the staff was incredibly rude. When we arrived we had to wait forever until they could actually tell us whether there where beds available. After a nigth out on the town, I awoke to find that the hostel had given away my bed while I slept and that I would need to leave immediately. This place is not worth the money and you can easily find a hotel with a private bathroom for the same amount of money.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dsmiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 126 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2008

What a dump. As I type this, am still nursing the BED BUG bites that I aquired at this hostel. The place is dirty, the bathrooms are disgusting, the other guests very noisy, security is questionable, the rooms are cold and our bed was broken. Towels not included in price - you even have to pay to store your bags. We stayed two nights in a double room with shared bathroom. The bathroom was so disgusting we didn't even shower. We checked the other shared bathrooms looking for a good one, but they all were disgusting with dirty toilets, cigarette ash in the sinks, soaking wet filthy floors.

This hostel is cheap, granted, and the location is quite good, but even at half the price I would not stay there again. We expected more from a Hostelling International affiliated hostel.

In our three month trip (Thailand, Australia, NZ, Chile, Argentina) this is absolutely the most filthy disgusting hostel we've encountered.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2007

poor service, bad breakfast, dirty bathrooms, no ventilation....what more can i say. oh yeah, they charge guests US$4/day for left luggage. RUBBISH.

Stayed: February 2007
Thank nevillesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2005

This hostel is located at the posh end of Buenos Aires. Location wise it is good but we would not go back. Yes it was cheap but rooms had practically no heating and the blankets were not enough (make sure you have thick sleeping bags with you if you decide to stay there). We booked a double room with en suite and were given a twin with no bathroom (although eventually after a lot of negotiation we were moved on the second day of our stay). Breakfast was very basic and the staff, with the exception of Andres, were unhelpful and at times rude.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Korina75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: los cuartos del piso de abajo son los mas tranquilos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mariagracia2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Juan Alejandro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fernanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Garden House Hostel
#57 of 478 in Buenos Aires
193 reviews
Montserrat
Portal del Sur Hostel
Portal del Sur Hostel
#18 of 478 in Buenos Aires
356 reviews
Montserrat
BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel
BA Stop Buenos Aires Hostel
#38 of 478 in Buenos Aires
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Sabatico Travelers Hostel
Sabatico Travelers Hostel
#15 of 478 in Buenos Aires
218 reviews
Montserrat
Hostel Estoril
Hostel Estoril
#20 of 478 in Buenos Aires
241 reviews
Recoleta
Petit Recoleta Hostel
Petit Recoleta Hostel
#59 of 478 in Buenos Aires
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recoleta Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recoleta Hostel

Address: Calle Libertad 1216, Buenos Aires C1012AAZ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 478 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $13 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Recoleta Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Recoleta Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing